Switch Theme:

Persistent Multi-Charge Confusion  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





College Park, MD

With 6th ed multi-charges got a little more complicated. When it was fresh and new, sure, people were disagreeing over how it worked but I'd think by now it should be pretty clear. So when I was reading an article on BoLS discussing assault tactics I was a bit surprised when the guy writing it was (as far as I can tell) still making the same dang mistake. Now, maybe they indeed let any schmuck post on there, and maybe I'm the one who's still wrong, but I wanted to check in and make sure I've got this right.

When making a multiple assault, the first model must move to the primary target. Not much room for confusion there. After that point, you may not move a model into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target. Right out of the BRB, and I don't see anything in any FAQs changing this. Flipping some of the negatives around this means that you can move into base contact with a model in a secondary target as long as there are no unengaged models in range in the primary. Beyond that as long as you follow the normal rules for assaults you're fine.

There is absolutely no requirement that you move a model into base contact with the primary target if possible that I can see. Is there some odd interaction with the regular charge move rules that I'm not picking up on?

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pg 28, second paragraph spells it out pretty clearly.

a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.

Remember that the charging unit is not allowed to break its unit coherency, and this will obviously limit the potential for this kind of charge.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Lansirill, you are correct. Or, to put it another way - if all primary targets that model can reach are already engaged, you may charge another target.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Key word there appears to be Unengaged. So if 10 Wracks charge 2 units of Long Fangs, assume all Wracks have range to all Long Fangs, and 6 Wracks engage the first squad then the other 4 are free to engage the second squad, correct?
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Yup, and from my interpretation of the above, not all of the primary target need be engaged if one of the charging unit cannot reach an unengaged model, but can reach another unit.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Just to note, it's not engaged, it's base-to-base. There is a difference.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





College Park, MD

 don_mondo wrote:
Just to note, it's not engaged, it's base-to-base. There is a difference.


Where does it say that? I want to make sure that if I'm going to start correcting people's play in person, I'm not going to be wrong... because then I just end up looking like a complete ass.

 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Base contact with an Unengaged model is the wording.

Does this mean that (using my Wracks from before) Wrack 1 charges a Long Fang such that all of Long Fang squad 1 is engaged (in btb or within 2" of a model in btb) the rest can charge squad 1 or 2 as desired as there are no Unengaged models in Long Fang squad 1 or does each Long Fang in squad 1 have to have a wrack in btb (or be out of range) before Long Fangs in squad 2 can be charged?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/26 14:38:05


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





College Park, MD

It should be the former. Everything in LF1 is engaged, so you cannot move into b2b with an unengaged model, thus you may move into b2b with secondary targets.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: