Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 12:48:23
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Greensboro, NC
|
So, now that vehicles have a WS, kharn can hit them on 2+, right? Or does the word 'count' screw him over when it says vehicles that didnt move COUNT as WS1 and vehicles that moved COUNT as WS0?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 12:56:19
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
I can't see a reason Gorechild doesn't hit on a 2+
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 13:22:51
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Of course since he's Init 1, he may not even get to hit most vehicles, what with 3 glances killing most of them.
Rear armour 10 with 10 Zerkers hes unlikely to get a hit on most vehicles.
Guess you put him with non CC squads now?
edit If you intend to kill vehicles with him, anyway...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/03 13:23:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 14:29:29
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
He couldn't hit vehicles in 2s on 5th?... i don't remember it having to do anything restriction due to WS, gorechild rule says he always hits on 2, you roll to hit a vehicle?, if yes then on a 2+ he hits.
|
CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 14:42:38
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Lord Yayula wrote:He couldn't hit vehicles in 2s on 5th?
No, it only hit on 2's against models with a weapon skill, it was Part of the Errata same as it is now. But now vehicles have a weapon skill.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 14:53:51
Subject: Re:kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Kharn's axe being I1 is ridiculous. Its an axe being wielded by a dude with 10k years of practice wearing power armor. But now he swings as slow as a thunderhammer?!?!
On topic, being able to hit vehicles on 2s is a nice change from 5th. It will let you remove the mandatory PF from the squad if needed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 15:48:43
Subject: Re:kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
dionysus wrote:Kharn's axe being I1 is ridiculous. Its an axe being wielded by a dude with 10k years of practice wearing power armor. But now he swings as slow as a thunderhammer?!?!
On topic, being able to hit vehicles on 2s is a nice change from 5th. It will let you remove the mandatory PF from the squad if needed.
The thing is, Kharn's axe won't be initiative one. It has a "unique" rule on it that allows it to function as an unusual power weapon. The fact that Gorechild allows you to roll an extra D6 armor penetration qualifies it for the unique rule that allows it to be used at Initiative with AP3.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:02:13
Subject: Re:kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Lone Dragoon wrote:The thing is, Kharn's axe won't be initiative one. It has a "unique" rule on it that allows it to function as an unusual power weapon. The fact that Gorechild allows you to roll an extra D6 armor penetration qualifies it for the unique rule that allows it to be used at Initiative with AP3.
Incorrect. FAQ declares it a power axe.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:09:56
Subject: Re:kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Lone Dragoon wrote:The thing is, Kharn's axe won't be initiative one. It has a "unique" rule on it that allows it to function as an unusual power weapon. The fact that Gorechild allows you to roll an extra D6 armor penetration qualifies it for the unique rule that allows it to be used at Initiative with AP3.
Incorrect. FAQ declares it a power axe.
A case can still be made for a unique power weapon. I can model a relic blade as an axe making it a power axe, but it still follows the unusual power weapons rules. Does Gorechild have one or more unique rule? Yes, it rolls an extra D6 for armor penetration.
All the FAQ does is changes the wording in the codex, it does not take away the unique rule, even by saying it is "treated as a power axe" does not take away the unique power. Thus the claim can still be made.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/03 16:10:29
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:13:12
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
So, Dragoon, when they call it a Power Axe in the FAQ, that's totally meaningless?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:16:20
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
I'd like to claim that Gorechild is a unique power weapon because...well, it IS.
Sadly, the CSM faq is the laziest written document in the history of the english language and just labeled it a power axe, so that's the rules it's supposed to use.
It's funny in a way because now Kharn actually stands a very good chance of being killed by a tactical squad he charged himself before he ever gets to swing. Said squad doesn't even need a power fist.
|
In Boxing matches, you actually get paid to take a dive and make the other guy look good.
In Warhammer 40K, you're expected to pay cash out of your pocket for the privilege of having Marines and IG trample all over your Xenos/Chaos. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:17:12
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
I never said that, the FAQ does not call it a power axe, "is treated as a power axe" does not make it a power axe. If the weapon is treated as a power axe, and adds an extra D6 to armor penetration against vehicles. Is it still treated as a power axe? Yes, just an unusual one.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:21:18
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
So it's "treated" as a Power Axe, but only with S+0, AP3, and at Initiative, and no attribute of a Power Axe carries through?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:46:45
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:So it's "treated" as a Power Axe, but only with S+0, AP3, and at Initiative, and no attribute of a Power Axe carries through?
It is treated as a Power axe, only with the Unusual Power weapon caveat.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 16:53:48
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Lone Dragoon wrote:MasterSlowPoke wrote:So it's "treated" as a Power Axe, but only with S+0, AP3, and at Initiative, and no attribute of a Power Axe carries through?
It is treated as a Power axe, only with the Unusual Power weapon caveat.
So S+0, AP3, no init mod.
So... its not really treated like a power axe.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 17:08:55
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I think what Lonedragoon is trying to say is that it is a:
S(as user), AP3 weapon with the rules specified in it's entry.
And the rules specified in it's entry are S+1, AP2, unwieldy and adds +2d6 for total armor penetration rolls.
It is not that difficult a logic to follow; the end result is that it is a power axe with an extra d6 for penetration. It just takes the long way because: Shut up, I'm right.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 17:11:10
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
And he's trying to ignore the "unwieldly" part.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 17:32:09
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
no, yeah I know; but that is because he is trying to take an overly complicated route with the whole "Unusual Power weapon" aspect and forgetting that since "Power Axe" is one of it's special rules, and "unwieldy" is one of "power axe's" special rules that no matter how he tries to spin it; it has Unwieldy and he should just stop.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 18:52:10
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Plus side of it being a poweraxe and init 1 is that he wont kill 1 or more zerkers before they get to swing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 19:32:47
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:I think what Lonedragoon is trying to say is that it is a:
S(as user), AP3 weapon with the rules specified in it's entry.
And the rules specified in it's entry are S+1, AP2, unwieldy and adds +2d6 for total armor penetration rolls.
It is not that difficult a logic to follow; the end result is that it is a power axe with an extra d6 for penetration. It just takes the long way because: Shut up, I'm right.
I don't know what he is trying to say, but it is certainly some of the worst logic I've seen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 19:39:32
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
If it says in the FAQ that its treated like a power axe, then its treated like a power axe, not and unusual power axe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 22:12:55
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Kevlar wrote:Kommissar Kel wrote:I think what Lonedragoon is trying to say is that it is a: S(as user), AP3 weapon with the rules specified in it's entry. And the rules specified in it's entry are S+1, AP2, unwieldy and adds +2d6 for total armor penetration rolls. It is not that difficult a logic to follow; the end result is that it is a power axe with an extra d6 for penetration. It just takes the long way because: Shut up, I'm right. I don't know what he is trying to say, but it is certainly some of the worst logic I've seen. It's not the worst logic ever; and at least it functions outside of a claim that he ignores unwieldy. It is Circuitous but Technically correct; Kharn does not have a Power Axe, he has an unusual power weapon that is also a power Axe. Most people will short -hand that to A Power axe with some special rules, which is functionally correct; but in all reality a power Axe with special rules is an unusual Power weapon that is also a Power Axe.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/04 00:47:58
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/03 22:58:40
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Actually Dante does NOT have a unusual power weapon.
He has a Master Crafted Power Weapon
The model is carrying an axe
Therefore he has a master crafted power axe.
(His axe, despite having a name, has no unique rules, and is therefore not unusual.)
Actually, thats the same for Kharn, as he has armourbane, which is not unique either, therefore Gorechild is not really unusual either
The rulebook requires UNIQUE rules. Not just a name or something
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 00:47:17
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Gorechild has the same effect as Armourbane, but not the rule(it is a unique special rule written in long form and the FAQ does not Change this.)
And the Always hitting everything on a 2+ is a Unique rule to Gorechild.
So yes doubly Unique rules, Doubly it is an Unusual Power weapon that is also a Power Axe.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 01:08:24
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, wrote this before I read the BA Power Weapons thread.
Gorechild is definitely an Unusual weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 15:23:56
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Greensboro, NC
|
Kiredor wrote:Yeah, wrote this before I read the BA Power Weapons thread.
Gorechild is definitely an Unusual weapon.
So, if it's unusual, does that mean it is unweildy? or not?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 15:42:35
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Phragonist wrote:Kiredor wrote:Yeah, wrote this before I read the BA Power Weapons thread.
Gorechild is definitely an Unusual weapon.
So, if it's unusual, does that mean it is unweildy? or not?
One of the rules that his Unusual Power Weapon has, is Power Axe.
I'll leave you to figure out what the profile for the weapon is from there(Hint: if you can't figure it out I listed the whole rules earlier in this thread, Here is the Date/Time stamp: 2012/07/03 13:08:55)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 16:48:09
Subject: Re:kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
If we assume Kharn to be striking at I1, does he still make his swings if the vehicle becomes wrecked at higher I? Basically, do you need to roll to see if he butchers a Berzerker or two by rolling 1s if the vehicle is already destroyed?
My first thought was no, as the defending unit has been destroyed. But since Kharn specifically can his his own side, I'm curious as to whether those rolls to hit would need to be made regardless?
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 17:11:57
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
No, Kharn can only hit his own side when he is attacking an enemy unit.
If there is no enemy unit to attack(No models within Kharns engagement zone at his initiative step); Kharn cannot attack.
The same would be true if Kharn in a unit was locked in assault with another enemy unit. If at Kharn's Initiative Step(I1), his Pile in move would not take him into base to base contact or within 2" of a friendly model in Base contact, then Kharn cannot make any attacks.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/07 19:00:36
Subject: kharn hits vehicles on 2s again?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:No, Kharn can only hit his own side when he is attacking an enemy unit.
If there is no enemy unit to attack(No models within Kharns engagement zone at his initiative step); Kharn cannot attack.
The same would be true if Kharn in a unit was locked in assault with another enemy unit. If at Kharn's Initiative Step(I1), his Pile in move would not take him into base to base contact or within 2" of a friendly model in Base contact, then Kharn cannot make any attacks.
Ah disappointing.
Fluff wise, I'd assume in the last case he would just start butchering zerkers like it was going out of style!
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
|