Switch Theme:

Can One Codex rule ever supercede another Codex?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Playing a game against Daemons. I'm about to fire my Lootas into his Fateweaver when his Changling uses Glamour of Tzeentch. I said okay I'm fearless cause of Mob Rule. He argues that glamour of tzeentch says unmodified Leadership. But Mob Rule says you may Always use the number of boyz as your leadership if you want, and if that number is 11 you're fearless. We couldn't agree, and I rolled at leadership ten and passed anyways.

So Basically, what happens when two codex's rules directly oppose each other like that?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Glamour is a leadership test iirc. Fearless let's you auto pass morale checks.

There's no opposition.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




In this specific situation they don't, as the Changeling's ability calls for a leadership test, and Fearless only affects Morale and Pinning tests, (Which are leadership tests, but specific types) Testing on Ld 10 was the correct response in that situation.

In situations where codexes, or rules in general, clash, which is few, the more specific rule wins out.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"Can One Codex rule ever supercede another Codex?"
Yes one codex rule can supercede another Codex. Specific trumps general.

Kiredor has it 100%
Kiredor wrote:In situations where codexes, or rules in general, clash, which is few, the more specific rule wins out.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






Hiding in a ruined Chimera

tbh you just got to have that ''sportmanship'' and discuss and decide what you will do if another situation. Aprt from that i agree with Kiredor

Cadian 7th Regiment (Desert uniform) 550pts 2/0/0
WoC army 1000pts 1/0/0

 mattyrm wrote:
Yeah, I don't have PTSD after five combat tours, and frankly I'd rather get parachuted back into Helmand province armed with only a fething Nerf gun and my underpants than go into my local GW.
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






From experience, "sportsmanship" is defined as "You should agree that it works to my benefit".

If the game is in progress, few people will be able to make rational decisions if, depending on the outcome, a key unit might be in danger. Rule disputes should always be done before or after the game. During the game I have found it way more practical to simply dice off.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/06/05 07:26:19


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker





Virginia

10 is a modified leadership. Ork unmodified leadership is 7....which leadership should you use? That would be the question to ask.

2012- stopped caring
Nova Open 2011- Orks 8th Seed---(I see a trend)
Adepticon 2011- Mike H. Orks 8th Seed (This was the WTF list of the Final 16)
Adepticon 2011- Combat Patrol Best General 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






10 is not a modified LD; Mob rule allows the number of Orks in the unit to replace the Ld stat(to a max of 10).

A Modified Ld would be a unit that gets affected by a Psyker battle squad thus taking a negative to their ld equal to the number of Psykers.

Or a special rule that grants a specific bonus or penalty as a -# or a +#.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Kommissar Kel wrote:10 is not a modified LD; Mob rule allows the number of Orks in the unit to replace the Ld stat(to a max of 10).

A Modified Ld would be a unit that gets affected by a Psyker battle squad thus taking a negative to their ld equal to the number of Psykers.

Or a special rule that grants a specific bonus or penalty as a -# or a +#.

I would disagree with this statement; If the leadership value being used is not the one listed on the model's profile, it has been modified.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Lordhat wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:10 is not a modified LD; Mob rule allows the number of Orks in the unit to replace the Ld stat(to a max of 10).

A Modified Ld would be a unit that gets affected by a Psyker battle squad thus taking a negative to their ld equal to the number of Psykers.

Or a special rule that grants a specific bonus or penalty as a -# or a +#.

I would disagree with this statement; If the leadership value being used is not the one listed on the model's profile, it has been modified.

It's been substituted, but it doesn't have any modifiers acting on it.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Modified or not, the mob rules states that the Orks may always use the size of the mob in place of Ld (up to 10 of course)
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter



scotland

yup the mob rule replaces the leadership not modifies it. so you do get 10 against things that roll against unmodified because you havent got a +1 or +2 or -4 leadership modifier you have a new one

6th editon slate:

necrons 4000pts 18/3/16
grey knights 600pts 1/0/0 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Lordhat wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:10 is not a modified LD; Mob rule allows the number of Orks in the unit to replace the Ld stat(to a max of 10).

A Modified Ld would be a unit that gets affected by a Psyker battle squad thus taking a negative to their ld equal to the number of Psykers.

Or a special rule that grants a specific bonus or penalty as a -# or a +#.

I would disagree with this statement; If the leadership value being used is not the one listed on the model's profile, it has been modified.


Characteristic modifiers are defined on page 6 of the BRB, first column last paragraph states modifiers are additions, or subtractions to the characteristic; Mob rule, Rites of Battle, and other characteristic-replacing Special rules are never modifying the characteristic in question(they are replacing them).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in cn
Flashy Flashgitz






China

I think you guys did it right, and I agree that it's not modified, it simply is the leadership. It's a pretty clear rule.
There are some not so clear rules running around, this was not one of them.
I also agree that it's best to discuss how you're going to treat rules, terrains, and situations that see iffy before you start the game, otherwise, a quick net search on the casual choice to deal with the problem or a roll off.

“We are the ones you left for dead. The ones you left in the ground. Buried and forgotten, we have tunneled our ways to the stars, and there will be no dirt nor cave where you can hide. The Dwellar are here.”
Dwellar Codex; 40k Dwarfs

“Well, what do you carry the gun for if you’re just going to waste bullets?” Timer reloads his Boomer as Forling fires his Shrapper.
“I may ‘ne be a good shot Timer, but I don’t miss much from this close up with my hammer,” Forling continues to fire.
“All the enemies are good and far away so what the hell does that…” Timer looks up to see Forling giving him an angry stare. “Oh, yea, ok, um, good shooting.”
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: