Switch Theme:

Solar pulse + transport question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

If a cryptek with a solar pulse joins a warrior or immortal squad embarked in a night scythe, can the cryptek use his solar pulse if his vehicle is in play?

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It's not a shooting attack, and does not require line of sight. I don't see why not.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





The Cryptek and the squad aren't actually embarked in the Night Scythe, so are considered to be off board until they 'beam' in. I don't think you can use a models abilities from off table, or in reserve...
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

ted1138 wrote:The Cryptek and the squad aren't actually embarked in the Night Scythe, so are considered to be off board until they 'beam' in. I don't think you can use a models abilities from off table, or in reserve...


By that logic a unit embarked in a Chimera cannot shoot out of the top hatch, as they are "not on the table". This has no rules backing at all. Fluff-wise you might be correct, but not rules-wise.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

ted1138 wrote:The Cryptek and the squad aren't actually embarked in the Night Scythe, so are considered to be off board until they 'beam' in. I don't think you can use a models abilities from off table, or in reserve...


Sure they're onboard regardless of what the fluff says. A night Scythe has exactly one exception to the normal transport rules and that is if the vehicle is destroyed THEN the transported unit goes into Reseve.

However until that point it functions exactly as a normal transport, which means a solar pulse can be used from within as LOS is not a requirement.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:
ted1138 wrote:The Cryptek and the squad aren't actually embarked in the Night Scythe, so are considered to be off board until they 'beam' in. I don't think you can use a models abilities from off table, or in reserve...


By that logic a unit embarked in a Chimera cannot shoot out of the top hatch, as they are "not on the table". This has no rules backing at all. Fluff-wise you might be correct, but not rules-wise.



But they are on the table(they're inside the Chimera). The Necrons, on the other hand, are not inside the Night Scythe.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Fluff is irrelevant to rules.

Transported units are inside their transports for all intents and purposes.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Jidmah wrote:Fluff is irrelevant to rules.

Transported units are inside their transports for all intents and purposes.



Only because all other transports actually contain the troops they're transporting, the night scythe simply carries a piece of equipment for 'beaming' them into play.
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

As others have already pointed out, the fluff of how the night scythe deploys its troops has nothing to do with the actual game play.

Night scythes follow the same rules that every other transport uses, so they CAN use the solar pulse from an embarked model.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Still, there are no "beaming into play" rules, just transport rules. Whenever any vehicle is transporting anything, those rules apply. Those rules include being able to use powers.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: