Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/04 19:04:54
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Ok so the Night Fight rules say units out of 36" cannot be targeted becasue they cannot be seen. Can an indirect barrage weapon still target them, or did I just answere my own question (they cannot be targeted)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/04 19:11:08
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You just answered your own question.
Barrage let's you ignore LOS, but you still need to be able to target the enemy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/04 19:24:38
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Gotchya. Seemed kinda odd but hey, rules is rules!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/04 20:41:05
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well I watched a NOVA game were the dude is like "O doesn't matter" it's barrage(during night fight). Not sure if the issue was it was over 36" or for the +2 on the cover save(center of template). Either way got me thinking too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 04:48:02
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It's tricky on 2 levels, as no LOS should negate the dark as they're just lobbing the shot..
Also as the the cover saves, with 12-24, 24-36, cover is meant to be taken from the centre of the blast marker, and if you hit with the 5" blast, all hits will be within 12", thusly would that disallow the shrouded/stealth save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 12:17:47
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
It should, but it doesn't. The RAW is clear that a unit cannot be targetted by any type of weapon beyond the 36" limit. Its not just a LOS issue.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 16:06:03
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
LOS and Targeting aside, how DOES the fact that the shot is coming form the center hole on a barrage weapon work with night fight? Im guessing you would not get your cover save since you are only 3-4" away from the center hole. Interesting........
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 16:57:10
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Wound allocation is done from the centre of the blast. Determining if they have stealth/shrouded doesn't come from the blast but the unit firing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 17:16:37
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Fair enough
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 21:55:46
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
What if its ordinance barrage can that shoot at 36' away during night fighting?
|
They told me I had too many guns, I disagreed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 21:57:31
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Chaos Santa wrote:What if its ordinance barrage can that shoot at 36' away during night fighting?
No.
Being ordnance doesn't allow the barrage Weapons to ignore targeting rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 22:03:52
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
So if Night Fighting is in effect theirs no weapons that can fire past 36 inches away?
|
They told me I had too many guns, I disagreed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 22:13:46
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Chaos Santa wrote:So if Night Fighting is in effect theirs no weapons that can fire past 36 inches away?
No.
Not unless the weapon allows for shooting without targeting. Non spring to mind.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/05 22:19:51
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Chaos Santa wrote:So if Night Fighting is in effect theirs no weapons that can fire past 36 inches away?
No, but I would assume they could if they have night vision.
Also, a blast or barrage can scatter past 36" and still work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 01:35:50
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
But for a blast or barrage to scatter past 36' its target must be within the 36' in the first place right?
|
They told me I had too many guns, I disagreed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 01:52:17
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Correct.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 02:23:09
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
Then I need to correct my IG using friend who likes his manticore and I think their hydras when I'm using Imotekh.
He was telling me since they are ordinance barrage they can fire past the 36 range limit for night fighting but they scatter full, which he got to re roll alot.
|
They told me I had too many guns, I disagreed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 05:10:54
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It used to be that way in 5th edition. Perhaps your friend is simply mixing old rules with new by mistake.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 13:41:09
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Yeah the rule is pretty clear. Units outside 36" may not be TARGETED! So even if you are a barrage weapon you cannot lob a shot at the Unit 36" away becasue you cannot TARGET THEM! Now if your Lob a shot at a unit 30" away and it scattters 8" farther and hits a Unit 38" away THAT unit can still be hit and wounded because that unit was not TARGETED.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 22:05:15
Subject: Re:Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
Thanks all for the help this helps my footslogging night fighting army get to him unhindered.
|
They told me I had too many guns, I disagreed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 14:33:03
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
TheTrans wrote:It's tricky on 2 levels, as no LOS should negate the dark as they're just lobbing the shot..
Also as the the cover saves, with 12-24, 24-36, cover is meant to be taken from the centre of the blast marker, and if you hit with the 5" blast, all hits will be within 12", thusly would that disallow the shrouded/stealth save?
I agree that the max range is 36". Would you get a 5+ cover save like area terrain, KFF or jink save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 14:47:40
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Why wouldnt you?
Barrage has no effect on your ability to take cover saves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 15:29:20
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
The barrage rule states cover saves are determined and wound allocation is coming from the center of the blast marker, not the firing model. The unit location shouldn't impact this, and unless it scatters or your standing in terrain.. it should be no cover save. Yes?
|
- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 15:35:18
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
But the target unit is granted the special rule by determining the range between the firing unit and the targetted unit, so the stealth/shrouded has already been established.
Then you would work out cover saves based on the location of the template and apply the relevant bonuses.
So they get a cover save.
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 15:41:12
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Roci wrote:The barrage rule states cover saves are determined and wound allocation is coming from the center of the blast marker, not the firing model. The unit location shouldn't impact this, and unless it scatters or your standing in terrain.. it should be no cover save. Yes?
That is further along the process than when you determine the range between the units, which is what determines if stealth or shrouded applies
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 16:06:22
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Byte wrote:Well I watched a NOVA game were the dude is like "O doesn't matter" it's barrage(during night fight). Not sure if the issue was it was over 36" or for the +2 on the cover save(center of template). Either way got me thinking too.
The other part of night fighting is if the shot scatters, use the original distance. so if you shoot something 12-24" away and scatter onto yourself you get stealth. if you scatter into the 24-36" shroud range, they just get stealth. So you can still scatter past 36", just keep the original distance measured.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/02 17:46:36
Subject: Night Fight and Barrage weapons
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
PLEASE don't revive threads that have been dormant for more than a month.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
|