Switch Theme:

Wolf standard in 6th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





When do you declare you are using the wolf standard in 6th ed with all of the changes to rules for assault now that it has all of these phases?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Without any rule being introduced to the contrary, it would still just be at the start of the assault phase as before.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Before or after over watch?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You don't resolve Overwatch until a charge is declared... which happens after the start of the assault phase.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So I would get to re-roll ones in over watch. I don't play wolves I am asking for a teammate that never posts on forums. I heard on a pod cast in 5th that some peoples say you had to declare it in the shooting phase. I have no idea that's why I am asking.

Now with all of the sub phases I thought it might change.
   
Made in se
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






The codex say rerolls are "for the duration of the next assault phase" after you activate it.
So, it has been interpreted that if you activate it in the assault phase, you have to wait until next turns assault phase.
Therefore, to prevent pedantic rules interpreters, you have to plan ahead and activate it in the shooting phase before you actually want to use it.
This would probably be less of a problem in a friendly game.

Activating it in the shooting phase would also give you rerolls of overwatch, without a doubt.

Edit: the only statement of when you are to activate it is "once per game", so other than that anything goes.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/08/17 07:05:28


Trolls n Robots, battle reports på svenska https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbeiubugFqIO9IWf_FV9q7A 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




insaniak wrote:Without any rule being introduced to the contrary, it would still just be at the start of the assault phase as before.


Only if you want it to apply in the following assault phase, as before.

"next assault phase" so let the banner of cheese go off in the preceding shooting phase where you want to use it.
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Walnut Creek, CA

Fayric wrote:The codex say rerolls are "for the duration of the next assault phase" after you activate it.
So, it has been interpreted that if you activate it in the assault phase, you have to wait until next turns assault phase.
Therefore, to prevent pedantic rules interpreters, you have to plan ahead and activate it in the shooting phase before you actually want to use it.
This would probably be less of a problem in a friendly game.

Activating it in the shooting phase would also give you rerolls of overwatch, without a doubt.

Edit: the only statement of when you are to activate it is "once per game", so other than that anything goes.


This is correct. As this ruling, it waters down the standard in 6th ed because of random charge length. If the enemy fails their charge, you have wasted your once per game tool.

MDizzle wrote:So I would get to re-roll ones in over watch. I don't play wolves I am asking for a teammate that never posts on forums. I heard on a pod cast in 5th that some peoples say you had to declare it in the shooting phase. I have no idea that's why I am asking.

Now with all of the sub phases I thought it might change.


If you popped your standard before that assault phase, then yes you get to reroll 1s on overwatch.
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

You get to reroll 1s in the next assault phase. Thus, as long as you plan and declare accordingly (e.g. right before your standard about to roll tons of armour saves :-p ), you will be able to re-roll the following 1s:

Overwatch (both to hit and to wound)
Look-out Sir
Close combat to hit
Close combat to wound
Armour Save / Invulnerable Save

You might also be able to reroll charge distance since charge distance seems to be D6 + D6 (+ possible D6 if terrain) and thus can be reroll. You cannot re-roll 2D6 of leadership however.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, charge distance is 2D6 added together, same as Leadership. You cannot reroll any "1"s on this due to the wolf standard, as you never roll a 1 - you roll 2 - 12
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:No, charge distance is 2D6 added together, same as Leadership. You cannot reroll any "1"s on this due to the wolf standard, as you never roll a 1 - you roll 2 - 12

Can I ask where you get this from? Leadership is faq'd but the wargear says and any dice roll. Dice is plural after all.
I'm sure it is probably RAI but still.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 00:25:59


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm





Riverside CA

It will also alow you to re-roll your # of Attacks with your MotW.

Space Wolf Player Since 1989
My First Impression Threads:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727226.page;jsessionid=3BCA26863DCC17CF82F647B2839DA6E5

I am a Furry that plays with little Toy Soldiers; if you are taking me too seriously I am not the only one with Issues.

IEGA Web Site”: http://www.meetup.com/IEGA-InlandEmpireGamersAssociation/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




liturgies of blood wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, charge distance is 2D6 added together, same as Leadership. You cannot reroll any "1"s on this due to the wolf standard, as you never roll a 1 - you roll 2 - 12

Can I ask where you get this from? Leadership is faq'd but the wargear says and any dice roll. Dice is plural after all.
I'm sure it is probably RAI but still.


It says any dice roll of 1. GW use "dice" when they mean "die", all the way through the entire book. A 2D6 roll is NOT a D6 roll, it is 2 dice added together
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
liturgies of blood wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, charge distance is 2D6 added together, same as Leadership. You cannot reroll any "1"s on this due to the wolf standard, as you never roll a 1 - you roll 2 - 12

Can I ask where you get this from? Leadership is faq'd but the wargear says and any dice roll. Dice is plural after all.
I'm sure it is probably RAI but still.


It says any dice roll of 1. GW use "dice" when they mean "die", all the way through the entire book. A 2D6 roll is NOT a D6 roll, it is 2 dice added together


While that is all well and good, there is an explicit statement on page 5 that says rerolls that unless specified of Xd6 are a re-roll of all the dice not individual die within the cast.
Also by your logic above D6+1 is not a D6 roll. So MOTW would not be allowed to re-roll its dice if it came up 1.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/18 10:03:24


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Youre only allowed to reroll a D6 roll of 1, not a result of 2 - 12
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:Youre only allowed to reroll a D6 roll of 1, not a result of 2 - 12

So is MOTW not allowed?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Walnut Creek, CA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Youre only allowed to reroll a D6 roll of 1, not a result of 2 - 12

So is MOTW not allowed?


Yes, so is sweeping advance roll and consolidation roll.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

J Mac wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Youre only allowed to reroll a D6 roll of 1, not a result of 2 - 12

So is MOTW not allowed?


Yes, so is sweeping advance roll and consolidation roll.


I know I was trying to draw out the logic of the argument that if you can only re-roll a D6 then you cannot re-roll anything that would be D6+X or X+D6 if the die turned up a 1.
The rules only limit re-rolls of XD6 using the wolf banner, the others are free and clear in my mind.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

nosferatu1001 wrote:
insaniak wrote:Without any rule being introduced to the contrary, it would still just be at the start of the assault phase as before.


Only if you want it to apply in the following assault phase, as before.

Yeah, that's my bad... Locally, we appear to have slid into the habit of just activating it when the unit charges or is charged. I should start declaring it ahead of time instead...


I would disagree with this, though:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, charge distance is 2D6 added together, same as Leadership. You cannot reroll any "1"s on this due to the wolf standard, as you never roll a 1 - you roll 2 - 12

The standard allows you to re-roll any dice rolls of 1. You are applying those dice rolls together, but if either of them is a 1, you still have dice on the table that rolled a 1.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Insaniak - yet you cannot reroll a Ld test, as the result of the test is 2 - 12. The result of an ASsault move is 2 - 12".

ABsolutely no difference in the two
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Insaniak - yet you cannot reroll a Ld test, as the result of the test is 2 - 12. The result of an ASsault move is 2 - 12".

That's the reasoning that they gave for not re-rolling Ld in the 5th edition FAQ... although I would also disagree with that reasoning. The result of the test is 2-12... but the result of the roll was 1-6 each on two dice.

Note that the reasoning for the 'No' is no longer present in the FAQ. It now just says 'No'.



Although on reviewing the 'Rerolls' section in the new rulebook, I would guess that they removed the explanation on the assumption that this would be covered by the rule that says that if you are re-rolling 2D6 or 3D6 rolls, you have to re-roll all of the dice unless specified otherwise... and so they thought the explanation in the FAQ would just be redundant and confusing.

Alternatively, you could take the fact that the Standard specifically allows you to re-roll dice that roll a 1 as specific enough to only re-roll single dice, in which case the fact that they removed the explanation from the FAQ is proof that they realised that it was bogus reasoning and so the 'No' on the Ld re-roll is nothing more than a 'No' on re-rolling Ld. Re-rolling dice that are part of a charge roll would therefore be fine.

 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit





Dayton, TN

I think motw would be acceptable to reroll as well due to the fact your only rolling a single die. Sure you add +1 to the number but the die still can land on a 1.

Click the images to see my armies!


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: