Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 08:23:55
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Not sure if this is right but if so give feedback tactic. On page 15 of the 6th edition rules on allocating wounds it says that units with mixed saves should role thier saves one at a time (the rules are more detailed and it might help if you look at them). Does this mean that my Terminator Assault Squad can hace 4 storm Shields and 1 pair of lighting claws giving it one save different as it is 2+ and 5+ not 2+ and 3+, does this allow me to role dice one at a time. The rule book does not mention whether the different save has to be the current save being taken either so does this mean I can re-roll my 2+ saves one at a time as well. If this is valid its awsome if not please direct me to the FAQ or rule which says its invalid. P.S Sorry if this has already been brought up but I couldn't find anything.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/06 08:27:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 08:25:28
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It does, but... what's the point?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 08:40:04
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
There a much higher chance of saveing the one at a time, try it terminator saves with a back up storm shield i tough.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 08:53:42
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Agamenmon wrote:There a much higher chance of saveing the one at a time, try it terminator saves with a back up storm shield i tough.
Not true at all, unless you're cheating by using some kind of rolling method that doesn't work with the randomness of a whole handful of dice.
The only reason you roll dice one at a time is so that if enough models die to bring a model with a different save to the front you haven't rolled too many dice on the original model's save. There is absolutely no strategic benefit to this, it's simply a bookkeeping rule to ensure that the right models roll the right saves.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 09:03:50
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Peregrine wrote:The only reason you roll dice one at a time is so that if enough models die to bring a model with a different save to the front you haven't rolled too many dice on the original model's save.
Right, and this, of course, is the legitimate concern.
I don't understand the strategy behind including a set of lightning claws just to trigger this rule, though. "Get to" doesn't make as much sense as "have to", in this case.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 11:40:58
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
And a mixed save has to be the save you're taking. So you would roll like a single save unit against anything but AP2 or 1.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 13:08:46
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You must use your best save. So if the weaponry would be saved by 2+, the all of your terminators would have the same save and you would use those rules. If it was AP2 then you would use the mixed save since you have 3++ and 5++.
Honestly though, without a Character to LoS, its really moot to use mixed or same save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 14:21:44
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Agamenmon wrote:There a much higher chance of saveing the one at a time, try it terminator saves with a back up storm shield i tough.
It might seem like that to you, but from a pure chance stand point rolling one die, or rolling 20 dice, the odds are the same. Each die has a 1 in 6 chance for rolling a 1.
I know from my experience, it seems like I can roll 10 dice and make all the 2+ saves, but you do one wound at a time and they fail every time.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:15:30
Subject: Re:Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I think, as long as the die bounces a couple times, it will be sufficiently randomized. If you were trying to throw the die in such a way that it slid / didn't bounce, that would be much easier to do with only 1 die.
|
DS:70S++G+MB-IPw40k10#+D++++A+/aWD-R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:20:52
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Agamenmon wrote:There a much higher chance of saveing the one at a time, try it terminator saves with a back up storm shield i tough.
you never get to roll more than one save, so if you fail the terminator save, you cannot roll your storm shield.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 20:17:35
Subject: Terminator tactic valid or not
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Fragile wrote:You must use your best save. So if the weaponry would be saved by 2+, the all of your terminators would have the same save and you would use those rules. If it was AP2 then you would use the mixed save since you have 3++ and 5++.
Honestly though, without a Character to LoS, its really moot to use mixed or same save.
Its the closest terminator to the shooter who gets hit now. You figure out how many wounds occurred in the shooting, then allocate the wound to the closest terminator. You don't randomize wounds to a unit anymore, or spread it out. Closest guy keeps getting blasted until he drops. Then if you still have wounds in your pool left, you start blasting the next closest guy.
Unless your force firing or something like that.
The mention of rolling numerous dice is just an option to speed stuff up. Like if all the models in a targeted unit have the same stats you could just roll all your wound dice armor saves at once.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|