Switch Theme:

Old Zogwort and Boss Zagstruck  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

Can you attach Zogwort to a squad of Stormboys and Zagstruck and benefit from the deep strike with Zogwort in the unit?

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Does Zogwort have Deep Strike in his rules? There's your answer.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

Valkyrie wrote:Does Zogwort have Deep Strike in his rules? There's your answer.


No, but neither do the Stormboys or Zagstruck.

Rule just says that his unit must deep strike in.

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

NickTheButcher wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Does Zogwort have Deep Strike in his rules? There's your answer.


No, but neither do the Stormboys or Zagstruck.

Rule just says that his unit must deep strike in.


Page 52, main rulebook, gives Stormboyz and Zaggy the deep strike rule. So yes, they DO have it. ButZogwort does not. Satisfied yet?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

don_mondo wrote:
NickTheButcher wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Does Zogwort have Deep Strike in his rules? There's your answer.


No, but neither do the Stormboys or Zagstruck.

Rule just says that his unit must deep strike in.


Page 52, main rulebook, gives Stormboyz and Zaggy the deep strike rule. So yes, they DO have it. ButZogwort does not. Satisfied yet?


Page 52 doesn't say that they get Deep Strike.....So no, I'm not satisfied.

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





NickTheButcher wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
NickTheButcher wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Does Zogwort have Deep Strike in his rules? There's your answer.


No, but neither do the Stormboys or Zagstruck.

Rule just says that his unit must deep strike in.


Page 52, main rulebook, gives Stormboyz and Zaggy the deep strike rule. So yes, they DO have it. ButZogwort does not. Satisfied yet?


Page 52 doesn't say that they get Deep Strike.....So no, I'm not satisfied.

They're jump infantry, right?
What can jump infantry do?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





The original question rephrased: Can an independent character without deep strike enter the game through deep strike: No, Deep strike is not conferred to the character Main rules p 48.

I think the hidden question is:

1. on the result of a 'ere we go can zagstruk charge after they reenter the battlefield via deepstrike.

p63 ork book:Zagstruk and da Vlucha boyz must enter the battle via deepstrike and may not shoot...they may assault.

However, any attached character would not gain the benefit of this rule because it does not give them permission to. This means that in the event of a ere' we go, they would not be able to assault because Zogwort does not have this priveledge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/06 19:25:50


The thing thing about any discussion concerning why orks did something usually ends with because they are orks, and noone seems to argue, or offer further questioning.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

NickTheButcher wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
NickTheButcher wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Does Zogwort have Deep Strike in his rules? There's your answer.


No, but neither do the Stormboys or Zagstruck.

Rule just says that his unit must deep strike in.


Page 52, main rulebook, gives Stormboyz and Zaggy the deep strike rule. So yes, they DO have it. ButZogwort does not. Satisfied yet?


Page 52 doesn't say that they get Deep Strike.....So no, I'm not satisfied.


You might want to look again. I'd recommend the last line of the Movement paragraph. Ya know, the one that says "All jump infantry units may enter the battle by ‘deep strike’, as explained on page 95." Now I know it might be hard to work through, but let's give it a try.

1. Are Zagstruck and Stormboyz Jump Infantry? Yes.
2. Do Jump Infantry have Deep Strike? Yes
3. Does this mean that Zaggie and his stormboyz have Deep Strike. Yes.
4. Does Zogwort have a jump pack/rokkit pack or any rule that makes him jump infantry or allows him to deep strike. No.
5. Can Zogwort deep strike in with Zagstruck and his Stormboyz.? No.

Main rules FAQ:
Q: Can a unit Deep Strike if only some of the models in
it have the deep strike special rule? (p95)
A: No.


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





Technically it would be an illegal deployment because they cannot enter because zogwort would take away deep strike, and they couldn't enter because they couldn't deep strike.

The thing thing about any discussion concerning why orks did something usually ends with because they are orks, and noone seems to argue, or offer further questioning.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Ruphi wrote:Technically it would be an illegal deployment because they cannot enter because zogwort would take away deep strike, and they couldn't enter because they couldn't deep strike.


Yep, which means the entire unit would be destroyed per this FAQ:

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but
is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





now the real question is does MUST must happen even though in this scenario cant

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





THE_GODLYNESS wrote:now the real question is does MUST must happen even though in this scenario cant

What?

Normally can't overrides must, but I really have no idea what your sentence is trying to say.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

THE_GODLYNESS wrote:now the real question is does MUST must happen even though in this scenario cant


Yes, they MUST deep strike, and then since one model is unable to do so, the unit is destroyed per the FAQ I already quoted.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






That's not correct.

You may not place a unit containing Zogwort in deep strike reserves in the first place - you have to declare deep strikers before the game actually starts.
Thus, even though Zagstrukk and his unit must deep strike, they can not be declared as deep strikers, and would move onto the board from your table edge as regular reserves.

When Zogwort rolls 'ere we go, the unit would be unable to assault, because the rule explicitly names Zagstrukk and his Vulcha Boyz, just like Ruphi said.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Jidmah, except the rules state that Zagstrukk and his unit must deep strike. They have no option not to. Since they cannot with Zogwort attached, the unit is unable to come in from reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






That's wrong.

Must deep strike is not the same as the can not arrive via any other method than deep striking.

Can't beats must.

If a unit is forced to do something, but at the same time unable to do so, you ignore that forced action. Just like tank bustaz can shoot non-vehicle units when the can not shoot vehicles for whatever reason.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Sorry jidmah, gotta disagree with you. There is no allowance to not do something that you MUST do. If a unit MUST arrive from reserves in a particular fashion, whether by deep strike, Marbo or the Callidus special arrival, Nid Lictors or Ymgarl stealers, well, that is how they MUST arrive regardless. They cannot just suddenly decide to walk on or whatever. If you don't think things through and make it impossible for them to arrive, oops, too bad for you. And yes, MUST deep strike is the same as not being able to arrive via any method other than deep strike.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Happyjew wrote:Jidmah, except the rules state that Zagstrukk and his unit must deep strike. They have no option not to. Since they cannot with Zogwort attached, the unit is unable to come in from reserves.

I think the point he was making was that the combo would be illegal anyway, so the question of whether or not they can actually come on is somewhat moot.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Jidmah wrote:That's wrong.

Must deep strike is not the same as the can not arrive via any other method than deep striking.

No, it pretty much is, unless you're given some sort of alternative.

If a unit is forced to do something, but at the same time unable to do so, you ignore that forced action. Just like tank bustaz can shoot non-vehicle units when the can not shoot vehicles for whatever reason

Tankbustas can shoot other targets because their rules only force them to shoot at vehicles under certain conditions. They have another option.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/07 12:03:11


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

If so, then I misunderstood his comment about ignoring a forced action...........................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






don_mondo wrote:Sorry jidmah, gotta disagree with you. There is no allowance to not do something that you MUST do. If a unit MUST arrive from reserves in a particular fashion, whether by deep strike, Marbo or the Callidus special arrival, Nid Lictors or Ymgarl stealers, well, that is how they MUST arrive regardless.

I agree up to here.
They cannot just suddenly decide to walk on or whatever. If you don't think things through and make it impossible for them to arrive, oops, too bad for you.

"Oops, bad for you" is neither a rule, nor an instruction what to do. Deciding the unit is destroyed is nothing but pulled out of thin air.

And yes, MUST deep strike is the same as not being able to arrive via any method other than deep strike.

Because you just arbitrarily decided that? If "must" were the same as "you are unable to do it any other way", units with rage would be unable to move if your opponent has no models on the board (reserve, drop pod or daemon army). Because by your definition they are unable to move anywhere unless it's closer to your enemy.

The real question is whether you are allowed to attach an IC to a unit if it prevents them from performing a required option.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Jidmah wrote:. Deciding the unit is destroyed is nothing but pulled out of thin air.


Actually, it's pulled from an FAQ...........................

Edit: Didn't arbitrarily decide anything. Must deploy in a certain manner means just that (guess I didn't misunderstand your ealrier post, after all). If somwone is foolish enough to attach an IC to a unit that it is unable to deploy with, the rules allow only one possible result. In this instance, the unit MUST deploy by deep strike, so zaggy and stormboyz deep strike and then we realize that zoggy can't deploy. Per FAQ, if the entire unit is unable to be placed on the table, unit is destroyed. Very simple, actually.
As for rage, well, start another thread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/07 13:51:46


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






insaniak wrote:No, it pretty much is, unless you're given some sort of alternative.

The alternative is moving onto the board. They never lost this ability, they are simply forced to use another option. If a mission disallows deep-striking, the would have to move on from reserves, too.

If a unit is forced to do something, but at the same time unable to do so, you ignore that forced action. Just like tank bustaz can shoot non-vehicle units when the can not shoot vehicles for whatever reason

Tankbustas can shoot other targets because their rules only force them to shoot at vehicles under certain conditions. They have another option.

They are not explicitly given the option to shoot infantry. If "must" equals "you can't do anything else" then they would be disallowed from shooting non-vehicles as their only other option would be not shooting at all.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Jidmah wrote:The real question is whether you are allowed to attach an IC to a unit if it prevents them from performing a required option.

Which the rules are pretty silent on. RAW there is no rules.
HIWPI the Nid FAQ says this:
Page 41 – Chameleonic Skin, second paragraph
Add “Independent Characters cannot join a Lictor
Brood before it arrives from reserve.” between the first
two sentences.

Which to me says that if you have a special deployment requirement, and ICs must be able to meet that same requirement to join before deployment.

Although interestingly, Ymgarls don't have that sentence. But the Dormant rule specifically calls out Ymgarl Genestealers in a couple of places, meaning an attached IC wouldn't benefit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/07 13:52:59


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Jidmah wrote:
insaniak wrote:No, it pretty much is, unless you're given some sort of alternative.

The alternative is moving onto the board. They never HAD this ability,


Fixed that for you. Due to their special rules, they don't have 'moving onto the board' as an option.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






don_mondo wrote:
Jidmah wrote:. Deciding the unit is destroyed is nothing but pulled out of thin air.


Actually, it's pulled from an FAQ...........................


You mean this one?

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but
is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.


How does that says that models not being able take a mandatory action to enter the board are automatically destroyed?

Besides, if you were right you are neither allowed to put the unit into regular reserves, nor into deep striking reserves, nor deploy them. Thus they would never arrive from reserves.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Jidmah wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
Jidmah wrote:. Deciding the unit is destroyed is nothing but pulled out of thin air.


Actually, it's pulled from an FAQ...........................


You mean this one?

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but
is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.


How does that says that models not being able take a mandatory action to enter the board are automatically destroyed?

Besides, if you were right you are neither allowed to put the unit into regular reserves, nor into deep striking reserves, nor deploy them. Thus they would never arrive from reserves.


Sure, they shouldn't be allowed to be placed into any sort of reserves, couldn't agree more. And if my opponent were to state he were doing so I would try to explain to him why it's not allowed. This is along the lines of what if your opponent is being hardheaded and insisting on trying it anyways.
As for the how does it say, well, read it. Is the unit able to completely move onto the board. Yes or no? If we assume that Zogwort is unable to arrive with Zaggy and unit due to they must deep strike and his inability to deep strike (and that zaggy and unit are unable to use any other method of arriving from reserves) , then the answer is no. And what does the FAQ say in that circumstance? Unit is destroyed.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





I know it is not written anywhere, but in the case with Zagstruck since they have special deployment rules it supports the idea that they may not be joined by independent characters that cannot deep strike.

The support for the unit being destroyed is along a similar line of thought "when a reserve unit arives it must move onto the table from the controlling players own table edge (unless it is deep striking or outflanking)" main rules p 94. In that game where the player infiltrated the board edge the other opponent couldn't deply via a different method, or come on another edge in their deployment because the must come on from the board edge.

I think the second point is invalid though because of my first notion, however, my first point is not going to be covered in any book to my knowledge, so it is moot.

The thing thing about any discussion concerning why orks did something usually ends with because they are orks, and noone seems to argue, or offer further questioning.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Jidmah wrote:The alternative is moving onto the board. They never lost this ability, they are simply forced to use another option.


No, they very definitely lost that ability, because Zagstrukk's rule says that they must arrive via Deep Strike. To still have the ability to walk on instead, the rule would have to say something to the effect of 'must arrive via Deep Strike if possible.'

There is no out in the rule. They must arrive by Deep Strike. If they can't, then they can not arrive without breaking that rule.


If a mission disallows deep-striking, the would have to move on from reserves, too.

If a missions disallows Deep Striking, they would be unable to move on at all.


They are not explicitly given the option to shoot infantry. If "must" equals "you can't do anything else" then they would be disallowed from shooting non-vehicles as their only other option would be not shooting at all.


Codex Orks wrote:...If there is no visible vehicle target, the Tankbustas may select a target as normal.


Zagstrukk has no similar way out in his rules. It's Deep Strike or nothing.

 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

Note: there is a scenario where Zogwart CAN enter play through deepstrike.

Example: Zaggstrukk and his unit are already on the table top. Zog's at the beginning of the ork turn rolls to have a psychic ability, he is granted the ability to have one.

During the movement phase he joins. Zaggstrukks unit. He then in the beginning of the Shoot Phase rolls for his Psychic Abilify gaining Ere We go IE he has to use it, passes his test AND then MUST Deepstrike with Zaggstrukk and his Vulcha's.

But that example, he is not destroyed. He would have to deepstrike per the psychic ability with Da Vulcha.

How here's the question: do you let hiim assault after: likely not, he lacks the special ability for Vulcha Assault. But he would still be able to deep strike.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

He couldn't assault with them.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: