| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/03 19:44:51
Subject: a few dumb questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
so a recent game brought up some interesting things... im pretty sure we solved them ok, but wanted to double check
scenario 1:
i have a unit of ogres about 12" away from a brick of mauarders. between myself and them are some chaos warhounds (about 3" away from me, front arc) i declare a charge on the warhounds, they elect to flee, and thier movement takes them into the chaos marauder unit.
we placed the hounds on the opposite side of the mauraders, then my ogres rolled charge distance. i got enough to get into the mauraders. now, i claimed a LD check to redirect the charge into the maurader unit, suceeded, and made the charge. the chaos player argued that, it counts as an overrun, and therefore would be resolved next turn, and B: that i would not get my impact hits. my thinking on this is:
if i pass the LD check its a redirected charge, impact hits and everything applies as normal, resolve the fight on that turn.
if i fail the LD check and chase after the hounds, hitting the mauraders, i still get impacts upon hitting the mauraders, but the actual fight happens next round.
the other thing i wanted to clarify:
combat res... if i charge 3 units into a single unit, 1 in the front and 1 in each flank, combat res would be: +1 for charging, +2 for flank charge +kills/ranks/banners etc.? ive had it argued: +3 for 3 charging units, +4 for 2 flank charges, +rank/banner/kills... im pretty sure the multiple combat rules back me up, and its only +1 if you have one or 6 of the kind.. but ive had players argue me blue in the face the other way.... so some insight here would be nice.
thanks, and sorry if these are dumb... i just dont play enough to be sure on these, and as ive said: ive had players argue me like crazy and it bogs the games down as we try and sort it out in the rulebook.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/03 20:27:04
Subject: Re:a few dumb questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
In scenerio 1, you would have declared your Redirect when the enemy choose to Flee. Since you did not do that when they fled, you could not have charged into the Marauders. Instead you would have stopped 1" away and would not have caught the Hounds.
To catch a unit that flees from you, you must have physically rolled high enough to get to their final position, and without hitting another unit.
The only time you can catch a unit that would have bounced through one of its friends is in the case of an enemy fleeing from combat. In that case they are destroyed where they stand, not that they flee the distance and are then caught. This is also the only case where you can charge another unit.
If this had been an overrun, you would have resolved the combat next turn, but you would get Impact hits as you were still charging the enemy. Unless the Marauders were engaged with another unit and that combat had not yet been resolved.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/03 21:08:43
Subject: a few dumb questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) As above. You HAVE to test to redirect immediately, BEFORE rolling your charge distance. So no charge, 1" away.
2) For having charged you get +1, no matter how many units. Ditto having a flank is +2
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/03 23:19:17
Subject: a few dumb questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
ok cool. thanks for the help there. that makes sense.
what about impact hits? do they happen as soon as i make contact, or only on sucsessful charges? (such as if i wipe out an enemy, and overrun into another one - does that second unit get hit by impact hits...if so when?)
other question: if i have a brick of ogres 6 in the front, 6 in the middle and 3 in the rear, and i get charged in both flanks, what happens to that rear rank? do all 3 move to 1 side to engage a flank charger, do they split up (2 to one side, 1 to the other) or something else?
i know you have to "maximize contact" when it comes to CC and btb... but i think thats only in the "snap in" part of resolving the actual charge...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/03 23:39:03
Subject: Re:a few dumb questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The Impact hits happen when the combat is resolved. And they happen whenever the unit with the Impact hits has made a successful charge. Overruning into a new combat counts as charging. So you get Impact Hits. Ogres will even get D3 impact hits if the Overrun roll is 10 or more as well, because that is also their charge distance roll.
This can cause the unusual situation of both sides in a combat getting Impact hits.
Like say if your Ogres overran into a unit of Chaos Warriors. And on the Chaos Warrior turn, a Chaos Chariot counter charged the Ogres. Creating a muli-combat between a unit of Warriors and Chaos Chariot vs a unit of Ogres.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/03 23:43:19
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 01:44:28
Subject: a few dumb questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
Cool. Was told I didn't get impact hits on overrun. Felt like I was getting kinda shafted. For reference, can you provide page numbers in the brb to refer to when I play this guy again? He's pretty adamant on me NOT getting impact hits on overruns. (he likes to feed me small units like hounds, and have me overrun into his deathstar, then deny my impacts when I hit his big unit.)
Ie: posistion war hounds, let me charge, when the hounds loose and run, or die, I pursue, wipe them out hit a new unit, usually his deathstar, then its " combat is resolved next round, so no impact hits!" :p
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 02:01:16
Subject: Re:a few dumb questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Page 58 has what you want.
Specifically the 5th paragraph that says "In the following turn's combat phase, the pursuers will still count as charging"
Because they count as charging, all things that apply to a unit that has charged will apply. Impact hits included.
This also applies to overruning after annhilating an enemy in combat and not just pursueing a fleeing enemy that broke from combat.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/04 02:40:56
Subject: a few dumb questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
Cool. Tyvm
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 12:13:30
Subject: a few dumb questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
england
|
On a side note if you couldn't catch the warhounds then it counts as a failed charge so only go highest dice again stopping 1 inch away from other models/impassable terrain
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|