Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 05:57:49
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Guarding Guardian
|
Of the folks I normally play with, 3 of us remember reading a rule that says "no unit may assault on the turn it enters play" in the new 6th ed book. We have never actually been able to find this rule again however, and finally decided to see if anyone else knew. On the other hand, we're thinking it might have been a "can't assault on Turn 1" rule, again which none of us can find. We're doing without the rules we can't find for now, and figured we'd ask:
Can anyone remember reading a general "can't assault on the turn it enters play" rule somewhere?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 06:00:48
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Page 125, just above Ongoing Reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 06:06:31
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Guarding Guardian
|
Thank you, very helpful.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 06:17:07
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally. Without a special rule saying otherwise you cannot assault the turn you arrive from reserves, DS (page 36), Infiltrating (page 38), or using a Scout Redeployment (Page 41).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 10:22:12
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Richmond Va
|
Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
|
My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much
Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 10:27:49
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
Infiltrating Jump/Beast/etc. units could do it? But you're right; it's an incredibly rare situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 10:34:04
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
Scarab farm could do it,
after the first farm would be about 20" away
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 11:39:23
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You can also do it if you go second, and your opponent moves toward you.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 14:58:30
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Cheexsta wrote:Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
Infiltrating Jump/Beast/etc. units could do it? But you're right; it's an incredibly rare situation.
Units that use Infiltrate cannot charge on the first turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 15:10:00
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
I remember in fifth infiltrating exactly 19" away from my enemy's assault troops...yet somehow I was in assault range during his turn.
Not everyone is as sporting as gentlemen like us
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 15:43:01
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:Cheexsta wrote:Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
Infiltrating Jump/Beast/etc. units could do it? But you're right; it's an incredibly rare situation.
Units that use Infiltrate cannot charge on the first turn.
First player turn. Whoever goes second can charge from Infiltrate.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 16:10:40
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Fragile wrote:Cheexsta wrote:Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
Infiltrating Jump/Beast/etc. units could do it? But you're right; it's an incredibly rare situation.
Units that use Infiltrate cannot charge on the first turn.
First player turn. Whoever goes second can charge from Infiltrate.
First players' "first player turn" or second players' "first player turn'? Remember both players have a "first player turn" for a complete "first game turn".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 16:19:19
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
barnowl wrote:First players' "first player turn" or second players' "first player turn'? Remember both players have a "first player turn" for a complete "first game turn".
No, the first player has a first player turn, the second player has a second player turn.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 16:24:23
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That is correct. The first player turn of the first Game turn is the restriction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 16:28:32
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The only sitaution I can think of where 1st turn assault is possible is both unit directly on their deployment zone 24.000001 inches away from each other. The unit doing the assault is in an assault vehicle, moves up, disembarks from the haul gaining 1 inch, and rolls a 12 to assault.
Note terribly likely.
"First turn" = "Player turn" unless otherwise stated as game turn. Based on the wording they mean the first player's turn. However if you are close enough to assault the first turn and you aren't going first, you are also close enough to get assaulted or run away from.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 16:34:47
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, deployment can be 24". So jump infantry/beasts can jump 12 then assault 12. It is possibly but very unlikely.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 17:12:56
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BlueDagger wrote:The only sitaution I can think of where 1st turn assault is possible is both unit directly on their deployment zone 24.000001 inches away from each other. The unit doing the assault is in an assault vehicle, moves up, disembarks from the haul gaining 1 inch, and rolls a 12 to assault.
Note terribly likely.
There has been aq rules change you havent spotted - Disembarking is a "fully within" 6", meaning your base size is irrelevant
Fragile wrote:Well, deployment can be 24". So jump infantry/beasts can jump 12 then assault 12. It is possibly but very unlikely.
No, deployment is MORE than 24", as you must be MORE than 24" away
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 04:46:52
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
Ask the 2 GK players at the feast of blades invitational that i played how hard it is to pull of a 1st turn assault. They both got a near tabling. And that was with a 6' charge. GW was prob wise to not let this happen in 6th ed with a possible 12" charge, some armies can still do it if you deploy only 24" away from them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 04:50:00
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
You can also assault on the turn you arrive from reserves if your codex specifically says you can... like Vanguard Veterans or Chaos summoned lesser Daemons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 07:14:44
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
If the GK Grand Master gave Scout rules to Dreadknights with Personal Teleporters or Interceptor Squads to just move 12 inches as a scout move, and you move 12 inches on your movement, then assault 12 inches top.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 08:46:26
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Fragile wrote:Cheexsta wrote:Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:You can assault on your first turn if you deploy normally.
While this is technically true, you would be hard put to find a way to actually do it (as you must set up 24.0000000000000000000000000000000000000002 inches away from your opponent, and every unit that I can think of has a maximum threat range of 24)
Infiltrating Jump/Beast/etc. units could do it? But you're right; it's an incredibly rare situation.
Units that use Infiltrate cannot charge on the first turn.
My mistake, I forgot about that rule change.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 08:57:06
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rnlmeat0666 wrote:If the GK Grand Master gave Scout rules to Dreadknights with Personal Teleporters or Interceptor Squads to just move 12 inches as a scout move, and you move 12 inches on your movement, then assault 12 inches top.
Reread the rules, Scout moves are the same as Infiltrate in terms of restricting your ability to charge
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 12:53:51
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Land raider, and Assault marines. Land raider on deployment edge, moves forward 6". Assault marines deploy 6". Assault marines roll an 18 for assault with their jump packs. 30" assault. Any other open topped or Assault Vehicle(especially with a front access point) loaded with Jump Infantry can do this.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/14 12:57:20
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 13:04:39
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Roll an 18? How? Nothing in the Jump type allows this.
Stormboyz can manage, as they move 12"+D6"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 13:11:39
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Jump troops have a 2d6 charge range...how does that equal 18"? They can re-roll their charge roll, but nothing gives them 3d6 charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 13:26:17
Subject: Re:Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
IIRC one of the warlord traits adds 1" to a charge move, meaning that it is possible to make a 25" total turn one move.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 14:36:12
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Roll an 18? How? Nothing in the Jump type allows this.
Stormboyz can manage, as they move 12"+D6"
Totally mis-applied the fallback distance in my head.
Ignore Me!
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 14:40:08
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its fine, we assumed temporary brain loss
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 15:43:12
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You can also assault if your opponent used his infiltrate, and your unit did not, if you roll well enough. Did they change the rule regarding Landraiders and Jump Infantry? I thought Jump Infantry could not embark onto a Landraider. Is there something that I missed?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/14 15:43:33
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 22:55:10
Subject: Does this rule exist: can't assault on the turn it enters play
|
 |
Stinky Spore
|
Trukk with Red Paint Job, and Warlord with Coordinated Assault command trait means you can assault from 26" away:
6+1" vehicle move, 6" disembark, 2D6+1" charge Automatically Appended Next Post: Also, is there anything actually against the rules about deploying the trukk side-on up against the deployment line, and then (during movement phase) rotating about its centre-point before moving forward? This would probably get an extra inch as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/14 22:58:30
|
|
 |
 |
|