Switch Theme:

Soul Devourer and 6th edition  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Evasive Pleasureseeker



Lost in a blizzard, somewhere near Toronto

Good day all,

Just wondering about one of the Tzeentchican dameonic gifts from Codex: Daemons, namely, Soul Devourer.

The rules in the codex state that, "The Daemon can reach into an enemy's body, wrench out its soul and devour it. The Daemons counts as armed with a power weapon. In addition, if a model suffers any unsaved wounds from the Daemon's close combat attacks, it must immediately take a Ld test for each wound suffered. Fail any test and the model suffers instant death."

So my question is, since Soul Devourer stats the daemons 'counts as armed with a power weapon', would it now gain the rules for the various types of power toys? (ie: could SD be a power axe for the +1S & ap2? )

Or would the additional effect make it an unusual power weapon and thus reduce it to simply being ap3 and no other possible bonuses?

Obviously I'm hoping for the former, as I'd love to model a giant flaming ornate halberd on my Herald and have him zoom about on his chariot carving up IC's and multi-wound critters! But I have a sinking feeling that SD should be played as the later, making it still decent, but not stellar.

 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

As it has additional rules (the 'in addition, ...' part), it's an unusual power weapon, and thus AP3.

Edit: typo

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/06 15:16:27


   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/preList/464905/4568643.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/preList/463687/4553696.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/preList/462934/4536025.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/preList/458405/4468542.page


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






See this part: "In addition, if a model suffers any unsaved wounds from the Daemon's close combat attacks, it must immediately take a Ld test for each wound suffered. Fail any test and the model suffers instant death."

That is a unique Close combat rule.

That Unique Close Combat rule Makes the Daemon's power weapon "Unusual".

Therefore the attacks are Str as User, AP3, and In addition, if a model suffers any unsaved wounds from the Daemon's close combat attacks, it must immediately take a Ld test for each wound suffered. Fail any test and the model suffers instant death."

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

It has unique rules making it an unusual power weapon with AP3.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.









Looks like this one's been done a few times already?

Please check the above listed threads.

Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: