Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 11:41:33
Subject: Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
When i deepstrike a squadron of 3 vendettas i have to put them in hull contact or base contact? Also how can i carry infantry platoons on them besides embarking after deployement?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 12:05:35
Subject: Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
You assign squads to them as normal. They are not dedicated transports and therefore any valid squad can start the gaem in them. You can't transport a blob squad in them, due to available space, but otherwise no restrictions.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 12:55:46
Subject: Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
So, if i deploy the PCS and embark the Infantry squads inside the vendettas how does this count toward the reserve limits?
Also i was reading the FAQ and i just found this:
Q: What effect, if any, does the Scout special rule have on a Valkyrie or
Vendetta? Will this allow it to enter play in Turn 1 by redeploying 6"
onto the board? (p56)
A: It has no effect.
Does this mean that Vendettas can't outflank anymore?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 17:42:28
Subject: Re:Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
the units that would could towards the reserve limit would be anything you put in the Vendettas that do not have the requirement of always starting in reserver, so pretty much anything in them. You can still outflank with the vendettas as the flyer rules may make one part of the scout rule useless but not the other. I commonly myself will outflank then when the hammer and anvil deployment is in effect to hit sweet sweet side armor.
So in short, anything in the Vendettas will count towards the reserve limit and the vendetta can still outflank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 17:45:33
Subject: Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I would never Deep Strike a Vendetta personally Outflanking is so much better and safer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 18:12:19
Subject: Re:Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Stroggified wrote:
So in short, anything in the Vendettas will count towards the reserve limit
Not according to the Main Rules FAQ:
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/26 18:37:14
Subject: Re:Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
don_mondo wrote:Stroggified wrote:
So in short, anything in the Vendettas will count towards the reserve limit
Not according to the Main Rules FAQ:
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.
Wow and here I only thought it was dedicated transports >.<
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 08:45:38
Subject: Re:Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It was. GW changed the rules in the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/27 14:54:20
Subject: Vendetta squadrons: deep strike and infantry platoon problems
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
As for the deep strike question, I would say from a "fair" standpoint keep them as close as possible when they deep strike. As there is only 3 of them that leaves you with quite a few deployment options.
And the only time to deep strike them would be in a larger table game that flying just won't get you to where you need to be lol.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/27 14:55:12
|
|
 |
 |
|