Switch Theme:

Chaos Daemons: Soul Devour  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Barpharanges







The upgrade Soul Devour gives your Daemon a Power Weapon, does this mean a Lord of Change could have a Power Maul, Axe, Sword or Hal-bard's abilities if it was modeled to have the appearance of one? The FAQ doesn't state this, so I'd thought I'd ask Dakka's opinion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/19 12:09:35


The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy.  
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

By the wording you've given alone, absolutely. It's no different rules-wise to being able to choose for, say, a Space Marine Captain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/19 13:36:08


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer




Shure why not.
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

undertow wrote:I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.


No, now it means you look at the model to determine the type of power weapon it is equipped with.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Barpharanges







undertow wrote:I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.


Yes, there are four types of Power Weapon, Hal-Bard, Lance, Sword and Axe.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/19 15:19:45


The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy.  
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

Happyjew wrote:
undertow wrote:I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.


No, now it means you look at the model to determine the type of power weapon it is equipped with.
But the model isn't actually equipped with a power weapon, it just 'count as' equipped. I don't think it's justifiable to use rules for a power maul or axe.

With that said, I do realize that it's a grey area and I'm not really interested in a 5 page debate on what 'counts as' actually means. I would allow my opponent to use the rule the way you're describing, but not without a certain amount of eye-rolling.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in gb
Barpharanges







In all respects, when a model is described as being equipped with a general power weapon, it does not mean 'Power Sword', I'd gain the armour ignoring bonus for simply being a MC if I was to use it with Kairos or a DP, but it would simply allow me to use it's strength or initiative bonus.

The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy.  
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




undertow wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
undertow wrote:I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.


No, now it means you look at the model to determine the type of power weapon it is equipped with.
But the model isn't actually equipped with a power weapon, it just 'count as' equipped. I don't think it's justifiable to use rules for a power maul or axe.

With that said, I do realize that it's a grey area and I'm not really interested in a 5 page debate on what 'counts as' actually means. I would allow my opponent to use the rule the way you're describing, but not without a certain amount of eye-rolling.


The only problem with that is what power weapon does he "count as" having? It has no additional special rules, so we can't just rule that he has an unusual power weapon.
   
Made in gb
Barpharanges







Well, we'll just have to wait till GW releases an FAQ, or debate further.

The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy.  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

SCvodimier wrote:
undertow wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
undertow wrote:I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.


No, now it means you look at the model to determine the type of power weapon it is equipped with.
But the model isn't actually equipped with a power weapon, it just 'count as' equipped. I don't think it's justifiable to use rules for a power maul or axe.

With that said, I do realize that it's a grey area and I'm not really interested in a 5 page debate on what 'counts as' actually means. I would allow my opponent to use the rule the way you're describing, but not without a certain amount of eye-rolling.


The only problem with that is what power weapon does he "count as" having? It has no additional special rules, so we can't just rule that he has an unusual power weapon.

Actually, the BRB says to look at the weapon. If it looks like sword/dagger, then it counts as a power sword. If it looks like an axe/halberd, then it's a power axe. If it looks like a spear/lance, then it's a power lance. And if it looks like a mace or staff (or any other blunt weapon), then it counts as a power maul.

So by RAW, soul devourer on chaos daemon FMc's have just gotten much, much better.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




jy2 wrote:
SCvodimier wrote:
undertow wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
undertow wrote:I don't think I agree with this. The text says 'the Daemon counts as armed with a power weapon'. At the time this was written, that only meant that CC attacks ignored armor. Now it means they are AP3.

I would probably roll my eyes at anyone that tried to pull this in a game, but I don't think I'd fight it that hard.


No, now it means you look at the model to determine the type of power weapon it is equipped with.
But the model isn't actually equipped with a power weapon, it just 'count as' equipped. I don't think it's justifiable to use rules for a power maul or axe.

With that said, I do realize that it's a grey area and I'm not really interested in a 5 page debate on what 'counts as' actually means. I would allow my opponent to use the rule the way you're describing, but not without a certain amount of eye-rolling.


The only problem with that is what power weapon does he "count as" having? It has no additional special rules, so we can't just rule that he has an unusual power weapon.

Actually, the BRB says to look at the weapon. If it looks like sword/dagger, then it counts as a power sword. If it looks like an axe/halberd, then it's a power axe. If it looks like a spear/lance, then it's a power lance. And if it looks like a mace or staff (or any other blunt weapon), then it counts as a power maul.

So by RAW, soul devourer on chaos daemon FMc's have just gotten much, much better.



Yes, my question was in response to him just saying "it counts as a power weapon, that's it"
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

I'd love to see a FAQ on this and many other issues. In the meantime, I'm happy to play it the way everyone seems to be interpreting the rule. I run Fateweaver, so +2 S would be nice on him.

Assuming that Soul Devourer lets us use the weapon as modeled, does the +2 S from having a power maul apply to Vector Strikes? I would say no, as it's a modifier.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





blood reaper wrote:Yes, there are four types of Power Weapon, Hal-Bard, Lance, Sword and Axe.


Types of Power Weapons
Power weapons come in all shapes and sizes, but for the purposes of our game, we have four simple categories of power weapons: power axes, power mauls, power swords and power lances.

Also, it's spelled "Halberd"

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rigeld2 wrote:Also, it's spelled "Halberd"


Next you are going to tell me it's spelled Monkey, not Mon-Keigh.

Just kidding, I know the proper spelling is F-O-O-D.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Barpharanges







rigeld2 wrote:
blood reaper wrote:Yes, there are four types of Power Weapon, Hal-Bard, Lance, Sword and Axe.


Types of Power Weapons
Power weapons come in all shapes and sizes, but for the purposes of our game, we have four simple categories of power weapons: power axes, power mauls, power swords and power lances.

Also, it's spelled "Halberd"


My spell checker seems to not recognize it, I have no idea why.

The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy.  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

undertow wrote:I'd love to see a FAQ on this and many other issues. In the meantime, I'm happy to play it the way everyone seems to be interpreting the rule. I run Fateweaver, so +2 S would be nice on him.

Assuming that Soul Devourer lets us use the weapon as modeled, does the +2 S from having a power maul apply to Vector Strikes? I would say no, as it's a modifier.

Yeah, it seems kind of cheesy to me, and I wouldn't play it as such if my opponent wasn't comfortable with it.

I'd probably say no to vector strikes as well, but here's something that bothers me...does Unholy Might not apply as well?


6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in gb
Barpharanges







Yeah, because if it is, DP's are strength 8....

The biggest indicator someone is a loser is them complaining about 3d printers or piracy.  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Considering MCs are AP2 by default, RAW this actually makes them AP3 and is therefore a pretty heft nerf.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Testify wrote:Considering MCs are AP2 by default, RAW this actually makes them AP3 and is therefore a pretty heft nerf.

Wrong. Smash overrides any special weapon AP unless it's AP1.
All of the close combat attacks, except Hammer of Wrath Attacks, of a model with this special rule are resolved at AP2 (unless it's attacking with an AP1 weapon).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

jy2 wrote:
undertow wrote:I'd love to see a FAQ on this and many other issues. In the meantime, I'm happy to play it the way everyone seems to be interpreting the rule. I run Fateweaver, so +2 S would be nice on him.

Assuming that Soul Devourer lets us use the weapon as modeled, does the +2 S from having a power maul apply to Vector Strikes? I would say no, as it's a modifier.

Yeah, it seems kind of cheesy to me, and I wouldn't play it as such if my opponent wasn't comfortable with it.

I'd probably say no to vector strikes as well, but here's something that bothers me...does Unholy Might not apply as well?
I've been playing that it does affect it, because it's a change to the model's statline that it permanent. Things like Furious Charge wouldn't apply.

I'm happy to be proved wrong on this however.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
Testify wrote:Considering MCs are AP2 by default, RAW this actually makes them AP3 and is therefore a pretty heft nerf.

Wrong. Smash overrides any special weapon AP unless it's AP1.
All of the close combat attacks, except Hammer of Wrath Attacks, of a model with this special rule are resolved at AP2 (unless it's attacking with an AP1 weapon).

That explains why people were trying to claim Lord of Change essentially gets +2 strength for free.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

undertow wrote:
jy2 wrote:
undertow wrote:I'd love to see a FAQ on this and many other issues. In the meantime, I'm happy to play it the way everyone seems to be interpreting the rule. I run Fateweaver, so +2 S would be nice on him.

Assuming that Soul Devourer lets us use the weapon as modeled, does the +2 S from having a power maul apply to Vector Strikes? I would say no, as it's a modifier.

Yeah, it seems kind of cheesy to me, and I wouldn't play it as such if my opponent wasn't comfortable with it.

I'd probably say no to vector strikes as well, but here's something that bothers me...does Unholy Might not apply as well?
I've been playing that it does affect it, because it's a change to the model's statline that it permanent. Things like Furious Charge wouldn't apply.

I'm happy to be proved wrong on this however.

Yeah, that's my thinking as well.

Permanent changes, like Unholy Might and Soul Devourer, should count towards vector strike because it basically makes their stat permanent.

However, temporary modifiers like Smash, Furious Charge, psychic power Iron Arm, etc. should not count.

However, it is not quite crystal clear and will need a FAQ IMO.



Testify wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Testify wrote:Considering MCs are AP2 by default, RAW this actually makes them AP3 and is therefore a pretty heft nerf.

Wrong. Smash overrides any special weapon AP unless it's AP1.
All of the close combat attacks, except Hammer of Wrath Attacks, of a model with this special rule are resolved at AP2 (unless it's attacking with an AP1 weapon).

That explains why people were trying to claim Lord of Change essentially gets +2 strength for free.

Don't forget concussive.

Yeah, it may seem cheesy, but it's something people are going to have to get used to as they transition from 5E to 6E....that some units do get intentionally buffed and others (i.e. khorne units with hellblades) get nerfed.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

So, what is the verdict for Soul Devourer on a Herald?

My guess is that people would have no problem applying this as an unusual power weapon because it is a "normal" sized model. If it applies to the Herald, it should apply to the LoC.

 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




But you can't just call it an unusual power weapon, because soul devour has no other special rules beyond being a power weapon. If you are fine with str as User ap3, then just say it's a power sword.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Green is Best! wrote:So, what is the verdict for Soul Devourer on a Herald?

My guess is that people would have no problem applying this as an unusual power weapon because it is a "normal" sized model. If it applies to the Herald, it should apply to the LoC.

Soul Devourer "counts as" a power weapon. It's actually impossible to model it onto a model so it can be whatever you like.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

Testify wrote:
Green is Best! wrote:So, what is the verdict for Soul Devourer on a Herald?

My guess is that people would have no problem applying this as an unusual power weapon because it is a "normal" sized model. If it applies to the Herald, it should apply to the LoC.

Soul Devourer "counts as" a power weapon. It's actually impossible to model it onto a model so it can be whatever you like.
Right, but I assume the argument is that 'counts as' means 'uses all the rules for'. And since the Lord of Change and Fateweaver are each armed with a staff, then it uses the rules for a power maul. It's a bit sketchy, but this way seems to be the way the majority of posters are interpreting this to work.

In any event, like so much in this game, it's just about impossible to make a clear cut decision about this. There is simply too much ambiguity in the rules.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





undertow wrote:
Testify wrote:
Green is Best! wrote:So, what is the verdict for Soul Devourer on a Herald?

My guess is that people would have no problem applying this as an unusual power weapon because it is a "normal" sized model. If it applies to the Herald, it should apply to the LoC.

Soul Devourer "counts as" a power weapon. It's actually impossible to model it onto a model so it can be whatever you like.
Right, but I assume the argument is that 'counts as' means 'uses all the rules for'. And since the Lord of Change and Fateweaver are each armed with a staff, then it uses the rules for a power maul. It's a bit sketchy, but this way seems to be the way the majority of posters are interpreting this to work.

In any event, like so much in this game, it's just about impossible to make a clear cut decision about this. There is simply too much ambiguity in the rules.

They're not holding a weapon though, what they're holding is pure decoration. The rule explicitly states "counts as a power weapon", not "wielding a power weapon". It was 5th edition shorthand for "this dude's attacks ignore armour saves". Since that's no longer the case, you can probably pick whichever one you like as long as you tell your opponent during set-up.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




It counts as a power weapon, that also causes leadership tests on unsaved wounds to cause instant death.

The Soul Devourer has special rules for close combat.

You can't just take the sentence about it counting as a power weapon and ignore the other rules associated with that.

As it has special rules, you can never look at the model to decide what it is.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If that is true, I redact my previous statement of looking at the model. I was only going off of what the OP stated.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: