Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 19:40:51
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Another psyker conundrum I've been thinking about
One of the effects of Hallucinogen, telepathy power #6, is You! You're a traitor! The targeted unit starts attacking each other in close combat. Attacks are made using the bonus and rules of their most powerful close combat weapons (if any) which basically leads me to ask the following.
Say I uses this power on a squad of Paladins are they forced to activate their Nemesis Force Weapons making all their wounds ID attacks?
I would say yes as by the rules they are required to use their most power close combat weapons and rules.
Seems a little shady to me, just wanted some thoughts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 19:48:29
Subject: Re:You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I would say no as it's an optional pyscic power.
It says they make attacks, it does NOT say that you control them for the duration of their assault phase.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 21:08:35
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
It says you use the strength bonuses ap values and special rules of their most powerful ccw's, activating a force weapon is a special rule for that weapon so yes you have to activate them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 21:16:57
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
spongemonkee wrote:It says you use the strength bonuses ap values and special rules of their most powerful ccw's, activating a force weapon is a special rule for that weapon so yes you have to activate them.
Actually activating the force weapon is not a special rule for the weapon. Activating the force weapon is an actual expenditure of a warp charge, in other words it's a psychic power given to the psyker by a force weapon, not a power of the weapon. Hallucination does not allow the unit to activate a psychic power. Even though the weapon itself has the force rule, and it uses that rule, the psyker is given no permission to take a psychic test. That same group of grey knights are not forced to cast hammer hand, are they?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/17 21:17:43
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 21:43:53
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
spongemonkee wrote:It says you use the strength bonuses ap values and special rules of their most powerful ccw's, activating a force weapon is a special rule for that weapon so yes you have to activate them.
Reread the force weapon rules, and note they grant a psychic power to the bearer. The WEAPON does not take psychic checks, after all
This is the same as MSS, adn the same answer applies: You cannot force them to activate their forceweapons
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 21:45:14
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
The power gives you permission to use a weapons special rule, this means you can force weapon things down. A hit is reference to a normal CC wound. Hallucination gives enough permission to do anything the unit can do with it's weapons.
You can't force anything other than stuff related to a hit from a CC attack, you aren't given permission to control a unit as per puppet master, but in reference puppet master allows you to fire a ranged weapon, and psykic powers can be ranged weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 01:02:42
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If a non-Psyker was armed with a force weapon (never going to happen, but let's assume for this example), the wielder would be unable to activate the weapon.
The weapon has the 'force' rule, but that's useless by itself unless the model wielding the weapon can activate it.
So just being able to control a models close combat attacks isn't enough to activate a force weapon, you'd need to control the model completely (including expending your opponents warp charges).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 01:06:30
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Agree with a No.
You can use the special rule of the weapon, sure.
That special rule allows the model equipped with it access to a psychic power, nothing more.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 08:45:50
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
So by that logic Tyranids are immune to the effect of this power as they do not use CCW's.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 08:49:27
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Can a GK llayer opt to not use the NFW rule for these models, if not, then yes, Hallucination would kick them in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 08:51:17
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
grendel083 wrote:If a non-Psyker was armed with a force weapon (never going to happen, but let's assume for this example)
Actually, an Ordo Malleus Inquisitor can take a Nemesis Daemon hammer without being a Psyker.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 10:24:20
Subject: Re:You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
we've had quite a long discussion on this in the 5th edition for GK psychotrope grenades and the consens was no, you can't use their force weapons. You just get the Ap3 and their normal strength. You cannot elect to have them do hammerhand either, it'll be up to the owning player to decide if he wanted to do that .
Now the specific rules for Puppetmaster on the other hand gives you control of the unit so I'd assume you can use psychic shooting effects.
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 11:00:53
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
And how exactly do you activate the weapon when the psyker(s) has no warp charge(s) during your turn.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 11:17:09
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
HoverBoy wrote:And how exactly do you activate the weapon when the psyker(s) has no warp charge(s) during your turn.
Unless the psyker has already used all his warp charges that player turn, he definitely still has them. Warp charges replenish each (player) turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 12:49:00
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
juraigamer wrote:The power gives you permission to use a weapons special rule, this means you can force weapon things down. A hit is reference to a normal CC wound. Hallucination gives enough permission to do anything the unit can do with it's weapons.
The weapon isnt taking the psychic test, so you cannot FW anything.
Find permission to use special rules of the wielder, not the model
Nids - they HAVE a ccw even if one isnt specifically mentioned.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 14:09:10
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Nids either have Claws and Teeth (a normal CCW) or they have no specific CCW and are treated as having one. Of course the argument for the other side is that since BS, ST, RC etc all fall under the heading of CCW, they must all be CCW. YMMV.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 14:12:34
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Maybe but all the nid upgrades talk about attacks or wounds made by the model, and even if the nids use claws & teeth they as models are still attacking and using their biomorphs, heck nids allways use the claws and teeth it's just that some of those are longer and have odd shapes.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 14:14:18
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
If i had to say. I think they don't have to activate it. However a lot of GK players take the banner in which case they are activated anyway so LOL.
|
8000 Dark Angels (No primaris)
10000 Lizardmen (Fantasy I miss you)
3000 High Elves
4000 Kel'shan Ta'u
"He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence, and it was often difficult to tell which was which." -Douglas Adams |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 14:23:11
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
captain collius wrote:If i had to say. I think they don't have to activate it. However a lot of GK players take the banner in which case they are activated anyway so LOL.
They actually aren't activated. You just pass the test. You still have to use your warp charge and select to either activate or cast something else like hammer hand.
I think alot of people still misplay that banner rule.
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/20 15:22:10
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
sudojoe wrote:captain collius wrote:If i had to say. I think they don't have to activate it. However a lot of GK players take the banner in which case they are activated anyway so LOL.
They actually aren't activated. You just pass the test. You still have to use your warp charge and select to either activate or cast something else like hammer hand.
I think alot of people still misplay that banner rule.
So essentially its activating without the chance of perils correct?
|
8000 Dark Angels (No primaris)
10000 Lizardmen (Fantasy I miss you)
3000 High Elves
4000 Kel'shan Ta'u
"He attacked everything in life with a mix of extraordinary genius and naive incompetence, and it was often difficult to tell which was which." -Douglas Adams |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/20 15:22:47
Subject: You! You're a traitor! and Force Weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yes.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|