Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 17:11:25
Subject: Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Angelic Adepta Sororitas
|
Ok after looking over the Big Rule Book. i have a question reguarding Deploying forces.
are you able to keep your whole army in reserv? looking at the big rule book to me the only game type you could do this is Dawn of war.
Spearhead and Pitched battle both state to deploy your forces, where as Dawn of War says he then Can chose to deploy up to two troop choices and one HQ..
so that tells me that in spearhead and Pitched battle your oppent must deploy somthing at the start of the game and not keep every thing in reservs.
Am i seeing this wrong?
|
Just throwing the dice!
2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction
Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 17:14:40
Subject: Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
Yes, you may choose to reserve your entire army. Since making the choice to put something into reserve is done instead of deployment, you are just foregoing deployment to place it in reserves.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 17:15:35
Subject: Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You can always choose to keep unit in reserve, no matter what game type you choose (from brb).
Dawn of war is special case that you can only deploy portion of your army, but even then you can choose will you put unit to reserves or have it come from your table edge on turn 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 17:39:55
Subject: Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Lone Dragoon wrote:Yes, you may choose to reserve your entire army. Since making the choice to put something into reserve is done instead of deployment, you are just foregoing deployment to place it in reserves.
This is correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 17:58:11
Subject: Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
There is nothing stopping you from putting anything in reserve, there are only rules keeping models without the ability to be put in deep strike and outflank.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 17:58:16
Subject: Re:Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
In fact some armies (Daemons or a drop pod assault) require you to keep the entire army in reserve.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 18:04:26
Subject: Re:Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Grakmar wrote:In fact some armies (Daemons or a drop pod assault) require you to keep the entire army in reserve.
Well... Drop pod doesn't technically make you keep the whole army in reserve, just the drop pods.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 18:06:27
Subject: Re:Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
pretre wrote:Grakmar wrote:In fact some armies (Daemons or a drop pod assault) require you to keep the entire army in reserve.
Well... Drop pod doesn't technically make you keep the whole army in reserve, just the drop pods. 
And the pods aren't truly in Reserves anyways given that half of them (rounding up) are exempt from the reserves rules and automatically arrive on turn one. Same with daemons, half of them are not in reserves and arrive automatically on turn one. Both subject to mishap placing the unit into reserves, of courses.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 18:08:45
Subject: Re:Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
don_mondo wrote:pretre wrote:Grakmar wrote:In fact some armies (Daemons or a drop pod assault) require you to keep the entire army in reserve.
Well... Drop pod doesn't technically make you keep the whole army in reserve, just the drop pods. 
And the pods aren't truly in Reserves anyways given that half of them (rounding up) are exempt from the reserves rules and automatically arrive on turn one. Same with daemons, half of them are not in reserves and arrive automatically on turn one. Both subject to mishap placing the unit into reserves, of courses.
Codex Daemons p27 under Daemonic Assault "No model in this army is ever placed on the battlefield during deployment. Instead, all of the units in the army always start the game in reserve..." (emphasis mine)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 18:15:27
Subject: Re:Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Grakmar wrote:don_mondo wrote:pretre wrote:Grakmar wrote:In fact some armies (Daemons or a drop pod assault) require you to keep the entire army in reserve.
Well... Drop pod doesn't technically make you keep the whole army in reserve, just the drop pods. 
And the pods aren't truly in Reserves anyways given that half of them (rounding up) are exempt from the reserves rules and automatically arrive on turn one. Same with daemons, half of them are not in reserves and arrive automatically on turn one. Both subject to mishap placing the unit into reserves, of courses.
Codex Daemons p27 under Daemonic Assault "No model in this army is ever placed on the battlefield during deployment. Instead, all of the units in the army always start the game in reserve..." (emphasis mine)
So none of them arrive until turn 2, as per the reserve rules? Didn't think so. Also, notice I said they aren't TRULY in reserves. Sure, it says they are placed in reserves, and then says that they don't wait until turn 2 due to daemonic assault or whatever it is called.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/26 20:43:47
Subject: Deploying Forces question ...
|
 |
Angelic Adepta Sororitas
|
so basicaly.. you are not forced to deploy any of your units on turn one. and wait till turn two for reserves or deep strike.. this of course is minus the drop pod thing.. which sucks for Necron players such as myself.. and a dreadknot in a dop pod lands right next to you lol.. doh hope for gauss glances and stop him in his tracks.
|
Just throwing the dice!
2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction
Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma |
|
 |
 |
|