Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:12:08
Subject: Tally of Pestilence from indirect kills?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
This has probably been asked before, but I sure couldn't find it. Since I'm going to run a Tally / Nurgle list for a change of pace I figured I need some clarification.
Example:
Two nurgle-marked obliterators fire Lascannons at a Dark Eldar Raider.
The Raider is not only destroyed, but suffers an Explodes! result.
Models inside of the raider die (lets say 5) die as a result of the explosion.
Rules:
C: Chaos Daemons Tally of Pestilence
"Keep a count of all models killed by follows of Nurgle.... anywhere on the table"
Do these indirect casualties, aka the models killed by the Explosion, count towards the Tally or not?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/16 00:11:19
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:25:00
Subject: Tally from indirect kills?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I would personally apply the DE FAQ ruling on PfP
Q: If a unit with the Power from Pain special rule destroys an enemy unit, does it gain a pain token no matter how the unit was destroyed? For example the resultant explosion from shooting at a vehicle wipes out an enemy unit. (p25)
A: Yes.
This is a similar situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:25:19
Subject: Re:Tally from indirect kills?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
Ask yourself, did models with the Mark of Nurgle kill them, or was it something else? In this case it would be something else. It's the same as a unit with MoN catching another unit in a sweeping advance, the unit (or a special rule belonging to them) did not destroy the enemy unit, it was a different special rule. Only if the MoN models kill them directly or with a special rule of theirs, do they count for the tally.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:27:20
Subject: Tally from indirect kills?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:I would personally apply the DE FAQ ruling on PfP
Q: If a unit with the Power from Pain special rule destroys an enemy unit, does it gain a pain token no matter how the unit was destroyed? For example the resultant explosion from shooting at a vehicle wipes out an enemy unit. (p25)
A: Yes.
This is a similar situation.
I'm with you on this. A guy with a mark of nurgle pulled the trigger destroying both the transport and taking out guys nearby.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:40:19
Subject: Re:Tally from indirect kills?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
This could go either way, imo. I would probably play it as the explosion not counting towards the tally (as the Nurgle-marked unit didn't directly cause the wound), but I see the argument for the other side (that the Nurgle-marked unit was directly responsible for causing the wound). Needs a FAQ.
|
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:56:16
Subject: Re:Tally from indirect kills?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lone Dragoon wrote:Ask yourself, did models with the Mark of Nurgle kill them, or was it something else? In this case it would be something else. It's the same as a unit with MoN catching another unit in a sweeping advance, the unit (or a special rule belonging to them) did not destroy the enemy unit, it was a different special rule. Only if the MoN models kill them directly or with a special rule of theirs, do they count for the tally.
In this case, the MoN models did kill them if they SA.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 00:08:38
Subject: Tally from indirect kills?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
A way to look at this from a rules perspective...
Firing Unit destroys the vehicle
Before their shooting attack is over, wounds against nearby models / passengers in the transport are resolved. Even though these wounds are not directly caused by the model's weaponry, they are still resolved during the Shooting Attack of the firing unit. To me this makes it seem like the wounds still belong to the firing unit.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/10/16 00:09:28
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 00:12:21
Subject: Tally of Pestilence from indirect kills?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Richmond Va
|
I would agree with Nos. While it isint the exact same thing, it is quite similar and since this is so up in the air it makes sense to go with the similar ruling.
Papa nurgle dont care how you got the job done, so long as something died 'cause you were there.
|
My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much
Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 00:21:42
Subject: Tally of Pestilence from indirect kills?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
You know an additional tie-in with this question, more relevant to the new Codex, would be whether or not a Champion of Chaos would get a roll on the Boons table if it caused an Explodes! result that then killed an enemy character.
Ex: Sorcerer casts Doombolt on a Rhino. The Rhino suffers an Explodes! damage result. The explosion causes an unsaved Wound that kills an enemy character. Does the Chaos Champion roll on the Boons table?
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
|