Switch Theme:

"swinging through an IC in combat"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





So this has come up multiple times now at my game store. I have had this arguement with multiple people and have been told to ask the interwebs very finest, DakkaDakka their opinion .

I appaulogize in advance for the wall of text!

Also the phrase of "swing through" was brought up by my opponent!

Here is the case,

So I have a couple of IC's attached to a unit of assault termies who are assaulting, after a roll of a 3 for DT, we have moved all the models and it ends up something like this:

tT
tCT L P
t C E t
M

So the letters mean,

T for TH/SS
C for LC
L for Librainan
P for Priest
E for Emperors champion
t for BT termies
M for Marshall

the specific problem comes from the TH/SS termie that is not in B2B with any model but is engaged with every model.

The general thought (and their view point) is that IC's are single seperate units for combat. In other words when in an assault they are no longer part of the unit until it is time for counting up casualties and moral checks and such.

So this to them means that the TH/SS cannot allocate attacks against the Emperor's Champion.

I contest this heavily, and this is why, when you check to see who is engaged with what units/models the IC's are still a part of the unit, and therefore allows the TH/SS termie to declare attacks against the Emperor's Champion.

Now the specific rules that directly correlate to this discussion is "Who can fight" page 35 second paragraph bullet points and last paragraph.

"Units that have one or more model in base contact with enemies are said to be 'locked in combat'. Within such units, the following models are said to be 'ENGAGED' (emphasis mine) and must fight:

1. Models in base contact with any enemy models.
2. Models within 2 inches of at least one model in thier unit that is in base conatact with any enemy models.

"Working out which models are engaged in combat is done at the start of the fight, and WILL NOT CHANGE (emphasis mine) until it ends....."

Multiple combats Page 41 Attacking both bullet points

1. Models that were engaged with just one of the enemy units at the beginning of combat (before any model attacked) must attack that unit.
2. Models that were engaged with more then one enemy unit at the beginning of combat (before any model attacked) may split their attacks freely between those units. Declare how they are splitting their attacks immediately before rolling to hit.

Independent Characters & Assaults page 49 second paragraph

If a unit that has been joined by an independent character assaults into close combat, the character assaults too, AS IT IS A PART OF THE UNIT.(emphasis mine) WHEN ATTACKS ARE RESOLVED, however, independent characters are always treated as a seperate single model unit (as descirbed under Multiple combats on page 41), even though they have joined the unit. This is to make them stand out in the fight, as befits such heroic individuals and it means that they have to be in base contact with the enemy to be able to attack. Be aware, though, that this also means that independent characters can be targeted spearately with models that are engaged with them! (My emphasis) Once all attacks have been resolved, these characters are once again treated as normal members of the unit they have joined (from determining assault results onwards).



So now my arguement is that when you check to see what models are engaged with what other models/units IC's are in fact( and directly supported by the rules) part of the unit. When attacks are resolved they are treated like separate units, which allows them to be picked out in just such situations, but does not change who is engaged with who (also supported by the rules) as you determine who is engaged (at the start of the fight) before attacks are resolved.

To futher illustrate my point I will do a step by step agree/disagree section.

1. Are the IC's part of the unit that is assaulting? (Agree/Disagree)
If disagree please explain!
2.If agree, when checking who is engaged, are IC's a part of the unit? (agree/disagree)
if disagree please explain!
3. If agree, then once all models are determined to be engaged they can then attack in this combat and nothing can change that. (unless killed in higher intiative) (agree/disagree)
If disagree please explain!
4. If agree, why can't the TH/SS termie attack the Emperor's champion?

8000+points of  
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

um i believe that in the case of IC attached to a unit of dudes, they count as seperate units, and both must be in BTB in order to fight. so if your unit of TH/.SS termies are in BTB with enemy unit, then all termies within range of a termie in btb can swing. they may also swing at any opposing characters in BTB with the termies. if the termies are only in BTB with characters, then the termies in contact with those characters may swing.

your characters need to be in BTB with whatever they want to fight, enemy unit or characters.so:

1. no as above. they are treated as seperate units in CC
2. see above
3. um yes and no. init steps can mean all viable targets for the IC are removed, and lower init characters will then have nothing to swing at. (even if other opposing models are in the fight - you need to be BTB with enemy characters or BTB with enemy unit. no BTB no fighty.

as for your quote, all that means is if the unit charges the characters go with, they cant choose to stay behind, or declare a charge on a diffrent unit, (unless multi charging)

basically:
- generic units have a 2" fight bubble. any member of the unit can fight if they are within 2" of an engaged friendly member of that unit.
- characters need to be in base to hit or be hit. so if you have your termie in behind a character, and a friendly termie is in btb with the other unit (not character) it can swing at the unit. if he has 2" bubble to friendly termies in btb with characters, he can swing at that character, but only that character.

hope that helps

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

heres a pic explaining better

in the picture:

5 incubi, 2 haemys and a archon are fighting a libby, chaplain, captain and 5 termies.

the archon can attack termies, and kill any in the fight
one of the haemys can also attack and kill any termies in the fight
the other haemy has a choice between either the captain, or the chaplain. (he can split attacks if he wishes)
all the incubi can fight the unit, but incubi 2 can attack the chaplain. (if incubi 1 was not engaged with the termies, he could also attack the chaplain, but here he cant)
the termies, can attack the incubi, and one of them can attack a haemy, and another can attack the archon. the unengaged termie behind the libby can also attack the archon.
the libby may not attack anything but is also unable to be attacked either.
the chaplain can attack incubi or haemy
the captain can attack one of the haemys and thats all.
[Thumb - CC.jpg]

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/10 09:47:30


Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Kapitalist-Pig wrote:
The general thought (and their view point) is that IC's are single seperate units for combat. In other words when in an assault they are no longer part of the unit until it is time for counting up casualties and moral checks and such.


Simply put, this is correct. The TH/SS termie can only 'swing through' other members of his unit, not through the attached ICs. Just as, in reverse, models attacking the IC cannot hurt the termie, or models attacking the termie cannot hurt the IC.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The stores that I normally play at would disagree, the 2" rule is checked at the start of combat, some of the models being ICs is irrelevant.

There ius also the fact that your opponent has a 6" consolidation in which he should engage as many of his models with yours, if that is done properly it should make your orignal question moot.
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





RAR the thunderhammer terminator has to be in base to base with some one or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit in base to base to get to attack. The IC's are all busy showboating to help him get a hit. If he is withing two of a terminator in base with the IC you want to hit and isnt in base to base with any enemies he can hit that IC all you want.

3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





DarthSpader wrote:um i believe that in the case of IC attached to a unit of dudes, they count as seperate units, and both must be in BTB in order to fight. so if your unit of TH/.SS termies are in BTB with enemy unit, then all termies within range of a termie in btb can swing. they may also swing at any opposing characters in BTB with the termies. if the termies are only in BTB with characters, then the termies in contact with those characters may swing.

your characters need to be in BTB with whatever they want to fight, enemy unit or characters.so:

1. no as above. they are treated as seperate units in CC
2. see above
3. um yes and no. init steps can mean all viable targets for the IC are removed, and lower init characters will then have nothing to swing at. (even if other opposing models are in the fight - you need to be BTB with enemy characters or BTB with enemy unit. no BTB no fighty.

as for your quote, all that means is if the unit charges the characters go with, they cant choose to stay behind, or declare a charge on a diffrent unit, (unless multi charging)

basically:
- generic units have a 2" fight bubble. any member of the unit can fight if they are within 2" of an engaged friendly member of that unit.
- characters need to be in base to hit or be hit. so if you have your termie in behind a character, and a friendly termie is in btb with the other unit (not character) it can swing at the unit. if he has 2" bubble to friendly termies in btb with characters, he can swing at that character, but only that character.

hope that helps



Oh where to start with the problem of you understanding what the first question means.......

So you say that IC's are not part of the unit that is assaulting huh? then what does, "AS IT IS A PART OF THE UNIT" mean? No really, that is a direct quote from the rule book. Addtionally, he is only treated as a separate single model unit for attacks being resolved. This is after moving the unit, which the character is apart of, selecting which combat to start which the IC is still part of the unit, seeing who is engaged which the IC is still part of the unit, and starting at Init 10 when attacks start resolving is when IC's are treated as separate single model units.

It further more seems you disregarded most of my post seeing how this is all layed out in the post..... I mean did you even care to read the entire thing at all? Did you just read the first couple of sentences and reply?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
don_mondo wrote:
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:
The general thought (and their view point) is that IC's are single seperate units for combat. In other words when in an assault they are no longer part of the unit until it is time for counting up casualties and moral checks and such.


Simply put, this is correct. The TH/SS termie can only 'swing through' other members of his unit, not through the attached ICs. Just as, in reverse, models attacking the IC cannot hurt the termie, or models attacking the termie cannot hurt the IC.



Care to put a rule to that opinion, because I have rules that say otherwise in my post.

Step by step analysis

1. Move unit into assault, IC's attached!
2. Choose assault to resolve. IC's Still attached!
3. Check who is enegaged at start of fight before attacks are resolved, or powers activated. IC's STILL PART OF THE UNIT!!!!
4. Once we see who is engaged, that cannot change unless the model is killed in a higher init!
5. Attacks start to resolve. IC's no longer treated as part of the unit, but separate single model unit!
6. IC's are now treated like they are part of the unit again.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
White Ninja wrote:RAR the thunderhammer terminator has to be in base to base with some one or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit in base to base to get to attack. The IC's are all busy showboating to help him get a hit. If he is withing two of a terminator in base with the IC you want to hit and isnt in base to base with any enemies he can hit that IC all you want.



Care to put a rule to the orignal unaltered unit phrase? I ask because the IC is part of any unit they join until it leaves the unit, it dies or the unit dies. As described under IC's and joining units on page 48.

Oh and snickerdoodle, he couldn't move a model and my models could not reach farther then 3 inches on a dt roll. so thus the situation occured. But thanks for your input!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/10 18:23:12


8000+points of  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

White Ninja wrote:RAR the thunderhammer terminator has to be in base to base with some one or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit in base to base to get to attack.

That has no rules basis at all.

IC's MUST be in B2B to be able to get their attacks. P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 3rd sentence.

But this is not true of normal members of a unit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

DeathReaper wrote:
White Ninja wrote:RAR the thunderhammer terminator has to be in base to base with some one or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit in base to base to get to attack.

That has no rules basis at all.

IC's MUST be in B2B to be able to get their attacks. P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 3rd sentence.

But this is not true of normal members of a unit.


It is true if the terminator wants to attack the IC. Only models in btb with an IC or within 2" of a model in the same unit that is in btb with the IC (and not in btb with any other unit) can attack the IC. That's one of the reasons for this errata:

ERRATA
Page 41 – Multiple Combats, Attacking.
A third bullet point should be added, as follows:
• Models that at the beginning of the combat (before
any model attacked) were engaged with more than
one enemy unit, but were in base contact with just one
of the enemy units, must attack that unit.

And as for only engaged models (ie btb or within 2" as described above. Page 41, main rules:
"Be aware, though, that this also means that independent characters can be targeted separately by models that are engaged with them!" In other words, only models actually engaged with the IC can attack them.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Right, I get that don_mondo, that is not what i was getting at in my post. I should have been more clear.

Lets say a unit with attached IC assaulted through a corridor between two enemy rhinos, and only the IC can get into Base contact with the enemy infantry that they assaulted.

At the beginning of the round of combat, the members of the IC's unit are engaged with the enemy, as they are not in base contact with anyone, and they are within 2" of a model in their unit that is is base contact with an enemy.

So the members of the unit that are behind the IC, can attack.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:
White Ninja wrote:RAR the thunderhammer terminator has to be in base to base with some one or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit in base to base to get to attack.

That has no rules basis at all.

IC's MUST be in B2B to be able to get their attacks. P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 3rd sentence.

But this is not true of normal members of a unit.

Which is fine, since it's not what he said...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:Oh where to start with the problem of you understanding what the first question means.......

If you're interested in actual discussion on this, I would strongly recommend dialing back the hostility a little.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/10 20:52:52


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

insaniak wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
White Ninja wrote:RAR the thunderhammer terminator has to be in base to base with some one or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit in base to base to get to attack.

That has no rules basis at all.

IC's MUST be in B2B to be able to get their attacks. P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 3rd sentence.

But this is not true of normal members of a unit.

Which is fine, since it's not what he said...

I was pointing out that " or within two of another terminator from his original unaltered unit" is not true.

He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Snickerdoodle wrote:The stores that I normally play at would disagree, the 2" rule is checked at the start of combat, some of the models being ICs is irrelevant.

There ius also the fact that your opponent has a 6" consolidation in which he should engage as many of his models with yours, if that is done properly it should make your orignal question moot.


I'm pretty sure that's wrong.

Here are the factors at play:

1) IC must be in base to base contact to fight and must in base to base to be considered engaged

2) Models part of a unit, must be within 2" of an egaged enemy model, that is engaged by their unit

3) IC can be attacked by any IC or model that part of a unit that meets the above criteria.

Page 49 is pretty clear on all of this. 2" does not apply to IC as far as getting them into combat, but the unit attacking them can apply this 2" engagement bubble (see page 41), as long as it too is not an IC and that unit has a model in base to base with the IC.

RAW and RAR


Automatically Appended Next Post:
DeathReaper wrote:
He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.


Can you cite how that would work? IC must be in base to base to be engaged... pretty sure an unengaged IC 1.5" from a unit is just out of the fight. Page 34 would not count that IC as being engaged since it is not in base to base with a model in that unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/10 21:12:33


DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Lobukia wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.


Can you cite how that would work? IC must be in base to base to be engaged... pretty sure an unengaged IC 1.5" from a unit is just out of the fight. Page 34 would not count that IC as being engaged since it is not in base to base with a model in that unit.

The IC has to be in Base Contact to get his attacks on the enemy. (P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 3rd sentence.)

However if you have a an IC and a unit that has lost all but one terminator, if the IC is in base contact, and the Terminator can not get into base contact because of terrain the terminator can still attack.

This is because figuring out which models are engaged is done at the start of the fight, and thus before the IC is considered a separate unit because the IC is only considered a separate unit when attacks are resolved. (P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 2nd sentence.)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

DeathReaper wrote:
Lobukia wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.


Can you cite how that would work? IC must be in base to base to be engaged... pretty sure an unengaged IC 1.5" from a unit is just out of the fight. Page 34 would not count that IC as being engaged since it is not in base to base with a model in that unit.

The IC has to be in Base Contact to get his attacks on the enemy. (P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 3rd sentence.)

However if you have a an IC and a unit that has lost all but one terminator, if the IC is in base contact, and the Terminator can not get into base contact because of terrain the terminator can still attack.

This is because figuring out which models are engaged is done at the start of the fight, and thus before the IC is considered a separate unit because the IC is only considered a separate unit when attacks are resolved. (P. 49 Left Column, 5th Graph, 2nd sentence.)


I didn't get that you were still considering the IC in base to base contact

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch


This is the crux of the issue right here:
Kapitalist-Pig wrote:If a unit that has been joined by an independent character assaults into close combat, the character assaults too, AS IT IS A PART OF THE UNIT.(emphasis mine) WHEN ATTACKS ARE RESOLVED, however, independent characters are always treated as a seperate single model unit (as descirbed under Multiple combats on page 41), even though they have joined the unit. This is to make them stand out in the fight, as befits such heroic individuals and it means that they have to be in base contact with the enemy to be able to attack. Be aware, though, that this also means that independent characters can be targeted spearately with models that are engaged with them! (My emphasis) Once all attacks have been resolved, these characters are once again treated as normal members of the unit they have joined (from determining assault results onwards).


Specifically, this part: "...and it means that they have to be in base contact with the enemy to be able to attack.'

Note that the rule is not actually saying 'IC's must be in base contact to fight in close combat.' What it is actually saying is that IC's are treated as a separate unit 'when resolving attacks' and that this means that they must be in base contact to attack.

'When attacks are resolved' is fairly nebulous. You can certainly take it to mean just the actual part where you are rolling attacks... but that makes that last statement patently false. If 'resolving attacks' doesn't include determining who can hit whom, then that doesn't mean that ICs would have to be in base contact... Being within 2" of a member of the unit he is joined to would be sufficient.

In order for that statement to make sense, we have to assume that when Allesio wrote 'when attacks are resolved' he meant everything from determining who can fight through to removing casualties. As a result, the IC has to be in base contact to fight, and a squad member has to be in base contact or withni 2" of another squad member rather than the IC.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

DeathReaper wrote:
He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.


No, he cannot, as he is not part of the same 'unit' in the hth as the IC.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

don_mondo wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.


No, he cannot, as he is not part of the same 'unit' in the hth as the IC.


Except that he is a part of the unit.

He is only not considered a part of the unit when attacks are resolved (Initiative 10-1 is when attacks are resolved).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

DeathReaper wrote:
don_mondo wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
He can be within two inches of only an IC, and not in base contact, and he still gets to attack.


No, he cannot, as he is not part of the same 'unit' in the hth as the IC.


Except that he is a part of the unit.

He is only not considered a part of the unit when attacks are resolved (Initiative 10-1 is when attacks are resolved).


I'll continue to disagree with what I consider to be your misinterpreation of the rules. Outta here.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut








Can the marines allocate attacks through the independent characters?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:[He is only not considered a part of the unit when attacks are resolved (Initiative 10-1 is when attacks are resolved).

Which, as I just explained, has to include the 'Who Can Fight' step, otherwise the rules are nonsensical.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Dave_Fay wrote:

Can the marines allocate attacks through the independent characters?

No. The marines are considered separate units from the IC, and so in that example would need to be in base contact with one of the enemy models in order to attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/10 23:17:07


 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





Dave_Fay wrote:

Can the marines allocate attacks through the independent characters?

Say if the red IC was a normal marine in a squad with the other red marine, his friend could still attack right? You don't have to be B2B with an IC to attack him as long as you're within 2" (as long as you're not B2B with another unit/IC)?

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

That's right. IC's function just the same as any other non-vehicle unit in close combat.

 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

in the above image only the IC can attack each other, the marines while considered part of the fight, are unable to attack since they are not btb.

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

insaniak wrote:Specifically, this part: "...and it means that they have to be in base contact with the enemy to be able to attack.'

Note that the rule is not actually saying 'IC's must be in base contact to fight in close combat.' What it is actually saying is that IC's are treated as a separate unit 'when resolving attacks' and that this means that they must be in base contact to attack.

'When attacks are resolved' is fairly nebulous. You can certainly take it to mean just the actual part where you are rolling attacks... but that makes that last statement patently false. If 'resolving attacks' doesn't include determining who can hit whom, then that doesn't mean that ICs would have to be in base contact... Being within 2" of a member of the unit he is joined to would be sufficient.

In order for that statement to make sense, we have to assume that when Allesio wrote 'when attacks are resolved' he meant everything from determining who can fight through to removing casualties. As a result, the IC has to be in base contact to fight, and a squad member has to be in base contact or withni 2" of another squad member rather than the IC.

There are exceptions within the rules all over the place.

This is one of those exceptions where the IC has to be in Base Contact, but the normal members of the unit do not.
don_mondo wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
Except that he is a part of the unit.

He is only not considered a part of the unit when attacks are resolved (Initiative 10-1 is when attacks are resolved).


I'll continue to disagree with what I consider to be your misinterpreation of the rules. Outta here.

Well considering the RAW backs up what I am saying, you can disagree all you want, but that does not make it correct.


DarthSpader wrote:in the above image only the IC can attack each other, the marines while considered part of the fight, are unable to attack since they are not btb.

Except that is not what the rules actually say.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:This is one of those exceptions where the IC has to be in Base Contact, but the normal members of the unit do not.

It's not an exception, though. The part about the IC needing to be in base contact is not a rule in itself. It is stated as a by-product of the fact that ICs are treated as a separate unit when attacks are resolved.

The only way for that to be true is if 'resolving attacks' includes determining who can hit whom.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

I just do not see how "when attacks are resolved." can be equated to "The start of the fight"

They are two really different things.

Multiple Combats on P.41, also in an example of how these two are different.

"Models that were engaged... at the beginning of the [round] of combat (Before any model attacked)..." P.41

[Round] is added by the FAQ.

P.41 does not equate the two. it is clear that these rules think they are two different things.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:I just do not see how "when attacks are resolved." can be equated to "The start of the fight"

Determining who can attack whom is part of the process of resolving attacks. You have to determine who you can hit before you can hit them.



it is clear that these rules think they are two different things.

That's not clear at all because, again, it makes that passage about how ICs fight into a nonsensical statement. The only way that the IC having to be in base contact can be a consequence of them resolving attacks separately is if resolving attacks includes determining who is on contact. There's simply no way around that... If you exclude that from the 'resolving attacks' then there is nothing stopping the IC from hitting anything his squad is engaged with, and so the statement that treating him as a separate unit means that he has to be in base contact is false.

Including the 'Who Can Fight' step as part of resolving attacks is the only way that the rules as written make sense.

 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





insaniak wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:I just do not see how "when attacks are resolved." can be equated to "The start of the fight"

Determining who can attack whom is part of the process of resolving attacks. You have to determine who you can hit before you can hit them.



it is clear that these rules think they are two different things.

That's not clear at all because, again, it makes that passage about how ICs fight into a nonsensical statement. The only way that the IC having to be in base contact can be a consequence of them resolving attacks separately is if resolving attacks includes determining who is on contact. There's simply no way around that... If you exclude that from the 'resolving attacks' then there is nothing stopping the IC from hitting anything his squad is engaged with, and so the statement that treating him as a separate unit means that he has to be in base contact is false.

Including the 'Who Can Fight' step as part of resolving attacks is the only way that the rules as written make sense.


Now that is false, because we have it spelled out in very specific terms, the IC must be in base contact to make attacks. This is because they are telling you how IC's opperate differently then every other unit in the game. Otherwise, why have an entire section dedicated only to IC's? They lump all the other units together, save for psykers, and vehicles.

With the way the book has the assault phase laid out it is not far fetched to think that determining who can fight comes before who swings, yet again it is a step by step process. When IC's are involved they add addtional steps to the assault process. Also, you have to go by initiative order, therefore, there has to be sepearate steps. I mean unless you are allowing everyone to swing all together and ignoring initiative. I mean do I have to do an entire tree of step by step to make people see this??? Not trying to be harsh or anything. Otherwise would you not just say every model in the unit that is in an assault is engaged, and therefore can attack? No, they very specifically, lay out how to determine who is engaged in an assault, and who is allowed to make attacks and who is not.

Insaniak please tell us how it is nonsensical if it is laid out in a process? You keep saying that but not explaining how it would be nonsensical!

And yes Dave you know how I am going to anwser that... The marines can make attacks on the IC's but not each other.

Don_Mondo if you do care to come back, I would still like to see some reference to a rule that says I am wrong.

I would also like to ask since when is treated=IS?
I mean if I treat you like a dog, does it mean that you are a dog? NO! You do not equal a dog.

8000+points of  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kapitalist-Pig wrote:Now that is false, because we have it spelled out in very specific terms, the IC must be in base contact to make attacks. This is because they are telling you how IC's opperate differently then every other unit in the game. Otherwise, why have an entire section dedicated only to IC's? They lump all the other units together, save for psykers, and vehicles.

I have not claimed that the IC doesn't need to be in base contact. I've said exactly the opposite, in fact.


Insaniak please tell us how it is nonsensical if it is laid out in a process? You keep saying that but not explaining how it would be nonsensical!

I already did. At least twice.

The rules that you quoted at the start of the thread state that ICs are treated separately to units they are joined to when resolving attacks, and that this means that they need to be in base contact in order to fight. However, if they are considerd to be still part of the unit right up until you start rolling dice, then treating them as a separate unit for resolving attacks wouldn't mean that they need to be in base contact to attack. At the point where you determine who the IC can attack, he is still a part of the unit, and so can attack anyone the unit is engaged with... which we know is not supposed to be the end result, because the rule goes on to tell us that this isn't the end result.

So since that interpretation renders the stated consequences of the rule false, that interpretation must be incorrect.

The only way that the IC would be forced to be in base contact as a result of being treated as a separate unit when resolving attacks is if 'resolving attacks' includes determining who can fight.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/11 07:39:54


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: