Switch Theme:

Necron Solar Pulse from Transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Hi,
Can't see this in the GW FAQ or the INAT FAQ, but what is the legality of a Cryptek using his Solar Pulse from within an enclosed transport i.e. Night Scythe? Can he do this, as it does not say he requires any line of sight and he is on the battlefield, albeit in a vehicle?

Also, does the pulse induce night fighting or take it away for a PLAYER TURN or a GAME TURN? So can I use the pulse in my opponents turn to induce night fighting and then have clear daylight to attack him in my next turn?

Just one more thing, is there any restriction on going flat out in a CCB and using sweep attacks?

Thanks in advance.

Flashman
 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

RAW there doesn't seem to be any limitation besides the one-time use. Heck it doesn't even state the bearer needs to be alive...

Turn always means Player Turn unless it specifically states Game Turn (see BRB FAQ).

   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

I think Solar Pulses from beyond the grave would be pushing it lol. Thanks for the confirmation though.

Flashman
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




See BRB also, clearly written in those lead in rules...
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





Perth, Australia

Re the CCB not aware of any restriction other than as stated in codex. All 3 attacks against same unit, roll 4+ if moved more than combat speed.

Can also attack a unit in CC (separate thread for that!)

   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker





Beaverton, OR

I agree about the lack of restriction for the sweep attacks from the CCB. Have at it.

For the solar pulse from a vehicle, if it has a firing port, or is opened top, then I would say you could use it. In the case of the night scythe, though a transport, it is not a vehicle units can fire out of, since they come in from reserve and are transported onto the field similar to a monolith (hence why units using a night scythe are not destroyed, just put back into reserve).

Hope this helps.

Cheers


If I give you a cookie, will you go away? If I give you the bag, will you go far, far away?
---------------------
Successful Trades: 15 (with Gitsplitta, MadMaverick76, gregornet, AtariAssasin, Fists of the emperor, Kazi, Centurionpainting, zatazuken x2, Sunde, Carlson793, Scorpiodrgon, quickfuze, Stevefamine, Mercury). Check Reputable Trader List for proof. Go on, I dare ya! 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Sir Harry Flashman, VC wrote:Hi,
Can't see this in the GW FAQ or the INAT FAQ, but what is the legality of a Cryptek using his Solar Pulse from within an enclosed transport i.e. Night Scythe? Can he do this, as it does not say he requires any line of sight and he is on the battlefield, albeit in a vehicle?

Also, does the pulse induce night fighting or take it away for a PLAYER TURN or a GAME TURN? So can I use the pulse in my opponents turn to induce night fighting and then have clear daylight to attack him in my next turn?

Just one more thing, is there any restriction on going flat out in a CCB and using sweep attacks?

Thanks in advance.


We do have this question covered in the INAT, its just in the section about the Night Scythe (since the question really applies to any special rule used from within a Night Scythe). its on page 71 of the v.5.1.1 INAT.


And the answer is that although it doesn't really make logical sense fluff-wise that special rules can be used by models 'inside' a Night Scythe, they are a transport vehicle and follow all the normal rules for transports except where specified otherwise (like sending their passengers into reserve when destroyed). Therefore, embarked units on a Night Scythe get all the normal benefits that any other embarked unit does, which means that as long as the special rule doesn't require LOS (which the solar pulse doesn't) then it can most definitely be used by a unit embarked on a Night Scythe.


And as for the Solar Pulse being used when the model is dead, 99% of rules in the game don't specify that the model needs to be alive, its kind of a common sense thing that GW assumes you'd be able to figure out: if the model is dead then any special rules he has cease to function.

The way they actually specify that a rule continues to apply even when the model is dead is to say things like: ;an army that includes [model X] benefits from this special rule' or something similar.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






nosferatu1001 wrote:See BRB also, clearly written in those lead in rules...

The fantasy rulebook?

Did you know? Every sunday from 12 to 5 pm you can get a carvery for £6.95 at the pudding and pye.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





cheapbuster wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:See BRB also, clearly written in those lead in rules...

The fantasy rulebook?

Basic Rule Book.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Given most of the front cover of the 5th ed book is red, calling it BRB is perfectly fine.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BRB = Basic Rule Book
BRB = Big Red Book (which 5th ed has a red cover now)
BRB = Big Rule Book (as compared to the small rule book that comes with Black Reach)

At least that is how I see it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





never mind

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/23 14:11:10


The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Thanks Yak. I actually printed the Necron INAT FAQ, must have got tunnel vision on the Cryptek wargear

Flashman
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: