Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 18:20:34
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
so, after first game last night, a few questions came up on how to handle some stuff. apologies if these are already answered, i could not find in the most recent 2-3 pages.
with FOC, you use an additonal FOC at 2000 pts. obviously this means 2hq and 4 troop minimum. does the second FOC unlock a second fortification slot, and a second alliance slot as well? or is it only 1 alliance slot per army regardless?
just to clarify, regarding passengers in an open topped fast transport: i assume that, the transport can move up to 12" as normal, and can fire 2 weapons at full effect. the passengers fire snap shots, and are unable to disembark. if the transport moves 6" the embarked unit may disembark up to 6" away, fire, then charge?
finally, if you have a mysterious forrest that generates the #2 result, mindblood fronds or something, does it affect vehicles, specfically chariots? it only says "unit" but if the unt is a vehicle, how does that work? i assume chariots (CCB's specfically) count as vehicles for all purposes, they only allow the rider to fight from it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 18:23:30
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
DarthSpader wrote:
so, after first game last night, a few questions came up on how to handle some stuff. apologies if these are already answered, i could not find in the most recent 2-3 pages.
with FOC, you use an additonal FOC at 2000 pts. obviously this means 2hq and 4 troop minimum. does the second FOC unlock a second fortification slot, and a second alliance slot as well? or is it only 1 alliance slot per army regardless?
A second FOC is a complete, second FOC, with all the things that come with it.
Not sure about your other two questions, I don't have the BRB handy and would need to look at it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 18:36:57
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
DarthSpader wrote:
just to clarify, regarding passengers in an open topped fast transport: i assume that, the transport can move up to 12" as normal, and can fire 2 weapons at full effect. the passengers fire snap shots, and are unable to disembark. if the transport moves 6" the embarked unit may disembark up to 6" away, fire, then charge?
I also thought about this as I was reading the new rulebook.
The BRB says you cannot charge on the same turn which you disembark from a transport. Period. However, some vehicles (e.g. Land Raider) have the Assault Vehicle rule. Is the "assault vehicle" rule explained in codex Space Marines, or was it a USR from the 5th edition rulebook? I'm sorry I didn't actually look to see which - and I don't have my books in front of me.
If the assault vehicle rule is in the codex, then I would say that the answer to your question is yes. Disembark 6" away from your assault vehicle, shoot then charge. But, if the assault vehicle rule is in the 5th Ed BRB, then I would say no. You cannot assault on the same turn from which you disembarked from a transport.
But certainly you should still be able to assault out of a Land Raider?
|
2500 pts
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 18:45:12
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes to move 6", disembark/move 6", shoot, charge. Since Open topped.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 18:53:34
Subject: Re:a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
1) As Kjolnir said, with the additional Caveat that the Allies must be from the same codex as the First FOC, and its Compulsories are also Doubled(2 HQ and 2Troops). This is defined on page 110, the second paragraph under "Bigger Games".
2)Correct; The Assault Vehicle Special Rule is on Page 33(hence the Parenthetical that tells you "See Page 33" after "assault Vehicle).
3)vehicles have no Leadership; therefore cannot take a Leadership test. The Closest to written rules I could find on this is page 76; Vehicles, Leadership and Morale, but it is only talking about Morale Tests. It is really that the Vehicle does not have the relevant Stat to test for Brainleaf fronds, therefore they cannot effect the vehicle.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/05 19:05:41
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight
|
DarthSpader wrote:with FOC, you use an additonal FOC at 2000 pts. obviously this means 2hq and 4 troop minimum. does the second FOC unlock a second fortification slot, and a second alliance slot as well? or is it only 1 alliance slot per army regardless?
You may use two FOCs, but you do not have to (p.110, "you can take an additional primary detachment). Continuing on p.110, "As stated earlier, taking an extra primary detachment allows you to take an additional allied detachment." The "as stated earlier" is referencing p.109, which says that "your army can include one allied detachment for each primary detachment in your army." Since the Primary Detachment, Allied Detachment, and Fortification are listed separately on the FOC, this means that taking a second Primary Detachment allows a second Allied Detachment, but not a second Fortification. There seems to be no way to ever gain a second Fortification in the rules right now.
DarthSpader wrote:just to clarify, regarding passengers in an open topped fast transport: i assume that, the transport can move up to 12" as normal, and can fire 2 weapons at full effect. the passengers fire snap shots, and are unable to disembark. if the transport moves 6" the embarked unit may disembark up to 6" away, fire, then charge?
Correct, as Open-Topped vehicles are Assault Vehicles (p.82), and the Assault Vehicle rules (p.33) clearly allow this over the more generalized restriction against assaulting on the turn you disembark.
DarthSpader wrote:finally, if you have a mysterious forrest that generates the #2 result, mindblood fronds or something, does it affect vehicles, specfically chariots? it only says "unit" but if the unt is a vehicle, how does that work? i assume chariots (CCB's specfically) count as vehicles for all purposes, they only allow the rider to fight from it?
So, I'm having some trouble finding the rules for this one. The Brainleaf Fronds force the unit to attack itself if they fail a Leadership Test (p.102). Vehicles are completely immune to Morale checks (p.76), but that is only one specific kind of Leadership Test. Furthermore, I can't seem to find the rule stating what happens if a unit is forced to take a test for a characteristic that they don't have.  As far as Chariots, my understanding (again, slightly limited by the lack of previous rules) is that, since the Chariot is part of a unit that also contains a character, the character would have to take a Leadership test. You would then randomly pick a model in the unit (either the Chariot or the character), who would then attack the unit - however, since the hits "are resolved at [the model's] own strength, using any Melee weapons and special rules that would normally apply to hits he inflicts in close combat", the Chariot would be unable to attack, as it lacks either a Strength score or attacks, and Hammer of Wrath does not apply since the Chariot isn't launching an assault. So, it seems that Chariots need to take a Leadership test, but have a 50% chance of nothing bad happening if they fail.
|
Armies Played: Grey Knights Tyranids Harlequins (WIP) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 04:13:24
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
chariots are, as i thought just 1 man transports that allow the rider to attack in melee, and execute sweep attacks. i thought they were otherwise treated exactly like another vehicle, such as a raider/venom/rhino etc.
as for the fortification, its on the FOC as kind of an attachment, wich includes the allied FOC as well. if taking a second primary allows a second allied, then would not the fortification also be doubled?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 04:31:06
Subject: a couple of 6e questions
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Doomaflatchi wrote:DarthSpader wrote:with FOC, you use an additonal FOC at 2000 pts. obviously this means 2hq and 4 troop minimum. does the second FOC unlock a second fortification slot, and a second alliance slot as well? or is it only 1 alliance slot per army regardless?
You may use two FOCs, but you do not have to (p.110, "you can take an additional primary detachment). Continuing on p.110, "As stated earlier, taking an extra primary detachment allows you to take an additional allied detachment." The "as stated earlier" is referencing p.109, which says that "your army can include one allied detachment for each primary detachment in your army." Since the Primary Detachment, Allied Detachment, and Fortification are listed separately on the FOC, this means that taking a second Primary Detachment allows a second Allied Detachment, but not a second Fortification. There seems to be no way to ever gain a second Fortification in the rules right now.
That actually refers to the paragraph before it.
Pg 110, Second Paragraph: "This gives you access to... an additional allied detachment and an additional fortification."
So yes, with two FOC's you get up to two allied detachments and two fortifications.
|
|
 |
 |
|
|