Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 02:55:54
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
So, as we all well know, Flyers must be in reserve.
A lesser known, but just as irritating rule (although I admit I see it's reasonable.) is that you can only have half your army in reserve at the beginning of the game.
So, what happens when these worlds collide?
I'm not sure if it is possible, but I'm certain Necrons can do it, When your army has more than half its choices as flyers, what do you do? Do a few flyers deploy in reserve, a few on board? All of them in reserve? what?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 02:56:53
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
This is clearly covered in the reserves rules (p112 I think).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 03:04:44
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pg 124 has the rules. In short, any unit that MUST start in reserve is not counted towards the 50% rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 04:45:01
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
This was expanded in the most recent round of FAQs. Any unit embarked upon a vehicle which always starts in Reserve ALSO does not count. They use Valkyries as an example, too, so we know it's not just limited to Dedicated Transports.
Remember however, that if you end a Game Turn with no units on the table, you automatically lose. So full-reserve armies only work if you have units capable of arriving on turn 1. Like Deathwing due to Deathwing Assault, or Daemons, or SM with Drop Pods.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/01 04:45:45
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 07:03:31
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
So even though a Raven isn't a DT, they an their squad don't count towards reserve total?
Also, Ravens are hoverers. Does this mean they can start the game hovering and thus be skimmers for the first turn?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 07:12:30
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Yes it means they and their contents don't count.
No flyers must start in reserve, even if they have hover.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 09:10:36
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
Newfoundland
|
Flyers with troops in them also count for staying in reserve. If I want to play air cav guard, it is a option, so long as something is deployed on turn 1 and lasts until the reinforcements arrive. Also, you must account for the fact that if all your ground troops are killed, you automatically lose. (unsure of said rule, heard it somewhere, seems right)
|
Guns don't kill people, especially not lasguns.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 11:27:43
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Correct. This is a change from the new FAQs. Previously, the squad would count against you.
Scipio Africanus wrote:Also, Ravens are hoverers. Does this mean they can start the game hovering and thus be skimmers for the first turn?
Doesn't matter. If it''s a flyer, it MUST start in Reserve.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/01 17:43:21
Subject: Flyers and reserves
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Kontakt wrote:Flyers with troops in them also count for staying in reserve. If I want to play air cav guard, it is a option, so long as something is deployed on turn 1 and lasts until the reinforcements arrive. Also, you must account for the fact that if all your ground troops are killed, you automatically lose. (unsure of said rule, heard it somewhere, seems right)
Well ultimately it would still fall under the "if you end a game turn and there are no models on a player's side then the other player wins" clause. As destroying all models of your opponent would mean he would finish his next turn (if he went second) in about a micro-second, you would win.
The big question is, if your opponent went first and somehow lost his last model before your turn but not before the end of the game turn, would you still get your turn to move your guys to take more objectives or whatever (for a tournament, obviously).
Need to scour the book for this one. I think there's a clause though for 'wipeout'.
Oh, yup, right here - Pg. 122 "If one player concedes the battle, or his entire army is wiped out, the game ends and a crushing victory goes to his opponent."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/01 17:46:28
|
|
 |
 |
|