| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 03:26:14
Subject: 2 necron questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
these came up in a game today so im wondering how this works.
first, if a unit with chrono cryptek in it has that cryptek go down, but not removed - his counter is still there, can the unit still utilize the chrono? (obviously not after that crptek fails his EL check)
next, if a unit of bikes, charges they get hammer of wrath at (init 10) if they charge a unit of necrons that has a mind shackle equiped model, mindshackles go off before blows, so before init 10. if the mindshackle check is failed, how does the affected biker attack? does he use his hammer of wrath attack, or his normal attacks? are all his attacks treated as hammer of wrath?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 04:32:26
Subject: 2 necron questions
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
DarthSpader wrote:
these came up in a game today so im wondering how this works.
first, if a unit with chrono cryptek in it has that cryptek go down, but not removed - his counter is still there, can the unit still utilize the chrono? (obviously not after that crptek fails his EL check)
next, if a unit of bikes, charges they get hammer of wrath at ( init 10) if they charge a unit of necrons that has a mind shackle equiped model, mindshackles go off before blows, so before init 10. if the mindshackle check is failed, how does the affected biker attack? does he use his hammer of wrath attack, or his normal attacks? are all his attacks treated as hammer of wrath?
To the first - The cryptek is considered dead for all intents and purposes as a token can not make use of wargear save for the Necron lord res orb as it directly effects the Reanimation Prot for that phase and has been faq'd.
To the second - Because hammer of wrath is in the fight sub phase, after the moves are made and "before blows are struck" he would be affected. as well it states instead of attacking normally the user attacks his allies when it is his turn to strike. My interpretation is that the hammer of wrath ability is nulled and he strikes at his allies, at his INIT, as MSS comes into play before blows are struck and prevents said model from attacking the necron unit.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/11 04:34:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 07:17:21
Subject: Re:2 necron questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
To the second - Because hammer of wrath is in the fight sub phase, after the moves are made and "before blows are struck" he would be affected. as well it states instead of attacking normally the user attacks his allies when it is his turn to strike. My interpretation is that the hammer of wrath ability is nulled and he strikes at his allies, at his INIT, as MSS comes into play before blows are struck and prevents said model from attacking the necron unit.
the MSS and HoW happen at the same time (before blows are struck), so wouldn't the active player decide which goes first? or just a roll-off to determine it? I've sen this question multiple times but never definitely answered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 07:47:44
Subject: 2 necron questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
Mss happens before blows. HOW is at init 10.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 09:08:52
Subject: 2 necron questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
MSS is start of fight subphjase, before ANY init steps.
If you fail, you lose HoW and your normal attacks - this is because you are told "instead of attacking normally..." and your normal attacks include HoW the turn you charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/11 18:34:51
Subject: 2 necron questions
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
Cool. Thought as much. Thanks guys.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|