Switch Theme:

Can I infiltrate a Chaos Land Raider  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





First off let me apologize if this question has been posted before, I did a search but had no luck.

A couple Chaos HQs (Hurton and Ahriman) get Master of Deception which according to page 29 Codex Chaos allows me to "Nominate up to 1d3 Infantry units in your army before deployment. Those units gain the Infiltrate special rule."

Chaos Terminators are Infantry and can take a Chaos Land Raider as a dedicated transport. (pg 97. Codex Chaos)

The infiltrate USR (pg 38 BRB) states "if a unit with Infiltrate is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, they may Infiltrate or Outflank along with their Transport, but if they do, they must deploy/move onto the table embarked within it.

Does that mean I can infiltrate a Chaos Land Raider?
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, but only if the Land Raider was that Terminator squads dedicated transport.

Remember you can't assault on the first player turn of the game. So they won't be able to assault that first turn unless you went second. Which gives the enemy time to react to the LR full of Terminators.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/14 00:59:32


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






Still will be amusing as hell.

"You were hiding WHAT in the bushes??!?!"

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

Completely legal, but as stated if you're hoping to go for an alpha strike, you'll probably want to go second, as a first turn assault isn't really possible (maximum charge of 24" total isn't likely to have the unit in range, or the charge distance met). Second turn charge, though, from a land-raider thats hiding behind a building, blocking line of sight so you can be 12" away...well that's just downright mean. Sure, it'd have to be a pretty good sized building to block LOS, but hey, it's still possible...haha.

----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
World-Weary Pathfinder



Corn, IL, USA

I have absolutely no concept of current CSM rules.

That said, I'm immediately reminded of Allies' Mirage Tanks from Red Alert 2. As such, this is nothing short of a <rooster> move.

So let me say this in advance if you can:

"<rooster> move, tvt4186. <rooster> move."

Note to admin: apparently the word starting with "D" and rhyming with "sick" is not censored. I took the liberty of providing my own censor for fear of repercussions.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Its not a D*** move. Not as much as it would have been in 5th when you could get first turn assaults.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

Does an HQ that has infiltrate confer it to the squad he joins? But a squad that has infitrate not confer it to independant characters? If this is correct you nominate a killing machine HQ with infiltrate put him with termies in a land raider and watch your opponent salt.

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Goat wrote:
Does an HQ that has infiltrate confer it to the squad he joins? But a squad that has infitrate not confer it to independant characters? If this is correct you nominate a killing machine HQ with infiltrate put him with termies in a land raider and watch your opponent salt.


As I understand it currently only one model in a squad has to have infiltrate for every one to get it, so it should work either way.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, an Inc without infiltrate doesn't get to infiltrate just because the unit does.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





but because it's a dedicated transport it does....yay ductile rules!
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

The exact wording says to nominate an infantry unit. If the unit has an I.C. with it, that does kind of complicate the matter. I would assume the whole unit, I.C. included, would gain infiltrate, but I haven't been able to find a clear-cut yes\no on the subject.

Anyone?

----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




An IC without infiltrate cannot join a unit with infiltrate during deployment. If you give the unit infiltrate the IC cannot join it, other way round is fine though.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Hmmmm, I wonder if you can join the IC to the unit prior to declaring they have Infiltrate. And then at the time of the declaration the IC is a member of the unit and gains Infiltrate.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 BoomWolf wrote:
Still will be amusing as hell.

"You were hiding WHAT in the bushes??!?!"


well it is black, and it could have been at night....

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indiana

You just give the IC that you want to join the unit infiltrate, he then joins the unit. Problem solved.

People who stopped buying GW but wont stop bitching about it are the vegans of warhammer

My Deathwatch army project thread  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Leth wrote:
You just give the IC that you want to join the unit infiltrate, he then joins the unit. Problem solved.


Oddly enough this seems accurate.


   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 BoomWolf wrote:
Still will be amusing as hell.

"You were hiding WHAT in the bushes??!?!"


Not as great as creed hiding a baneblade behind a mailbox
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Leth wrote:
You just give the IC that you want to join the unit infiltrate, he then joins the unit. Problem solved.


Oddly enough this seems accurate.



Agreed. Seems like a semantic loophole to accomplish the same thing, but I.C.'s do count as units in their own right. Too bad it says infantry...MAN would it be fun to cast infiltrate on a Daemon Prince

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/15 04:19:23


----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Drager wrote:
An IC without infiltrate cannot join a unit with infiltrate during deployment. If you give the unit infiltrate the IC cannot join it, other way round is fine though.


A IC is not restricted in joining the unit it just says he cannot infiltrate with them he could still however outflank
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

You can give the IC Infiltrate, which then confers it to the unit, which then confers it to their Dedicated Transport. However you'd have to declare all of this BEFORE deployment of course.

I can now envision a chess match with Huron and Creed sitting glaring opposite each other... and Ahriman sneaking up behind Creed too.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Ub3rb3n wrote:
Drager wrote:
An IC without infiltrate cannot join a unit with infiltrate during deployment. If you give the unit infiltrate the IC cannot join it, other way round is fine though.


A IC is not restricted in joining the unit it just says he cannot infiltrate with them he could still however outflank


Definetly is restricted if the IC does not have infiltrate and the unit does. This was hashed out when the edition was new. Would love it if you were right though as tyen I would have a use for mandrakes.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: