Switch Theme:

Jump Infantry in transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





From this thread the claim is made that Jump Infantry can go in transports because Jump Infantry isn't really a thing. Is this correct?

SCP Yeeman wrote:
BRB pg47: "Unlike most other unit type categories, 'Jump' is not a classification in and of itself..... Jump units therefore share two sets of rules, the Jump unit rules and those of their base type. Jump Infantry would, for example, follow the rules for Jump units and Infantry"

That clearly states that "Jump" is not a classified unit type by itself but that they follow the rules for Infantry as well.

So yes, Jump units may embark in transports as they follow the rules for Infantry.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

It would appear to be that way.

So unless something is specifically forbidden from embarking I see no reason they can't.



Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Ontario, Canada

well I'd assume they cant but I'd like to hear the argument cause I kinda feel it could go either way now....

I mean doesnt the SR still have the "jump infantry may embark and count as 2 models" rule still? or since jump infantry now have bulky (IIRC anyways) they can go inside any transport counting as 2 models?

I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

 BewareOfTom wrote:
well I'd assume they cant but I'd like to hear the argument cause I kinda feel it could go either way now....

I mean doesnt the SR still have the "jump infantry may embark and count as 2 models" rule still? or since jump infantry now have bulky (IIRC anyways) they can go inside any transport counting as 2 models?


Thats what it looks like.

In 5th Jump Infantry could not embark, thats why the Stormraven had the exception in its rules.

Now that exception is a useless line of stating whats in the main rules.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Page 78: "Only Infantry models can embark upon Transports (this does not include Jump or Jet Pack Infantry), unless specifically stated otherwise".

So, no ASM in rhino.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

And there's the catch

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Ontario, Canada

there we go, I knew I had a feeling it was still not allowed... oh well

I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: