Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 16:23:40
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
My question is: When you shoot a squad under the triarch stalker rule, What do you do with the monolith's gate "shooting" move and/or the death ray? (I assume the death ray is like a template in this instance)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 16:29:24
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Twin linking won't benefit the monoliths door. I'm unsure about the death ray.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 16:43:18
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Portal of Exile will not benefit from twin-linking at all.
Particle whip is normal Ordnance weapon and twin-linking will allow you to re-roll scatter (though you have to re-roll both the scatter die and 2D6 roll).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 16:45:37
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Death Ray != Particle Whip. He's asking about the line weapon on the scythe.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 16:58:11
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
The death ray auto hits, so you can re-roll to wound due to twin link.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 17:01:11
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Isn't this explicit limited to flamertemplates?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/22 17:05:24
Playing mostly Necromunda and Battletech, Malifaux is awesome too! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 17:01:54
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
That's the rule for templates, but the Death Ray isn't a template.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 17:11:54
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
You can't roll to hit, thus you can only re-roll to wound. It's true that the rulebook states twin linking wounds works for template weapons, but if it comes to it I expect a FAQ in favor of allowing it.
There's no rules for line weapons in the BRB, so technically they don't exist.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 17:24:25
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I agree an FAQ would allow it, but as of now there's no rule allowing it so I'd say line weapons dont benefit from Twin link.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 20:50:31
Subject: Re:necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
All very insightful thoughts. Thanks for the ruling. I will run it as a disadvantage for me until a tournament ref or faq tells me otherwise to play it safe. Unless someone on here IS a tournament ref type person..... lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/22 22:34:26
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I am, and currently I would not allow it, as only template weapons gain reroll to-wound when they are twin linked, nothing else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/23 00:13:36
Subject: Re:necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
Isn't JotWW considered a hair-thin template in the SW FAQ? If so, then that same understanding should apply to the Death Ray. And if they are considered templates, then the Tl should count to wounds for the Death Ray.
However, this is all based on the idea that the FAQ considers it a template, and I do not recall if it actually does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/23 00:16:16
Subject: necrons and twin linking
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
the word template is never mentioned in regards to JotWW.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|