| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 03:16:57
Subject: [Brushfire] Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Today I had a really fun game against Gymnogyps. However, we have tons of rules questions that came up. So, I thought I'd make a thread dedicated to posting and getting those answered, so that ourselves and other DCMs can get sorted and learn how to play, and then hopefully get others interested once we know what the heck we're doing  . I know Gymnogyps and her husband were even able to give a friend of theirs a demo game after I left, and I'd like to have my wife do one, but not until I've sorted out how to play
So, I'd like to keep this thread to rules/gameplay discussion only, since there are lots of threads discussing the models already (and Gymnogyps' excellent plog here showing some painted really well). To the rules questions, mine are mostly Vandalands-specific. Hopefully Cyporiean can address each of these  and people can use this as a place to "learn how to play" on an ongoing basis, as different situations come up... basically, to ask the creator  .
All questions are in Orange, and it should probably remain that way throughout the thread, so that it's very clear what needs to be answered.
See the two pictures below. The lancers declare a charge on the shrew hussars. The shrew hussars, according to their special rule, can both stand-and-shoot and flee. We played it that they did stand-and-shoot before the lancers moved, and thus were out of range to shoot. Was this correct?
Hedge Knight questions:
The Hedge Knight has a heroic action that allows him to make a unit activate and then charge / etc. Can this only be used on a unit that has not yet activated? If it is used on hamsters who suffer from Northern Berserkers, does it have any effect, or does Northern Berserkers take precedence? For example, this ability could allow a unit to rush and then charge, but hamsters cannot rush, right?
The Hedge Knight can take shrew hussars in a spearhead formation, but this formation is not listed on the formations page. What does it do?
Does a level 4 Hedge Knight have an ARMOR of 7 (5 from heavy armor, 2 from shield/barding)? Can he attack with the poleaxe and shield at the same time? Does it seem that higher level heroes do better, as the opposing two level 2 heroes seemed to stand no change against armor 7, and only a large unit would be able to get through all of that armor?
General questions:
When applying wounds to a unit from shooting attacks, do wounds have to be given to "whole models first", rather than distributing 1 wound to each model? Do wasted wounds not carry over to another model?
Does the army that wins the roll-off at the start of the game, deploy ALL their models first, and then the other army deploys? Or do the two sides alternate deploying single models, or units, etc?
A few more pictures:
Do Shrew Hussar's "move-shoot-move" allow them to make an ADDITIONAL full 8 inch move after shooting, or simply to interrupt their normal movement to shoot, and then finish moving? We played that this was an additional full move, which makes their total movement 16 inches, so I now think this was incorrect (and it was bothering me at the time, I kept mentioning it felt like cheating).
Thanks for answering these questions, Cyp. Perhaps there's already a FAQ that addresses some of them. I also think that Gymnogyps will have a lot of questions, and less-Vandalands-centric. I'm sure we'll have more after we play again, too, and once I remember some of the ones I've forgotten!
|
|
This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2012/07/17 00:54:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 04:07:56
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Brushfire Errata is Here.
See the two pictures below. The lancers declare a charge on the shrew hussars. The shrew hussars, according to their special rule, can both stand-and-shoot and flee. We played it that they did stand-and-shoot before the lancers moved, and thus were out of range. Was this correct?
Yes/No.
Hussar Pistols have a range of 15", if a model charges from out side of that range (IE has a charge value higher then 15".. which is pretty much only the Lancers) then the Hussars are out of range for their pistols and cannot fire.
If the charger is within the Hussar's fire range, then the Hussars may fire and then flee before the Charger moves.
The Hedge Knight has a heroic action that allows him to make a unit activate and then charge / etc. Can this only be used on a unit that has not yet activated? If it is used on hamsters who suffer from Northern Berserkers, does it have any effect, or does Northern Berserkers take precedence? For example, this ability could allow a unit to rush and then charge, but hamsters cannot rush, right?
It can be used on any friendly unit.
Northern Berserkers always applies when Hamster Berserkers activate within 5" of another Hamster Berserk UNLESS they are in a squad with Arctos Nevsky.
The Hedge Knight can take shrew hussars in a spearhead formation, but this formation is not listed on the formations page. What does it do?
Errata'ed. They just join him in a squad and gain the bonuses of both Heavy and Light cavalry.
Does a level 4 Hedge Knight have an ARMOR of 7 (5 from heavy army, 2 from shield/barding)? Can he attack with the poleaxe and shield at the same time? Does it seem that higher level heroes do better, as the opposing two level 2 heroes seemed to stand no change against armor 7, and only a large unit would be able to get through all of that armor?
Yes, 7 AR total. IIRC the highest armor amount in the game.
Hedge Knights do not get Shields (Heater/Targe), they do have Barding.
When applying wounds to a unit from shooting attacks, do wounds have to be given to "whole models first", rather than distributing 1 wound to each model? Do wasted wounds not carry over to another model?
If there a wounded model in the squad, it takes additional wounds first. If there is more then one wounded model in a squad (Such as from merging squads), the most wounded one gets additional wounds first.
A Bullet cannot split apart mid air to hit a second target*, so additional DE will not transfer over to an additional model. Only whole attacks transfer over.
*Okay, technically yes, this can happen in the real world in freak circumstances. But not in Brushfire's ruleset.
Does the army that wins the roll-off at the start of the game, deploy ALL their models first, and then the other army deploys? Or do the two sides alternate deploying single models, or units, etc?
Both sides deploy at the same time. If your opponent is going slowly about it you can give them a 1 minute countdown to finish... generally just don't be a dick.
Do Shrew Hussar's "move-shoot-move" allow them to make an ADDITIONAL 8 inch move after shooting, or simply to interrupt their normal movement to shoot, and then finish moving? We played that this was an additional full move, which makes their total movement 16 inches, so I now think this was incorrect (and it was bothering me at the time, I kept mentioning it felt like cheating).
You don't get an additional move, you just get to take a shot during your movement. Since you can still shoot after rushing you could move 8", Shoot, and then move back 8".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 05:28:00
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Just wanted to add my own clarifications/comments on these questions
See the two pictures below. The lancers declare a charge on the shrew hussars. The shrew hussars, according to their special rule, can both stand-and-shoot and flee. We played it that they did stand-and-shoot before the lancers moved, and thus were out of range to shoot. Was this correct?
This is one of the benefits of the Lancers with their special charge ability, they can charge 25" from out of range of most ranged weapons, except for rifles.
The Hedge Knight has a heroic action that allows him to make a unit activate and then charge / etc. Can this only be used on a unit that has not yet activated? If it is used on hamsters who suffer from Northern Berserkers, does it have any effect, or does Northern Berserkers take precedence? For example, this ability could allow a unit to rush and then charge, but hamsters cannot rush, right?
You're talking about Bubonic Honor here and it specifically says that the model only charges at Rank 1. This is a different phase from movement which is the phase that Northern Berserkers overrules. If using a higher Rank the wording of the ability says the Hamsters may move/rush, rather than simply charge and then melee. Northern Berserkers would be rolled again if you chose to 'move' them with this ability it is optional. As Em said though, any hamsters in a squad with Arctos Nevsky ignore the NB rule and may move normally.
Does a level 4 Hedge Knight have an ARMOR of 7 (5 from heavy armor, 2 from shield/barding)? Can he attack with the poleaxe and shield at the same time? Does it seem that higher level heroes do better, as the opposing two level 2 heroes seemed to stand no change against armor 7, and only a large unit would be able to get through all of that armor?
While Armor 7 is definately high, the Hedge Knight becomes a prime target as well. Remember also that rolls of 10 on the die for attacking are critical hits and just flat out ignore his armor, and 9s always do 1 point of damage through armor if the attacks do not actually exceed the AR of the target. A basic strategy is to take really cheap units as a "crit farm" just rolling as many dice as possible, hoping for critical hits against these heavier targets. For Vandals, Rat Raiders are a particularly good choice, with their ability to get lucky hits on 8s, all of their pikes are dealing at least a point of damage on 8s 9s or 10s before you even roll their shield attacks. You'll find one of these units in every faction, 'death by a thousand cuts'.
When applying wounds to a unit from shooting attacks, do wounds have to be given to "whole models first", rather than distributing 1 wound to each model? Do wasted wounds not carry over to another model?
Just as a note, while attacks apply to damaged models first in ranged combat. In melee they apply to whichever model the attacker chooses (and the attacker is in base to base with)
Do Shrew Hussar's "move-shoot-move" allow them to make an ADDITIONAL full 8 inch move after shooting, or simply to interrupt their normal movement to shoot, and then finish moving? We played that this was an additional full move, which makes their total movement 16 inches, so I now think this was incorrect (and it was bothering me at the time, I kept mentioning it felt like cheating).
This is a great ability for the Hussars, as Light Cavalry, they retain their GE value when rushing, so you can utilize their 16" of Rush Speed, to as em put it, move 8 shoot, and move 8 back. This gets them into range to take shots and get back into cover or out of range, with little worry that their penalized WS or MT will come into play during such an maneuver.
Thanks for the questions, we always love to hear feedback. Even with the questions did you enjoy playing? any other comments you'd like to share?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/24 05:29:57
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 15:47:16
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
RiTides thanks for posting this, and for the fun game yesterday! Next time I'll have to bring an actual list.
After RiTides left, I played another warband game with a friend. He ordered the rulebook!
Emily and Matt, thanks so much for responding. I'll have to remember what questions I have. Q1: Where is my coffee?
I also apologize if this info is already available and I've just missed it.
One of the challenges I personally am experiencing is with building lists and Heroes. I understand the principles, I think, but what would be "normal", or relatively balanced, amounts of each? I think it would be helpful to have some example rosters / builds available at a few levels, pretty much the same as the warbands, but the next step or two after. Or perhaps an article on list-building philosophies and guidelines, expanding on the how-to in the rulebook, with some examples.
Once we have played more, I'll be fine going crazy and building whatever.  But I think I need a little more hand-holding.
Oooh, question!
For models that are mounted, are wounds at any point allocated to the mount separately? In other words, is there any point where a rider could be mountless?
I know I have more questions too, but need to remember...
Edit - for clarity
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/24 15:52:28
"When your only tools are duct tape and a shovel, all of life's problems start to look the same!" - kronk
"Evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Darth Helmet
"History...is, indeed, little more than the register of the crimes, follies, and misfortune of mankind" - Edward Gibbon, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 16:17:49
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
One of the challenges I personally am experiencing is with building lists and Heroes. I understand the principles, I think, but what would be "normal", or relatively balanced, amounts of each? I think it would be helpful to have some example rosters / builds available at a few levels, pretty much the same as the warbands, but the next step or two after. Or perhaps an article on list-building philosophies and guidelines, expanding on the how-to in the rulebook, with some examples.
I did a number of "Tactical Reviews" for each faction, sort of giving my opinions on how each special ability and unit should be utilized. They were on the website, but the links seem to have been jumbled as we changed the website around so I'll link to the google docs of them, they might be slightly rougher here, but hopefully will be useful. I'll see about writing up some example armies at 100 and 200 resources to help you out.
Ribenguo TR: https://docs.google.com/document/d/11-SSNLzJ2aEX7d8eJkdwryxjNwHGmJ9_nZ-HUkHWyS4/edit
Aquitar TR: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1eb3JecXNtlk6TOXwqG7sQ98ICCk9DAiUewvlKC0ohqA/edit
Zabar TR: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1yDr1oB7GDGPVd24NMwVAfB_5Pi25XUFl5JQ7_eZA3VA/edit
Vandalands TR: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1CvYSEzcGgbDiVa6qs2HKG5BZpk8TUxJDF193_NBcyEE/edit
Axony TR: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1OO9KBGxsmq1BM_ov_Q2dUd8tBpsiRci_2jIVsA1qAb0/edit
Civitas TR: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1DHqjGd2LXQ6IpIr2E7D9yRmcVaI5HygkG9FQBN9MT8M/edit
For models that are mounted, are wounds at any point allocated to the mount separately? In other words, is there any point where a rider could be mountless?
Mounts are not considered separate from their rider. They take wounds as a single model. The only point where a 'rider' could be mountless (other than models that count as cavalry but do not ride anything, such as Devon Brigadiers or Mongoose Legionnaires) are Valkyr Pilots that successfully eject after the Valkyr is killed.
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 17:06:29
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Two exceptions to the mounted rules, (Cyp pointed this out to me) The Hedge Knight has a boon which allows him to survive reaching 0 VY, by losing his mount and barding, and regaining 3 VY (but reducing his speed to 5 instead of the Kiwi's 8 and losing 2 AR)
The Monitor hero for Scyzantium also GAINS a mount at hLVL4, gaining 4 VY and an attack, but having a reduced WS. the Mount is lost after the Monitor takes 5 damage.
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 17:11:30
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Thanks very much for the answers! We did have a fantastic time, I just wanted to ask all the questions (and make a place to do so) since we're planning to play more, and so that I can be clear on things for when my wife joins us
I didn't quite understand the answer about the Hedge Knight's Bubonic Honor, though (that's the only one). So just to rephrase:
If a Hedge Knight successfully uses a Rank 3 Bubonic Honor on a unit of hamsters, can they then rush 10 inches and charge an additional 3 inches towards a model/unit, and NOT roll on the Northern Berserkers table?
Also, can they multi-charge several models/units? I ask because a unit of 10-15 hamsters could easily charge a few targets at once, and it would be a shame if they all had to gather round the same model if the other army wasn't using units.
Relatedly, can large units multi-charge other models / units normally? I've already assumed that they cannot split their fire and must target only a single model/unit in shooting, but maybe that's wrong.
Also thanks for the link to the errata  . I just read through it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/24 17:18:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 17:49:06
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If a Hedge Knight successfully uses a Rank 3 Bubonic Honor on a unit of hamsters, can they then rush 10 inches and charge an additional 3 inches towards a model/unit, and NOT roll on the Northern Berserkers table?
A Squad of Hamsters may only rush if they are in a squad with Arctos Nevsky as he ignores the NB rule. Your other options are: 1) Do not 'move' and only charge. 2) Roll on the table and then charge.
Also, can they multi-charge several models/units? I ask because a unit of 10-15 hamsters could easily charge a few targets at once, and it would be a shame if they all had to gather round the same model if the other army wasn't using units.
Relatedly, can large units multi-charge other models / units normally? I've already assumed that they cannot split their fire and must target only a single model/unit in shooting, but maybe that's wrong.
A squad may break its charge up amongst multiple squads as long as they remain within 3" cohesion. Also note that if you charge more than one squad, both squads may make charge reactions which is perhaps not the best option.
Ranged attacks must be against a single model/squad.
Also note that activating model individually may seem like a good defensive option for range attacks, but by activating individually you are not able to combine fire with these models, making it much more difficult to exceed the armor value of high priority targets.
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 17:49:16
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
miskatonicalum wrote:Two exceptions to the mounted rules, (Cyp pointed this out to me) The Hedge Knight has a boon which allows him to survive reaching 0 VY, by losing his mount and barding, and regaining 3 VY (but reducing his speed to 5 instead of the Kiwi's 8 and losing 2 AR)
THAT is what I was thinking of! Thx
Those tactica are going to be very, very helpful.  Well done, and thanks for sharing the info!
Edit - BTW, not only did we enjoy playing, several people in the store were very curious, and dropped by the table. A very good sign!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/24 18:19:54
"When your only tools are duct tape and a shovel, all of life's problems start to look the same!" - kronk
"Evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Darth Helmet
"History...is, indeed, little more than the register of the crimes, follies, and misfortune of mankind" - Edward Gibbon, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 17:59:56
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
miskatonicalum wrote:Also note that activating model individually may seem like a good defensive option for range attacks, but by activating individually you are not able to combine fire with these models, making it much more difficult to exceed the armor value of high priority targets.
Interesting! That brings up another interesting question... Is it possible to activate models as a unit one turn, and then individually the next? If so, I guess any unit firing at a group of models would do so based on how they had activated the previous turn- i.e., hitting all of them if they had activated as a unit the prior turn, but only hitting a single model if they had activated individually the prior turn?
I personally activated everything as units, as it's just much easier for me to think of that way... and plus, hamsters wreck face  (and the shrew hussars needed to combine fire to do any real damage on a target, anyway)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 18:07:44
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
RiTides wrote:Is it possible to activate models as a unit one turn, and then individually the next? If so, I guess any unit firing at a group of models would do so based on how they had activated the previous turn- i.e., hitting all of them if they had activated as a unit the prior turn, but only hitting a single model if they had activated individually the prior turn?
This is the exact idea of the "Squad Phase" during an activation. You select which models you are going to activate during the Squad Phase, and these models remain a squad until you activate them differently on a subsequent turn. The point of the system is to allow you to split your attacks. But remember that you only activate one squad at a time. If you activate 10 hamsters as a squad on turn 1. Then on turn 2 you activate 6 of them to go off in a different direction, you would then pass play over to the other player before getting to activate the remaining 4 hamsters (or passing them until later in the Turn)
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 18:15:11
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Got it!
Also, did you write the rules, Matt? I am going to edit you into the title since you are doing such a good job answering
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 18:24:37
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
My name's in the book so I must have wrote it! 3 of us worked on it, but I was the lead. Cyp does all the businessy stuff.
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 18:29:02
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Yeah, Matt did the brunt of the writing work.
I'm mostly responsible for the Lancers/Juan, Valkyr/Gotz, and the initial plannings for Zabar.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 20:29:37
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I wrote up some example army lists just to give you an idea. We usually play at 100 Resources or 200 Resources, the Hero levels vary more than the resources, but I find 3/5/10 to be the most interesting to play at.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1UxhL0gTvaLwFbAB_kWIhmOte3Roi8dAmWqMvzEbTTy8/edit
If that wasn't what you were looking for let me know so I can either explain more or correct it.
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 21:22:53
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Very cool! We did a 50 resource match, but I do want to try 100 soon. And I think I actually have your signature in my book, then, just hadn't interacted with you on here!
Will get another game in against Gymnogyps soon, and report back with more questions on rules / comments on lists, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/24 22:16:45
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Wow, Matt, thank you SO much! Those example lists are great. Add in the ballpark guideline of 100 or 200 resources and 3/5/10 hero levels, and the tactical reviews, and this is exactly what I was hoping for!
|
"When your only tools are duct tape and a shovel, all of life's problems start to look the same!" - kronk
"Evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Darth Helmet
"History...is, indeed, little more than the register of the crimes, follies, and misfortune of mankind" - Edward Gibbon, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/25 01:47:57
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Glad that they helped, please let us know if you have any other questions.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 01:47:27
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Hey again! So, yesterday, counting the excellent game with RiTides, I played 4 games total and coached 3 more. I had a couple of questions we just couldn't figure out...
I'm going to apologize now because these seem really obvious, but I just can't seem to locate the answer. Also, I may be making assumptions based on other games that I may or may not have played in the past...
When a model ambushes, what happens if the deviation would cause the model end up off the table? What if the model lands somewhere they can't be, such as another model, etc?
Charge is a different phase from movement... so is charge distance affected by terrain, such as forest, like Movement? Or is charge separate and not impacted by restrictions that affect movement?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 01:51:23
"When your only tools are duct tape and a shovel, all of life's problems start to look the same!" - kronk
"Evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Darth Helmet
"History...is, indeed, little more than the register of the crimes, follies, and misfortune of mankind" - Edward Gibbon, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 02:07:20
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gymnogyps wrote: When a model ambushes, what happens if the deviation would cause the model end up off the table? What if the model lands somewhere they can't be, such as another model, etc?
Should it end up off the table, the model comes in from that table edge the next turn automatically.
Gymnogyps wrote: Charge is a different phase from movement... so is charge distance affected by terrain, such as forest, like Movement? Or is charge separate and not impacted by restrictions that affect movement?
All forms of movement are effected by terrain that slows movement (Should as the slowing effect from Forest or Water) unless the model has some method to avoid that effect. (Such as Otters/Capybara and the Aquatic rule)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 05:18:09
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
To answer the second part of your ambush question, you would stop the model short, and they would count as charging the model they 'landed' on. If they would still be on top of a model, keep moving them back towards the selected ambush point until they have free space.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 05:18:50
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 12:25:25
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Okay, here are the questions I wrote down during our game, which we're going to try to keep doing until we have things down perfectly
When making the KE roll to come in via ambush, what happens in the event of a tie? We decided to reroll it.
We had a lot of unit/squad questions. Models can be activated as a unit if they start within 3" of one another. When shooting at models, can a person only shoot models that are within 3" of each other, or any models that activated together? For example, first turn I activated all my hamsters together, but when they moved they were more than 3" apart due to Northern Berserkers. See pre-movement picture below.
Also when resolving shooting, the defending player gets to choose where to put the wounds, as long as the model is in the same unit and in range, correct? Or do you apply the wounds to the closest model possible?
This came up a number of times because the hamsters with Northern Berserks kept getting further apart from one another. Turn 1, I activated them all as a unit, but later there were at least 4 separate groups.
Is it ever possible to shoot separate enemy models, that are not in a unit together, with a single unit of your own?
Pic to illustrate the next question:
Do you have to maximize base contact with as many enemy models in a unit as possible when charging? For example, do the two foxes charging from behind the kiwis in this pic have to touch 4 kiwis? Was it legal for the hedgeknight on the end NOT to activate with the kiwis to perform a stand-and-shoot, and save his activation for later? Do the kiwis lose their activation this turn by standing and shooting?
Finally, another pic to illustrate our squad confusion:
The two models on the ends with bows had already activated to shoot their bows (they are within 3" of one another) and the center two had not yet activated. My hamster charged the model on the end, which had no choice but to hold, ignoring the two center models. Was this legal?
If so (or even if not) when does one determine what models are a squad/unit? Can you activate a squad/unit and them move out of squad/unit formation (such as charging different targets) as hamsters seem to be forced to do with Northern Berserkers (i.e. can you do this voluntarily)?
This gets especially confusing with the previous pic of the line of kiwis with the hedge knight on the end. We just weren't sure when it was determined what was a squad (start of round, or when they activate?).
Thanks for helping us and sorry if any of this is already very obvious  it's only my second real game of this! Lots of fun, hoping to get in a 150 resource battle next time (this was still 50 resource).
I'll leave you with this:
Clearly, there will be a market for Vitality counters, and of course the ones you already thought of with activated/ran tokens, if you end up wanting to make some
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/16 12:31:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 12:51:40
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
RiTides wrote:When making the KE roll to come in via ambush, what happens in the event of a tie? We decided to reroll it.
Defender (IE The one who wants the ambusher to NOT be on the table) wins on a tie.
RiTides wrote:We had a lot of unit/squad questions. Models can be activated as a unit if they start within 3" of one another. When shooting at models, can a person only shoot models that are within 3" of each other, or any models that activated together? See picture below.
Range attacks go against a Squad, if it activated as a Squad previous last turn (Or happens to be within 3" of a viable squad mate on Turn 1 without having activated) then attacks will hit that group of models. If two models happen to be near each other, but did not activate as a squad, the one your not targeting at cannot be hit (expect in like 3 rare circumstances, usually templates or Chipmunks)
RiTides wrote:Also when resolving shooting, the defending player gets to choose where to put the wounds, as long as the model is in the same unit and in range, correct? Or do you apply the wounds to the closest model possible?
Wounds go to the most injured model first, and then can be applied where-ever the defender wishes. A Model must be reduced to 0VY before attacks can roll over to another model in its squad (And then must apply to that model's armor).
RiTides wrote:This came up a number of times because the hamsters with Northern Berserks kept getting further apart from one another. Turn 1, I activated them all as a unit, but later there were at least 4 separate groups.
Hamsters aren't the greatest of listeners, unless they are following a living god.  Good thing though, once they are more then 5" away they aren't going to go Northern Berserker on you... but you do loose out on the Fear AOE.
RiTides wrote:Is it ever possible to shoot separate enemy models, that are not in a unit together, with a single unit of your own?
Pretty much just Template Attacks atm, and the second shot from a Bow can be against a separate target.
RiTides wrote:Do you have to maximize base contact with as many enemy models in a unit as possible when charging? For example, to the two foxes charging from behind the kiwis in this pic have to touch 4 kiwis? Was it legal for the hedgeknight on the end NOT to activate with the kiwis to perform a stand-and-shoot, and save his activation for later? Do the kiwis lose their activation this turn by standing and shooting?
You can charge whatever models you like. If you have more then one attack, you likely want to get into B2B with as many models as possible to maximize damage to a unit. If Gym put her Foxes in B2B with 2 Hussars, and killed one with a single attack, the second attack could roll over and hit the next Hussar. If a Model activates to make a Charge Reaction, that's their activation.
As long as the Hedge Knight was getting charged, he did not have to activate and make a charge reaction.
RiTides wrote:The two models on the ends with bows had already activated to shoot their bows (they are within 3" of one another) and the center two had not yet activated. My hamster charged the model on the end, which had no choice but to hold, ignoring the two center models. Was this legal?
If the center models were not being affected by the Hamster's Charge, then they could not make a charge reaction.
RiTides wrote:If so (or even if not) when does one determine what models are a squad/unit? Can you activate a squad/unit and them move out of squad/unit formation (such as charging different targets) as hamsters seem to be forced to do with Northern Berserkers (i.e. can you do this voluntarily)?
First phase of an activation is the Squad Phase, if you have a group of models that are within 3" of each other and are the same type and equipment (For units other then Hordes) then they may activate as a Squad (But do not have to). If this group of models activates as a Squad then they must stay within 3" of each other, and are considered a Squad until such a time as they are activated differently.
Hamsters (Without Arctos) that activate as a Squad suffer from Northern Berserker and may end up charging forward on their own.. or attacking a squad mate. They are a special case.
RiTides wrote:This gets especially confusing with the previous pic of the line of kiwis with the hedge knight on the end. We just weren't sure when it was determined what was a squad (start of round, or when they activate?).
A Squad is a Squad until you activate them differently at the beginning of an Activation.
Key thing to remember is that Hamster Berserkers are Special Snowflakes and will almost always do what you don't want them to do (Usually Kill/Fear your own units).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 14:14:55
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
So if the hedge knight was a squad with the kiwis, they could stand and shoot while he saved his activation for later? Is this true of any model in a squad?
The attacks rolling over in combat are only to models in melee range, right? And partial attacks don't carry over- if a model dies from an attack, that's it for that attack.
Squads being what they were the previous activation until something else happens makes sense.
I forgot all about fear, again! It affects friendly units, too?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 14:16:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 15:33:01
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
RiTides wrote:So if the hedge knight was a squad with the kiwis, they could stand and shoot while he saved his activation for later? Is this true of any model in a squad?
If you have 5 models in a squad that have not activated, and only 2 of them are being charged, then you can choose to activate all 5 and make a charge reaction with all of them, or you can choose to leave the 3 that are not going to be in combat to activate later (and possibly charge the attackers next activation!)
RiTides wrote:The attacks rolling over in combat are only to models in melee range, right? And partial attacks don't carry over- if a model dies from an attack, that's it for that attack.
Additional Whole attacks will roll over to other squad members in both Range and Melee, but in Melee it can only be a model that is Base to Base with you. And Yes, only a Whole Attack regardless if you used a Greatsword (4 DE) to Kill an Otter Ashigaru (1 VY)
RiTides wrote:I forgot all about fear, again! It affects friendly units, too?
Unless it says otherwise, it effects anything on the table for its range.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 16:59:57
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Even models being charged can just choose to hold, though, and activate later, if I'm reading this right. The question is, if both a kiwi and the hedge knight are being contacted by the charge, and they activated as a squad last turn, can the kiwi stand and shoot while the hedge knight holds (and thus activates later)? Seems unfair since then some kiwis being contacted could flee while one holds, etc......... so I am guessing the answer is models in a squad who are contacted must declare the same reaction?
Would be a bummer for mixed squads with bows/pikes, though, like my second to last pic above, if only one reaction could be used by the squad (would make sense to always activate pikes separately, then).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 17:10:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 20:22:49
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
All members of a squad that are going to charge react, have to make the same charge reaction, and you do not have to make a charge reaction.
And normally you would Have to activate your pike guys seperate from your other dudes, as Same Equipment is one of the caveats of Squad Activation. Otter Ashigaru (and Mouse Conscripts) get around this by being a Horde Unit Type.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 20:35:46
Subject: Re:Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Hold and Attack back has been reworded for Printing 3 as "Counterattack" now when you 'hold' you are not making a charge reaction and thus not activating (Can activate later).
On the squads in cohesion/not in cohesion this actually can come up more often than just with fear or Hamster rabbling (such as when a model gets killed causing the squad to be out of cohesion or charging into a wide spread enemy squad). If this happens, where a squad you previously activated is now out of cohesion, To activate them as a squad again, you reduce their total movement by 2" (not their speed, their total movement, a squad that is going to rush with a speed of 6 will move 10") And then move them the minimum distance to put them back into cohesion. If they are in melee, and you plan to skip the movement phase, you do not have to do the cohesion movement.
|
Lockark wrote:If you stat it, they will kill it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 20:49:57
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Yeah I saw that, and thus activated hamster groups separately to avoid a movement penalty... I am guessing they are immune to each other's fear but need to go check it, as I forgot to do it at all.
Thanks for all the clarifications guys!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 21:12:42
Subject: Brushfire Rules and Gameplay Thread (i.e. Q&A with Matt and Cyporiean!)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
A Squad won't cause Fear to members of its own Squad.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|