Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 05:18:51
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot
|
Basically, here is where the confusion is. If you used Guide or had any twin-linked template, you would get rerolls to wound since your auto hitting. Now, when you're in a Planetstrike game and you're using Bastions, it says that templates do D6 hits to the occupants inside. Now, how would that work with a twin-linked template? Would you get to reroll the D6, but not the wounds. Not the D6 but the wounds? Or both? Thanks, I couldn't find anything about it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 05:57:12
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Just the wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 10:58:46
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Just the wounds.
This. Twin-linked template weapons only re-roll to wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 15:01:28
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
scotland
|
twin linked flamers you reroll to wound
blasts i believe you reroll the scatter if you want
|
6th editon slate:
necrons 4000pts 18/3/16
grey knights 600pts 1/0/0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 16:04:14
Subject: Re:Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
TL templates let you reroll wound and armor penetration.
TL blasts let you "reroll the dice to hit" if you miss.
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 16:12:46
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
I don't see the issue here.
I believe you are way over-thinking this. Both rules can easily be followed without any conflicts.
One rule states you hit d6 models, the other allows you to reroll the failed to-wound rolls.....easy peasy.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 16:27:45
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Since you only re-roll to wound with a twin linked template, you can't re-roll the attempt at d6 hits.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 16:35:25
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Additionally, Guide does not make weapons twin-linked. It just let's you re-roll to hits.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 16:40:30
Subject: Re:Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
erikwfg wrote:TL templates let you reroll wound and armor penetration.
TL blasts let you "reroll the dice to hit" if you miss.
For clarity, you do not roll "to hit" with a Blast weapon. It just scatters 2D6 - your BS. If by "reroll the dice to hit" you mean you can re-roll the scatter die (plus the 2D6), then you are correct.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 17:15:04
Subject: Re:Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
ToBeWilly wrote:erikwfg wrote:TL templates let you reroll wound and armor penetration.
TL blasts let you "reroll the dice to hit" if you miss.
For clarity, you do not roll "to hit" with a Blast weapon. It just scatters 2D6 - your BS. If by "reroll the dice to hit" you mean you can re-roll the scatter die (plus the 2D6), then you are correct.
I just quoted the book because of stupid wording.
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 19:01:33
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Happyjew wrote:Additionally, Guide does not make weapons twin-linked. It just let's you re-roll to hits.
And it lets you re-roll the scatter for blast weapons.
But, yes, it doesn't actually make the weapons twin-linked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/05 19:15:17
Subject: Guide, Bastions, and Templates
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Which is not a problem. However, Guide does absolutely nothing for template weapons.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|