Switch Theme:

Broodlord and Wichfire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ru
Brainy Zoanthrope






Do Psykers get to re-roll psi powers that they can't use, like in the case of BS 0 Broodlord who rolled wichfire power like Smite?
I know you re-roll Warp charge 2 powers if you are Mastery level 1, because you couldn't use them; so it would make sence to be able to re-roll BS-based wichfires.

 Crimson Devil wrote:
7th edition 40k is a lot like BDSM these days. Only play with people you know and develop a safe word for when things get too intense. And It doesn't hurt to be a sadist or masochist as well.

5000pts
2000pts
7000pts
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Nope, it's just bad luck.

(Though I'd be inclined to allow it.)
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






In a friendly game, for sure, in a tournament I'd make it the TOs decision. Just remember that you shouldered the risk of rolling knowing full well there were powers you might not be able to use.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

CrashCanuck wrote:Just remember that you shouldered the risk of rolling knowing full well there were powers you might not be able to use.

This is pretty much my sentiment to the whole thing. Although in a friendly game I'd allow it. Tournament though, you should be punished for taking risks and failing. Otherwise you can just use it to have a smaller pool in order to get the spell you want.

 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

It's a bit unfortunate for the broodlord, but he gets to pick two powers, so the chance of them both being witchfires isn't too high.
And if worst comes to worst he can still snapfire them.
   
Made in ru
Brainy Zoanthrope






Can he? He is kinda BS 0.

 Crimson Devil wrote:
7th edition 40k is a lot like BDSM these days. Only play with people you know and develop a safe word for when things get too intense. And It doesn't hurt to be a sadist or masochist as well.

5000pts
2000pts
7000pts
 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Arson Fire wrote:It's a bit unfortunate for the broodlord, but he gets to pick two powers, so the chance of them both being witchfires isn't too high.
And if worst comes to worst he can still snapfire them.


I'm sure models with BS 0 are unable to fire a weapon...

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Iranna wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:It's a bit unfortunate for the broodlord, but he gets to pick two powers, so the chance of them both being witchfires isn't too high.
And if worst comes to worst he can still snapfire them.


I'm sure models with BS 0 are unable to fire a weapon...

Iranna.

I'm sure it doesn't actually say that under 0 level characteristics.
ZERO-LEVEL CHARACTERISTICS
Some creatures have been given a 0 for certain characteristics, which means that they have no ability whatsoever in that field (the same isalso occasionally represented by a '-').

A model with Weapon Skill '0' is incapacitated; they are hit automatically in close combat and cannot strike any blows. A model with no Attacks cannot strike any blows in close combat.
A warrior with an Armour Save of '-' has no armour save at all. If at any point,a model's Strength, Toughness or Wounds are reduced to 0, it is removed from play as a casualty.

Note that it doesn't say a model with a Ballistic Skill of '0' cannot fire a weapon.

It also doesn't say that under the shooting rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

It may not say that, but it really ought to. Bit of a slip up on GW's part, if you ask me.

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





htj wrote:It may not say that, but it really ought to. Bit of a slip up on GW's part, if you ask me.

I'm not saying I disagree.

I just can't find a rule saying that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

rigeld2 wrote:
htj wrote:It may not say that, but it really ought to. Bit of a slip up on GW's part, if you ask me.

I'm not saying I disagree.

I just can't find a rule saying that.


Yeah, I can't find one either. I reckon that it was the intention, but if the rules not there... well, it's hard to say you can't.

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





Iranna wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:It's a bit unfortunate for the broodlord, but he gets to pick two powers, so the chance of them both being witchfires isn't too high.
And if worst comes to worst he can still snapfire them.


I'm sure models with BS 0 are unable to fire a weapon...

Iranna.


Rules as they stand right now. Snap Fire casues the unit to fire at BS1. For most people that is a nerf. It makes the Blord able to hit things. It is a set modifier.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




rigeld2 wrote:
Note that it doesn't say a model with a Ballistic Skill of '0' cannot fire a weapon.

It also doesn't say that under the shooting rules.


Yes, but taking other rules into account, the broodlord automatically misses when firing psychic powers normally, since we are not given a table for what BS 0 needs to hit with and the most common convention (I remember the rulebook covering something on it) for knowing what you need to hit it 7-BS.

Which means it can only fire snap-fire. Let's figure out where the broodlord gets his improved Ballistic Skill:
-witchfires count as firing an assault weapon, so movement will never let us have snap-fire.
-psychic powers can only be manifested in the shooting phase, so overwatch is a no go.
-Tyranids have no transports that models can embark upon.
-when shooting flyers...

So it seems that the only time a broodlord could conceivably snap-fire is when shooting at a flyer. and since genestealers are all about assaulting and zooming flyers can't be assaulted, firing that one power kind of negates their effectiveness.

Though still feel free to field a nearly 100 point minimum unit and devote it to rolling sixes at zooming flyers.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Page 13 of the rulebook:

BS formula: 7 - BS = to hit number.

7-0= 7

You can't roll a 7, you can't fire.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





SCvodimier wrote:Though still feel free to field a nearly 100 point minimum unit and devote it to rolling sixes at zooming flyers.

I never said it was a good idea...
(and it's over 100 points minimum)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
juraigamer wrote:Page 13 of the rulebook:

BS formula: 7 - BS = to hit number.

7-0= 7

You can't roll a 7, you can't fire.

And what do Snap Shots do?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/17 15:20:32


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

How would they get to fire Snap Shots, though?

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Read my comment above.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Tourneys seem to be planning to allow models with no BS to re-roll if they get a PSA.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





I few notes on Broodlords and Witchfire. They can use any powers that do not need a roll to hit (as BS0 doesn't come into play. That means Shockwave and Assail are fine to use, but Psychic Shriek, Puppet Master, Haemorrhage, Life Leech and Smite are off the table for normal shooting.

Due to a stupid loophole you can make Snapshots. That means when you go to ground (not a fearless unit) or shoot at flyers.

Personally I would rather just run them rather than shoot.
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

SCvodimier wrote:Read my comment above.


Ah, right, missed that. Sorry.

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

rigeld2 wrote:
Iranna wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:It's a bit unfortunate for the broodlord, but he gets to pick two powers, so the chance of them both being witchfires isn't too high.
And if worst comes to worst he can still snapfire them.


I'm sure models with BS 0 are unable to fire a weapon...

Iranna.

I'm sure it doesn't actually say that under 0 level characteristics.
ZERO-LEVEL CHARACTERISTICS
Some creatures have been given a 0 for certain characteristics, which means that they have no ability whatsoever in that field (the same isalso occasionally represented by a '-').

A model with Weapon Skill '0' is incapacitated; they are hit automatically in close combat and cannot strike any blows. A model with no Attacks cannot strike any blows in close combat.
A warrior with an Armour Save of '-' has no armour save at all. If at any point,a model's Strength, Toughness or Wounds are reduced to 0, it is removed from play as a casualty.

Note that it doesn't say a model with a Ballistic Skill of '0' cannot fire a weapon.

It also doesn't say that under the shooting rules.


I stand corrected!

This is... interesting!

Iranna.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: