Switch Theme:

Onslaught allowing run+assault?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

I may be clutching at straws here. The tervigon power "Onslaught" allows a unit to run, then shoot, in the same phase. However, it is the last sentence that interests me.

The last sentence reads "A unit under the effect.of Onslaught may not assault unless it.also has the fleet special rule"

Now, this had relevence in 5th but with the removal of running and assaulting via fleet this seems like a huge nerf to Stealers and Hormies.

Now, my interpretation may be wrong, but it that is the restriction, then the allowance would be "A unit under the effect of Onslaught may assault if it has fleet"


Now, if that statement is correct, this may be a way to circumvent the new fleet rule.

By casting this on a fleet unit (Lictors, Stealers, Hormies, Trygon, Raveners), they would be able to run and shoot in the case of Lictors, Raveners and Trygons. Also, because Onslaught allows them to assault if the have fleet (and Specific > general rulebook) this would allow the unit to assault because they have the fleet rule (and also reroll the run and charge dice due to fleet).


Again, I am probably wrong, but on the offchance I am right, Stealers may have got good again, or at least Hormies did.



On a side note, FAQ changes Deathleaper's Where.is it from Night fighting rules to Shrouded, meaning the combination of its standard Stealth and this means it has +3 to its cover save and has a 4+ cover, even.in the open ( and Lictors gain 6+ due to stealth). Deathleaper can.now actually be viable by chucking him at a unit and have a 4+ cover save. If Venomthropes are around this becomes 2+ as 5+ augmented by 3 is 2+.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




RAW says you can use onslaught to assault if the model has fleet.

IMO onslaught was written with 5th ed rules in mind and the spirit of the game tells me that it should not allow assault after running. I would expect the next Nid FAQ to say the same. Even though i am a Nid player i would not try that tactic on my opponents.
   
Made in us
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Fort Hood (Tx)

@slagmar your right about it being written in 5th but if a nids player tried to do this to me I wouldn't care to much because they need it and its RAW.

plus I would love my 30 man block of hormogaunts move 6 run # and then assault #.


Check out my slow progressing work blog Vlka Fenryka 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


There is nothing in the Onslaught rules which says the unit using it is able to both run and charge in the same turn. The only thing it says is (as you quoted):

'A unit under the effect of Onslaught man not assault unless it also has the Fleet ability.'


By RAW, all this does is actually restrict a unit using Onslaught from ever charging unless it has the Fleet rule. However, the basic restriction about not being allowed to run and charge in the same turn has not been overridden by that statement.

Therefore, the only way a creature under the influence of Onslaught can charge is:

A) If it has the fleet special rule.
B) If it did not run or do anything else that would prevent a unit from charging.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Wise words indeed. I see it the same way.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I concur also.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




yakface wrote:
Therefore, the only way a creature under the influence of Onslaught can charge is:

A) If it has the fleet special rule.


So are you saying if a unit has Fleet, and it was Onslaughted, it can make a charge then?

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Davor wrote:
yakface wrote:
Therefore, the only way a creature under the influence of Onslaught can charge is:

A) If it has the fleet special rule.


So are you saying if a unit has Fleet, and it was Onslaughted, it can make a charge then?


Only if it did not do something to prevent it from Assaulting, i.e. running.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Ok, have alot of problems in real life, I can't think clearly. So please be kind with me for the moment.

I need the "rules for dummies" explained to me. So if Onslaught lets you run and shoot, and says you can still assault if you have fleet, why will running prevent you from charging?

I mean Onslaught says you can. To me this is like for DA who couldn't Turbo Boost while everyone could just because of the wording in the DA codex. So in the Tyranid codex, it says for a reminder you can't assault unless you have fleet. So to me this says you can assault because you do have fleet.

What am I missing here? Have a loved one in the hospital, so really can't think clearly even when this was explained to me on another forum before.

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Because Onslaught does not allow them to assault after the unit makes a run move.

It is a holdover from 5th where you could run and assault if you had fleet.

This is no longer the case.

Basically you are missing that Onslaught lets you shoot and run, which is normally not allowed.

It does not override the restriction on assaulting after running.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/23 00:18:41


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Davor wrote:Ok, have alot of problems in real life, I can't think clearly. So please be kind with me for the moment.

I need the "rules for dummies" explained to me. So if Onslaught lets you run and shoot, and says you can still assault if you have fleet, why will running prevent you from charging?

I mean Onslaught says you can. To me this is like for DA who couldn't Turbo Boost while everyone could just because of the wording in the DA codex. So in the Tyranid codex, it says for a reminder you can't assault unless you have fleet. So to me this says you can assault because you do have fleet.

What am I missing here? Have a loved one in the hospital, so really can't think clearly even when this was explained to me on another forum before.


This is exactly the same situation that occurred in 5th edition after people realized that the fleet rules gave models permission to assault after running. Well, some people then came to the incorrect conclusion that a unit with fleet could disembark from a close-topped transport and if they were fleet, they could then run and doing so by the 'RAW' meant now the unit could assault...because the fleet rules in 5th edition said a unit could assault after running.

GW had to go out of their way to FAQ this answer, but honestly it was not necessary because its not a logically supported position.


With rules, you can have restrictions on doing something coming from several different sources. Just because a rule gives you permission to ignore one restriction does not suddenly lift the other restrictions.


So a unit can be restricted from assaulting for a number of different reasons. It can have arrived from Reserves in the same turn in 6th edition, could have run in the shooting phase or disembarked from a close-topped vehicle, just to name a few examples.

If a rule then gives the unit permission to make an assault move even when doing one of the above things, that permission *only* removes that one restriction, it does not address any of the other restrictions preventing the unit from assaulting and therefore those restrictions still stand.


However, at this point in 6th edition, fleet doesn't even grant permission to ignore ANY assault restrictions so the wording for onslaught:

'A unit under the effect of Onslaught man not assault unless it also has the Fleet ability.'

is actually now just a restriction...what it says now is that basically if you 'onslaught' a unit and that unit shoots (but doesn't run), it *still* won't be able to charge in the subsequent assault phase unless the unit also has fleet.

But there is absolutely no permission given in that rule to allow the unit to ignore the charge restrictions that come from arriving from reserve, disembarking from a close-topped vehicle, etc.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Thanks for the explantion Yakface. Just so I am clear, what is still the restriction that is preventing the assault or charge?

So tired, so stressed, just trying to learn the new rules when I finally get to play. No time to play right now, so I want to at lest understand.

What am I missing in 6th edtion that prevents this? I know that Fleet just re-rolls the charge move now. But I thought for at least onslaught it will let you run and charge. So what is still preventing it?

Man I feel so stupid right now. :(

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

What is preventing it is that you cannot charge after running. In 5th edition you could only charge after running if you had fleet, which is why Onslaught specifies that if you have fleet you could assault, as you ran. Now however, you cannot assault at all after running.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Davor wrote:Thanks for the explantion Yakface. Just so I am clear, what is still the restriction that is preventing the assault or charge?

So tired, so stressed, just trying to learn the new rules when I finally get to play. No time to play right now, so I want to at lest understand.

What am I missing in 6th edtion that prevents this? I know that Fleet just re-rolls the charge move now. But I thought for at least onslaught it will let you run and charge. So what is still preventing it?

Man I feel so stupid right now. :(


Any and all restrictions that prevent a unit from charging would still apply because Onslaught does not specify that the unit gets to ignore these.

So it could be any number of things:

• The turn the unit arrives from Reserve.
• The unit disembarked from a vehicle that wasn't an assault vehicle (unlikely for Tyranids, I know).
• The unit ran in the shooting phase.
• The unit had gone to ground in the previous turn.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: