| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 17:44:34
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Quick question I ran into the other day.. My opponent had his stormraven come from reserves and we were wondering if the passengers could assault that turn? the reserves rules say that unless stated otherwise units coming in from reserves may not assault that turn (pg 125) and the assault vehicle rules say that passengers disembarking from acces points on a vehicle with this special rule can charge on the turn they do so... Your opinions? Does the assault vehicle rule overrule the reserves rule?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 17:47:38
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
Alabama
|
Typically the more specific rule applies...in this case, I think would be the assault vehicle rule. This will require more research. I don't have the book w/ me.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/10 17:48:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 17:48:12
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Entering in hover mode does not allow the passengers to disembark, as you need to move more than 6 inches to get the SR on the board.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 17:57:28
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Robbietobbie wrote:Quick question I ran into the other day.. My opponent had his stormraven come from reserves and we were wondering if the passengers could assault that turn? the reserves rules say that unless stated otherwise units coming in from reserves may not assault that turn (pg 125) and the assault vehicle rules say that passengers disembarking from acces points on a vehicle with this special rule can charge on the turn they do so... Your opinions? Does the assault vehicle rule overrule the reserves rule?
No, the assault vehicle rule overrides the disembarking from a vehicle rule. The reserve rule is most specific in this scenario.
And that's beside the fact that DR is correct - you'd have to move more than 6" to get on the board.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 17:59:35
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Skies of Blood lets you disembark even if it moved flat out, doesn't it?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:01:02
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
pretre wrote:Skies of Blood lets you disembark even if it moved flat out, doesn't it?
But also specifically prohibits assaulting.
EDIT: To the OP, I don't see how it's possible given the restrictions on disembarking and the size of the SR as stated above.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/10 18:05:14
7K Points of Black Legion and Daemons
5K Points of Grey Knights and Red Hunters |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:12:39
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
Alabama
|
What if the size of the vehicle wasn't an issue? What if it was something like a Dark Eldar raider turned sideways or a venom? Both are Assault vehicles.
Granted, nothing about 'assault vehicles' states that it works from reserve.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/10 18:13:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:12:56
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
That's actually a good point for a stormraven though the question still stands for stuff like dark eldar raiders.. Those could move onto the board with less than 6"
stolen by ThePhish ^^
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/10 18:13:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:20:38
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
ThePhish wrote:What if the size of the vehicle wasn't an issue? What if it was something like a Dark Eldar raider turned sideways or a venom? Both are Assault vehicles.
Granted, nothing about 'assault vehicles' states that it works from reserve.
Assault Vehicle only overrides the disembarking restriction. You still have the "from reserves" restriction.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:25:10
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
rigeld2 wrote:Assault Vehicle only overrides the disembarking restriction. You still have the "from reserves" restriction.
This is correct.
|
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:25:58
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
You still came from reserves, meaning you can't assault.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 18:27:04
Subject: Re:assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
PG 125 Reserves "Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge..."
VS
PG 33 Assault Vehicle "Passengers disembarking...can charge on the turn they do so..."
Special overrides General or no?
EDIT: NVM I get the reserves part now... carry on.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/10 18:27:50
7K Points of Black Legion and Daemons
5K Points of Grey Knights and Red Hunters |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 20:56:05
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
That;s exactly what I was thinking.. that it overrides the restrictions on disembarking and then assaulting... Though I can imagine that people might argue that the assault vehicle rule is indiscriminate...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 22:27:58
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
The assault vehicle rule only allows you to charge the turn you get out of the vehicle. A deep striking landraider doesn't allow you charge the turn you get out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/10 23:10:01
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
juraigamer wrote:The assault vehicle rule only allows you to charge the turn you get out of the vehicle. A deep striking landraider doesn't allow you charge the turn you get out.
oh how ba would break the game if that happened.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 08:56:49
Subject: Re:assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Not that you'd want to waste the transports this way... but for theory purposes. Can anyone see any issues with Vanguard Veterans assaulting on the turn they arrive from reserve in a deep-striking Land Raider, or from a Stormraven?
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 09:49:37
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, because they can only charge when using their Jump Packs to deepstrike
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 10:16:17
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
For the OP, is the stormraven a dedicated transport? If not, wouldn't you also be running a huge risk that the stormraven and its cargo may or may not arrive together?
Sorry, I don't have a Blood Angel codex..
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 10:17:23
Subject: Re:assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Super Ready wrote:Not that you'd want to waste the transports this way... but for theory purposes. Can anyone see any issues with Vanguard Veterans assaulting on the turn they arrive from reserve in a deep-striking Land Raider, or from a Stormraven?
Heroic intervention writes specifically when they use jump packs so i would say no. Since that's the only way one might think vanguards can assaults they come from deep strike.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/11 10:18:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 10:33:55
Subject: Re:assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Thanks nos/pizza, that makes perfect sense.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 18:09:17
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Redding, California
|
That's not even the main point here.
@deathreaper: A stormraven(aflyer) has a 5" base. Under flyer rules you use the base for !movement! and disembarking purposes. So a stormraven can move six inches and disembark and assault.
And the rule dose say unless stated otherwise you may not assault. Assault ramps stat otherwise. So I guess you guys will have to wait for an FAQ.
So dose the codex rule override the BRB?? Because GW says codex overrules rulebook.
|
NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 18:18:19
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Masos wrote:@deathreaper: A stormraven(aflyer) has a 5" base. Under flyer rules you use the base for !movement! and disembarking purposes. So a stormraven can move six inches and disembark and assault.
Yes. A Stormraven cannot move onto the board 6", however - because then some of the model would not be on the board and it'd be destroyed.
And the rule dose say unless stated otherwise you may not assault. Assault ramps stat otherwise. So I guess you guys will have to wait for an FAQ.
Assault Ramps override the moving vehicle restriction on assault. There's a more general "not from reserves" restriction on assault.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 18:22:08
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Redding, California
|
Just got an official answer from 2 guys down at GW. They say you may not assault because the unit is still under the coming in from reserve restrictions.
Your model has to have a special rule that say "the unit may assault when arriving from reserve"
This is why we have judges.
|
NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 18:23:15
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Masos wrote:Just got an official answer from 2 guys down at GW. They say you may not assault because the unit is still under the coming in from reserve restrictions.
Your model has to have a special rule that say "the unit may assault when arriving from reserve"
This is why we have judges.
Even though that agrees with me, it's useless in a rules discussion
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 19:08:29
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
page 125 "Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge... in the turn it arrives from reserve"
page 33 "Passengers disembarking from Access Points on a vehicle with this special rule can charge on the turn they do so..."
2 ways to read this:
1) page 125 is asking or a statement otherwise that a unit can charge while coming in from reserve
2) page 125 is asking for a statement that the unit can charge that turn
Option 1, assault vehicle does not meet
Option 2, it does... but isn't every unit told it "can" charge after a move?
I think we need option 1, and that would be my ruling in a game, but I won't be shocked if an FAQ down the road says that Assault Vehicles can assault in from reserves.
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 19:10:25
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
A storm raven is a flyer. Flyers must start in reserve and come on zooming. Thus you cannot hover since the flyer is zooming. The only way to disembark is by skies of blood which disallows assaults.
Assault vehicles allow you yo assault when you disembark. This does not override coming from reserves only the disembarkation rules.
Vanguard vets can assault from deepstrike with heroic intervention. This overrides the no deep strike assault rule which over rides the reserves rule of no deep striking since it is coming from reserves.
If a model has rule like heroic intervention which allows it to assault from reserves and is in an assault vehicle then yes this is allowed.
VV are specifically not allowed to assault when using skies of blood from the storm raven fyi. So you cannot zoom
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/12 04:18:31
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I have to agree with the no for the assault. The vehicles say you can assault from them, but they do not say you can assault from them on the turn they arrive.
|
There is no overkill. Only open fire and reload |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/12 05:54:34
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rogueeyes wrote:A storm raven is a flyer. Flyers must start in reserve and come on zooming.
The underlined is not correct. The Stormraven has the Hover type. P.81: "A Flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Flover before it moves each Movement phase. This means that, if the Flyer arrives from reserve, you must declare which rype of movement it is using before placing it on the board."
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/12 07:35:24
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/12 07:29:57
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Again, is the stormraven a dedicated transport?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/12 07:38:08
Subject: assault vehicles and reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:For the OP, is the stormraven a dedicated transport? If not, wouldn't you also be running a huge risk that the stormraven and its cargo may or may not arrive together?
No the SR is not a Dedicated transport, but I do not follow, why does it matter? Embarked units will arrive together with their transport they are embarked upon.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/12 07:44:57
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|