Switch Theme:

can you fire a flamer at "nothing"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Implacable Skitarii





question came up in my last game:

Can a flamer be fired just for gaks and giggles? or does it have to reach the targeted unit?

The reason I ask is for vehicles (read: leman russ) with a hull heavy flamer.

If an enemy unit is directly in front of the russ, and the russ chooses to shoot over their heads at some other target, can it fire the flamer (AT its intended target but INTO the unit at point blank)?

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




If you're out of range of your target unit, you don't shoot at all.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Legally, yes as you have to fire the template to see if what it hits. It just happens to miss the target bu hit the secondary. Same thing as when a template over fires and hit an enemy unit behind the target unit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pyrian wrote:
If you're out of range of your target unit, you don't shoot at all.


The Main gun is in range so the tank does shoot. Template have to be placed to see what they hit, so they fire and see.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/24 20:25:27


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Nope it isn't the same thing. If you can't hit your primary target with a flamer you can't fire it. The rules allow you to scatter onto a different target but flamers don't scatter.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






barnowl wrote:
Legally, yes as you have to fire the template to see if what it hits. It just happens to miss the target bu hit the secondary. Same thing as when a template over fires and hit an enemy unit behind the target unit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pyrian wrote:
If you're out of range of your target unit, you don't shoot at all.


The Main gun is in range so the tank does shoot. Template have to be placed to see what they hit, so they fire and see.


Yep, gets placed, but if it hits no models in the target unit(because it is, y'know, out of range) then it defaults to the rules for weapons being out of range: no shots are fired.

Placing the template is the same as checking the range, since the range is template.

You can over fire, you can hit an intervening unit, in both cases you can only hit those units so long as you have as many models from the target unit as possible.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




barnowl wrote:
The Main gun is in range so the tank does shoot.
Range is checked on a weapon-by-weapon basis. You don't get to fire your heavy bolter just because your battlecannon is in range! Same with the heavy flamer.

barnowl wrote:
Template have to be placed to see what they hit, so they fire and see.
You don't get to check what you hit until you're already determined to be in range of your target. The template rules do not modify this rule.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





So if you have a vehicle mounted flamer and declare a shot at a vehicle 36" away, the flamer misses, but then can you still activate the searchlights?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kevlar wrote:
So if you have a vehicle mounted flamer and declare a shot at a vehicle 36" away, the flamer misses, but then can you still activate the searchlights?

No. The searchlight is used after firing the vehicle's weapons. If a weapon is out of range, it doesn't fire.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I wish searchlight rules didn't change so often.

...I swear, reading the searchlight rules, it looks like a vehicle has to fire ALL its weapons to activate the searchlight. I.e., if one sponson is out of LOS of its target, no searchlight for you. ...That can't be right.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Pyrian wrote:
You don't get to check what you hit until you're already determined to be in range of your target. The template rules do not modify this rule.


It has to, otherwise you could never fire the flamer. The range is the template, you have to put it down to see if you are in range. If you cannot check that until you know you are in range then you can't fire anything because you cannot check its range. Once in range you have to position it to hit as many models as possible. If you are not in range you do not fire.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
I wish searchlight rules didn't change so often.

...I swear, reading the searchlight rules, it looks like a vehicle has to fire ALL its weapons to activate the searchlight. I.e., if one sponson is out of LOS of its target, no searchlight for you. ...That can't be right.


Its not, it means that you cannot fire any further weapons from the vehicle with the searchlight. The vehicle shooting cannot gain the benefit from its own searchlight, that turn.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Fragile wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
I wish searchlight rules didn't change so often.

...I swear, reading the searchlight rules, it looks like a vehicle has to fire ALL its weapons to activate the searchlight. I.e., if one sponson is out of LOS of its target, no searchlight for you. ...That can't be right.


Its not, it means that you cannot fire any further weapons from the vehicle with the searchlight. The vehicle shooting cannot gain the benefit from its own searchlight, that turn.


This makes more sense and is still supported by the rules.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Captain Antivas wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
You don't get to check what you hit until you're already determined to be in range of your target. The template rules do not modify this rule.


It has to, otherwise you could never fire the flamer. The range is the template, you have to put it down to see if you are in range. If you cannot check that until you know you are in range then you can't fire anything because you cannot check its range. Once in range you have to position it to hit as many models as possible. If you are not in range you do not fire.

Not true. You can place the template, check range, then remove it before counting hits.
Nothing in the template rules overrides the need to be in range of your target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/25 14:01:05


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

rigeld2 wrote:
 Captain Antivas wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
You don't get to check what you hit until you're already determined to be in range of your target. The template rules do not modify this rule.


It has to, otherwise you could never fire the flamer. The range is the template, you have to put it down to see if you are in range. If you cannot check that until you know you are in range then you can't fire anything because you cannot check its range. Once in range you have to position it to hit as many models as possible. If you are not in range you do not fire.

Not true. You can place the template, check range, then remove it before counting hits.
Nothing in the template rules overrides the need to be in range of your target.


I am pretty sure we are arguing the same point because I agree with what you said...
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I guess we're in violent agreement then.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Then what's your disagreement with me, then, since I'm arguing the same side as rigeld2?
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






Hiding in a ruined Chimera

Basially you probably still shoot it but it has no effect so theres NO point of putting it in the game

Cadian 7th Regiment (Desert uniform) 550pts 2/0/0
WoC army 1000pts 1/0/0

 mattyrm wrote:
Yeah, I don't have PTSD after five combat tours, and frankly I'd rather get parachuted back into Helmand province armed with only a fething Nerf gun and my underpants than go into my local GW.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Pyrian wrote:
Then what's your disagreement with me, then, since I'm arguing the same side as rigeld2?


I'm pretty sure I misunderstood your point if that is the case. We are all in agreement then.

I thought you were arguing that there was one placement of the template and you had to know you were in range to even place the template.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 FenWulf29 wrote:
Basially you probably still shoot it but it has no effect so theres NO point of putting it in the game


Actually, the rules say you do not fire if you are not in range.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/25 19:08:18


 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior



East TN

I have had a situation where where 5 fire dragons shot a chimera and the exarch used a heavy flamer on the side of the chimera (it was in range) while the flamer did no damage to the tank it cooked about 7 IG in between the Dragons and chimera.

31,600 points
38750 points before upgrades
My hobby blog http://warfrog.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Were the IG in the tank and it got wrecked, or had they recently disembarked on their turn?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior



East TN

They were between the fire dragons and the chimera before shooting started.

31,600 points
38750 points before upgrades
My hobby blog http://warfrog.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer




I would say the guardsmen take some flamer hits in that case.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






As long as the tank was in range of the flamer.

That's perfectly legitimate, shoot something that's only just in range in order to get a bunch of guys from a squad in the middle.

However - remember that you must cover as many models in the target unit as possible, no deliberately grazing the target unit in order to get extra hits on the intermediate squad.

Likewise, if you flame a vehicle in front of you in order to hit some guys on the other side you must cover as much of the vehicle as possible with the template, not graze the vehicle to maximise hits on the collateral damage squad.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: