Switch Theme:

Duke Sliscus and serpents venom  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok, pretty new to warhammer 40k and i am building DE.

When i came across duke sliscus and read his serpents venom special rule, i pondered a question.

the rule states:

"The Serpent's Venom - Pick a unit of Kabalite Warriors or a unit of Kabalite Trueborn at the beginning of the game.
Sliscus must be deployed with this unit. All splinter weapons in that unit are upgraded to poisoned (+3), to represent the
Duke's collection of hypertoxins in action."

So, the way i see it is this. Deploy him with a group of 5 trueborn, they get +3 posion weapons. Deployment rule met.
So after deployment, can i detach him from that unit and put them in a venom and they keep the +3 weapons?

Passed the question on to the demon spawn of a roomate that got me addicted to this game and dropping 100$ a week
(pst i love you demon spawn) into getting more units, and he said no b/c he isnt attached

Normaly i would agree b/c he isnt attached anymore, but no where in the rule does it say "gives +3 to his unit" ... just says
pick a unit of warriors or trueborn and deploy with them and they are upgraded. Other HQ choices give there bonuses to
the units they are with, such as baron sathonyx, where it states "his unit"

With all that being said, I am trying to figure out if how i am interpreting it is correct or not.

Please help dakka dakka, the argument amongst friends must be decided!!
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

It's three separate sentences. You pick a unit. He has to deploy in that unit. And that unit gets 3+ on their poison that game. No requirement for him to stay with them.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

Mannahnin wrote:It's three separate sentences. You pick a unit. He has to deploy in that unit. And that unit gets 3+ on their poison that game. No requirement for him to stay with them.


exactly.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thats what I thought, thanks alot guys. Now to beat my room mate, with the proverbial "I'm right" stick, into submission.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/24 19:01:08


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Just in case it helps with your discussion, another example of a similar situation happens with the Lhamaeans in the Court of the Archon.

It's simply a special rule that a model has that confers a bonus to a separate unit, there's no need to attach them.

Also of some note to the discussion is Pedro Kantor of the Space Marines Codex, who says "your sternguard veteran squads gain the hold the line! special rule detailed below" there's no choice being made in this instance but it's still the same principle of a model being able to grant a special rule without needing to be attached.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Drunkspleen wrote:Just in case it helps with your discussion, another example of a similar situation happens with the Lhamaeans in the Court of the Archon. It's simply a special rule that a model has that confers a bonus to a separate unit, there's no need to attach them

Actually in this case the rules do require you to deploy Sliscus with the unit at the start of the game.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Ghaz wrote:
Drunkspleen wrote:Just in case it helps with your discussion, another example of a similar situation happens with the Lhamaeans in the Court of the Archon. It's simply a special rule that a model has that confers a bonus to a separate unit, there's no need to attach them

Actually in this case the rules do require you to deploy Sliscus with the unit at the start of the game.


Yes but my point was simply that there are other models out there that similarly confer rules even when they aren't attached to the unit in question.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Ghaz and Spleen you are both right... sort of; taking what spleen was trying to say into account.

Duke has the rule that he must be deployed along with the unit he gives a bonus to, but he is not required to stay with them for the bonus or any other reason.

The Lhamaeans, and the court are not required to be deployed with their Lord, nor to ever have the Lord attached; but the bonus conferred by the Lhamaean is permanent.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Never said he had to stay with the unit, just that he had to deploy with them (if present in the army).

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: