Switch Theme:

Stormraven and Dreadnoughts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can a Stormraven carry a Venerable/Ironclad Dreadnought?
Yes.
No.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





 grendel083 wrote:
 Idolator wrote:
I was thinking of something related to an earlier post. You no longer require a special rule for Jump Infantry to board a transport. They have the Bulky rule and are no longer forbidden. This is a further example of how the modifier does not change the designation of the model itself, (Damn GW and their weird capitalization policies)

Actually Jump (infantry) are still forbidden from embarking into transports, it's in the transport section.
They have Bulky for those rare cases they are allowed to embark.


You are correct sir! it was my bad.

Does the Grey Knight Stormraven allow Jump Infantry to embark?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/23 20:43:26


Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka!  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Yes it does, one of the rare transports that can.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

rigeld2 wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Incorrect, Rigel. Brood Telepathy and Warp Field did in fact work for Ymgarl and Doom, respectively, previous to that FAQ, all the FAQ did was clarify to players that GW intented for those rules to work with those specific units.

While people may think the rules as written were changed, no errata was issued to actually change the wording. All that did change was that a small portion of the player base was given a pointed reminder that if a unit is given a special rule, GW intended for that unit to use that special rule.

That's of course your assumption, as there is nothing anywhere that says that.
And you seem to still be saying that FAQs cannot change rules despite the fact that it has been proven they do.


I've never said FAQ cannot change rules. I have stated that Errata change rules, while FAQ clarify rules. The difference being that Errata changes the wording of the rule, which oddly enough "changes" the rule, while FAQ provide an answer as to the intent behind the rule in question. One actually changes the rule, the other advises on how the design team would interperate the rule they wrote. I have also pointed out at least one FAQ I personally considered to be a bad call as it goes against the actual rules as written. However, that specific FAQ is just like all other FAQ in that it only clarifies what the intent behind the rule was.

As to your example and my disagreement, you have stated that in at least 2 instances GW printed a FAQ that stated a specific named unit is indeed a named version of a generic unit, and as such uses the rules printed in its unit entry just like the generic units it is a named version of. I pointed out that in no way did the rules change, as the rules were not re-worded, amended, or replaced by different text. The FAQ simply pointed out to a portion of the player base that yes indeed, the rest of the player base was playing it correctly.

Back to the "Dreadnought might not be a Dreadnought" discussion, if we apply the exact same logic GW implies for the rulings in your example to Dreadnoughts, then the portion of the player base that allows all variants of dreadnoughts to be treated as "Dreadnoughts" where the rules simply reference "1 Dreadnought" is correct until such time as GW posts an errata, amendment, or FAQ that clarifies their intent to be different. And while I do acknowledge that GW may side with the portion of the player base that states "only the unit named Dreadnought is a Dreadnought", they have not at this time done so. If we as the player base choose to limit our chain of logic to "only the unit named XXX is an XXX for all rules covering XXX", then the rules collapse as entire codices become unplayable.

On another note, I can see way GW rules the way they did on Magna-Grapples and ‘Nids not being able to shoot emplaced weapons. For one, the rules as written state that flyers cannot be physically interacted with while zooming by anything other than another flyer. A ground unit with a grapple does attempt to interact with a zooming flyer if the zooming flyer is hit by the grapple. As the ground unit is not a flyer, the portion of the rules defining how the firer interacts with the target is ignored. GW has supported this in the current FAQ. It does not matter what GW supported in previous Errata or FAQ, as only the most current Errata and FAQ are legal.

On the ‘Nid clarification, ‘Nids by their very own background information (fluff = context), are unable/unwilling to operate technology. Emplaced weapons are technology. GW’s ruling makes sense ever if the rules as written state otherwise. Have the rules been changed? No, because the rules in question were not re-written, modified, or replaced. Has the way ‘Nid players are allowed to follow specific rules changed? Yes, because a declaration of intent has been provided from an official source.

The FAQ I personally disagreed with when it first came out was the GW ruling on Nemesis Force Falchions, where GW states that it was not their intention to allow NFF to provide +2 attacks for being 2 CCW with a special rule that adds an addition attack. However, recent discussions on this forum regarding the stacking of benefits stack as multiple casting of Hammerhand on the same unit brought to light why GW ruled the way they did on NFF. Per the rules as written, like benefits do not stack unless given specific permission to do so. This means that no matter how many +1 to Strength benefits a unit receives, only the benefits with specific permission to stack may stack (such as Hammerhand and Might of Titan). It appears that GW had chosen to apply this rule to their answer regarding NFF, stating that despite being 2 CCW and a special rule noted +1 attack, the NFF can never grant more than +1 attack. I know, just like everyone else, that this ruling flies in the face of decades of 40k rules and GW rulings. Yet, it is internally consistent with the current rule set. This also means we may need to reevaluate other unit with multiple stacking bonuses to see which one truly stack and which ones don’t.

And finally, on the point about YMDC tenets on debating rules, the YMDC tenets do not tell us to only argue why the rules don’t work. The tenets tell us to debate [i[how[/i] the rules as written work, and to support our arguments with citations. The constant circular arguments that the Dakka Debating Society seems to prefer where they neither support their views nor strive to make sense of the rules as written beyond pointing out where everything falls apart does a huge disservice to the community.

My apologies for the wall of text. Pretty sure those that disagree will pick it apart or ignore it, while never actually addressing any of it within the tenets of this forum.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 jeffersonian000 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Incorrect, Rigel. Brood Telepathy and Warp Field did in fact work for Ymgarl and Doom, respectively, previous to that FAQ, all the FAQ did was clarify to players that GW intented for those rules to work with those specific units.

While people may think the rules as written were changed, no errata was issued to actually change the wording. All that did change was that a small portion of the player base was given a pointed reminder that if a unit is given a special rule, GW intended for that unit to use that special rule.

That's of course your assumption, as there is nothing anywhere that says that.
And you seem to still be saying that FAQs cannot change rules despite the fact that it has been proven they do.


I've never said FAQ cannot change rules. I have stated that Errata change rules, while FAQ clarify rules. The difference being that Errata changes the wording of the rule, which oddly enough "changes" the rule, while FAQ provide an answer as to the intent behind the rule in question. One actually changes the rule, the other advises on how the design team would interperate the rule they wrote. I have also pointed out at least one FAQ I personally considered to be a bad call as it goes against the actual rules as written. However, that specific FAQ is just like all other FAQ in that it only clarifies what the intent behind the rule was.

So FAQs clarify Intent and never change rules, but FAQs can change rules?

As to your example and my disagreement, you have stated that in at least 2 instances GW printed a FAQ that stated a specific named unit is indeed a named version of a generic unit, and as such uses the rules printed in its unit entry just like the generic units it is a named version of. I pointed out that in no way did the rules change, as the rules were not re-worded, amended, or replaced by different text. The FAQ simply pointed out to a portion of the player base that yes indeed, the rest of the player base was playing it correctly.

So changing how the rule is played does not change the rules?
And you've ignored the SitW rule change.

Back to the "Dreadnought might not be a Dreadnought" discussion, if we apply the exact same logic GW implies for the rulings in your example to Dreadnoughts, then the portion of the player base that allows all variants of dreadnoughts to be treated as "Dreadnoughts" where the rules simply reference "1 Dreadnought" is correct until such time as GW posts an errata, amendment, or FAQ that clarifies their intent to be different. And while I do acknowledge that GW may side with the portion of the player base that states "only the unit named Dreadnought is a Dreadnought", they have not at this time done so. If we as the player base choose to limit our chain of logic to "only the unit named XXX is an XXX for all rules covering XXX", then the rules collapse as entire codices become unplayable.

The rules don't collapse, some codexes do.

On another note, I can see way GW rules the way they did on Magna-Grapples and ‘Nids not being able to shoot emplaced weapons. For one, the rules as written state that flyers cannot be physically interacted with while zooming by anything other than another flyer. A ground unit with a grapple does attempt to interact with a zooming flyer if the zooming flyer is hit by the grapple. As the ground unit is not a flyer, the portion of the rules defining how the firer interacts with the target is ignored. GW has supported this in the current FAQ. It does not matter what GW supported in previous Errata or FAQ, as only the most current Errata and FAQ are legal.

Actually, the bolded is never said anywhere so that's putting your interpretation into the rules.

On the ‘Nid clarification, ‘Nids by their very own background information (fluff = context), are unable/unwilling to operate technology. Emplaced weapons are technology. GW’s ruling makes sense ever if the rules as written state otherwise. Have the rules been changed? No, because the rules in question were not re-written, modified, or replaced. Has the way ‘Nid players are allowed to follow specific rules changed? Yes, because a declaration of intent has been provided from an official source.

So if the rule hasn't changed, I'm allowed to have my Venomthropes fire a Quad Gun? Why or why not? After all, the rules allow it and FAQs don't change rules.

The FAQ I personally disagreed with when it first came out was the GW ruling on Nemesis Force Falchions, where GW states that it was not their intention to allow NFF to provide +2 attacks for being 2 CCW with a special rule that adds an addition attack. However, recent discussions on this forum regarding the stacking of benefits stack as multiple casting of Hammerhand on the same unit brought to light why GW ruled the way they did on NFF. Per the rules as written, like benefits do not stack unless given specific permission to do so. This means that no matter how many +1 to Strength benefits a unit receives, only the benefits with specific permission to stack may stack (such as Hammerhand and Might of Titan). It appears that GW had chosen to apply this rule to their answer regarding NFF, stating that despite being 2 CCW and a special rule noted +1 attack, the NFF can never grant more than +1 attack. I know, just like everyone else, that this ruling flies in the face of decades of 40k rules and GW rulings. Yet, it is internally consistent with the current rule set. This also means we may need to reevaluate other unit with multiple stacking bonuses to see which one truly stack and which ones don’t.

Citation required for the bolded - I think you'll find it doesn't actually exist.

And finally, on the point about YMDC tenets on debating rules, the YMDC tenets do not tell us to only argue why the rules don’t work. The tenets tell us to debate [i[how[/i] the rules as written work, and to support our arguments with citations. The constant circular arguments that the Dakka Debating Society seems to prefer where they neither support their views nor strive to make sense of the rules as written beyond pointing out where everything falls apart does a huge disservice to the community.

Please report me or anyone else that does not support their argument with rules. I'm begging you too.
Instead of sideways insults and snarky comments I'd rather you used actual rules to debate as I have.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I'll be honest, I did not read through all 16 pages of this thread, but I know on page 1 and page 14 the argument that the Blood Angels codex is written in such a way that all dreadnought units use "1 Dreadnought" in the unit composition entry. The argument is being made that a "Dreadnought" and a "Venerable Dreadnought" in the Space Marines codex are not the same because the unit composition is not identical as it is in the Blood Angels codex.

If that line of reasoning is true then a Furioso Dreadnought/ Librarian is WS 4?

"Furioso Dreadnoughts" are WS 6 but my Furioso Dreadnought unit only has 1 "Dreadnought" in it.
   
Made in us
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





 DJGietzen wrote:
I'll be honest, I did not read through all 16 pages of this thread, but I know on page 1 and page 14 the argument that the Blood Angels codex is written in such a way that all dreadnought units use "1 Dreadnought" in the unit composition entry. The argument is being made that a "Dreadnought" and a "Venerable Dreadnought" in the Space Marines codex are not the same because the unit composition is not identical as it is in the Blood Angels codex.

If that line of reasoning is true then a Furioso Dreadnought/ Librarian is WS 4?

"Furioso Dreadnoughts" are WS 6 but my Furioso Dreadnought unit only has 1 "Dreadnought" in it.


I don't follow. Are you for or against an Ironclad and Venerable Dreadnought being a Dreadnought for transportation purposes in a Drop Pod and Storm Raven?

P.S. I don't blame you for not reading all 16 pages. Although, some of it's rather funny and some of it contains the most ridiculous crap you've ever seen!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/24 05:14:41


Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka!  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Personally I'm in favor of transporting SM Venerable or Iron-Clad dreads in a raven. To me the contextual use of the word Dreadnought in the Stormraven's rules is to describe a class of units and not a specific unit. I believe that same contextual use applies to the entries for unit composition in the Blood Angels codex.

If I assume the argument that the unit composition entry is distinguishing between two different model types is true then I am forced to conclude that, in the Blood Angels codex, a Furioso Dreadnought unit contains 0 "Furioso Dreadnought" and 1 "Dreadnought". Since those two models have different characteristic profiles I am forced, under this logic, to conclude that the "Dreadnought" in my FD unit must use the characteristic profile of the "Dreadnought".
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





Just for my own clarification. At this point this thread is about what now? as it seems the answer to the Op's question was answered about 10 pages ago or so....

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in us
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





BLADERIKER wrote:
Just for my own clarification. At this point this thread is about what now? as it seems the answer to the Op's question was answered about 10 pages ago or so....


It was....and everyone knows it. Unfortunately there are a few people out there that will refuse to concede.

I had a guy, recently, argue that three words of a sentence were to be considered fluff (and therefore not rules) while the rest of the sentence was the gospel truth for playing the game.

This whole thread became a vaudville routine after the Drop Pods were referenced. Heck of a show though, funny.

Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka!  
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

I don't think we're going to cover anything new now.


The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: