Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 19:35:02
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Heyy guys quick question that came up the other night:
Are dedicated transports which have been bought for Fast Attack/ Heavy Support choices scoring during the "Scouring" and "Big Guns Never Tire" missions respectively?
Quotes:
Rulebook Pg 128, "Heavy Metal" wrote: Unlike other mission, in BGNT, your Heavy Support units are scoring units... even your vehicles are scoring units, providing that they are also Heavy support and they are not Immobilised.
Rulebook Pg 129, "Fast Recon" wrote:Unlike other mission, in Fast Recon, your Fast Attack units are scoring units... even your vehicles are scoring units, providing that they are also Fast Attack and they are not Immobilised.
NB: the emphasis on the word "units" has been added by me, as this is where the ambiguity lies.
Rulebook Pg 78 "Dedicated Transports" wrote: Sometimes, a unit entry in a codex will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with the unit. These Dedicated Transports do not use up a slot on the force organisation chart.
NB: the emphasis on "together with the unit" is my own.
So, the situation is that it is the "Heavy Support/Fast Attack Unit" which becomes scoring and not simply units which occupy one of those respective slots. Therefore, would it not be the case that as a Dedicated Transport is bought "together with the unit" that it also becomes scoring?
Thanks,
Iranna.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 19:37:47
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Yes, they don't take up a FoC slot, but they're still a Heavy/Fast choice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 19:40:35
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
P109 wrote:
Dedicated Transports count as being from the same Force Organisation category as the unit they were bought for. Therefore, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (troops) counts as a unit of troops, but one bought for a unit of Space Marine Sternguard Veteran Squad (elites), counts as elites.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/15 19:43:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 19:41:38
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I'm on the other side of the fence. If they don't take up a FoC then they are not counted as a Heavy or Fast Attack for scoring purposes.
Aycee
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 19:43:07
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Aycee, read my quote. The rulebook says they are counted as that type of unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 19:47:07
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Aycee71 wrote:I'm on the other side of the fence. If they don't take up a FoC then they are not counted as a Heavy or Fast Attack for scoring purposes.
I'm sure you have a rule to base that assertion on, right?
Show me the requirement to take up a FOC slot.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 22:43:12
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Aycee71 wrote:I'm on the other side of the fence. If they don't take up a FoC then they are not counted as a Heavy or Fast Attack for scoring purposes.
Aycee
So is a HQ that doesn't take up a slot not a HQ?
hop on this side of the fence, quickly!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/11 21:17:12
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
Fenris, Drinking
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Aycee71 wrote:I'm on the other side of the fence. If they don't take up a FoC then they are not counted as a Heavy or Fast Attack for scoring purposes.
Aycee
So is a HQ that doesn't take up a slot not a HQ?
hop on this side of the fence, quickly!
If you look at the old CSM codex and look at summoned greater deamon it says that it is a Hq but doesn't take up a force organisation chart slot,meaning that you have no eligible HQ if that was your only HQ.
same for the sistersand their battle conclaves
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/11 21:17:44
"They can't say no when they are stunned "- Taric
SINCE I STARTED KEEPING TRACK
5000(7 drop-pods)pts (15/10/4)
200pts(lol)
1500pts (10/0/0)
Other:(7/0/0) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/11 21:19:57
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Is a rhino taken for a tactical squad a scoring unit (when empty)?? Same principle would seem to apply here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/11 21:25:24
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Im thinking its fast attack choices and heavy choices only. Just like it says. Take a Land raider as a dedicated transport and its a bus, take a landraider as a heavy put tac marines in it and BAM 2 scoring units in big guns never tire.
Its not rocket science.
The question should be a Landraider bought as a DT a heavy or not. Its not in the heavy FOC so Im saying NO.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/11 21:32:38
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Lungpickle wrote:Im thinking its fast attack choices and heavy choices only. Just like it says. Take a Land raider as a dedicated transport and its a bus, take a landraider as a heavy put tac marines in it and BAM 2 scoring units in big guns never tire.
Its not rocket science.
The question should be a Landraider bought as a DT a heavy or not. Its not in the heavy FOC so Im saying NO.
pretre wrote:P109 wrote:
Dedicated Transports count as being from the same Force Organisation category as the unit they were bought for. Therefore, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (troops) counts as a unit of troops, but one bought for a unit of Space Marine Sternguard Veteran Squad (elites), counts as elites.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/11 21:37:20
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Gitsplitta wrote:Is a rhino taken for a tactical squad a scoring unit (when empty)?? Same principle would seem to apply here.
No, because the Rhino is a vehicle and prohibited from scoring.
In the two mentioned mission types, vehicles from the respective FOC slots are given explicit permission to be scoring - so are not comparable to the Rhino.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/11 22:50:37
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Well the debate is over, thanks to petre.
But wow. This changes things.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/11 22:50:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 00:35:31
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Sure, it means that Drop Pod you bought for your Thunderfire Cannon now gives up an extra KP on Big Guns. (for example)
Or a Rhino for a Devastator Squad.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 01:55:51
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Crazyterran wrote:Sure, it means that Drop Pod you bought for your Thunderfire Cannon now gives up an extra KP on Big Guns. (for example)
Or a Rhino for a Devastator Squad.
Yes but that Drop Pod is also scoring... As is the Rhino.
Double edged sword.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 02:12:38
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
What's the page number saying that it is being countered as the same section from the foc as the unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 02:28:16
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Ub3rb3n wrote:What's the page number saying that it is being countered as the same section from the foc as the unit?
There is no page number aside from the fact they are a unit that was purchased as a HS/ FA choice.
The unit that purchased the DT is a Heavy Support unit. Ergo its DT must also be a Heavy Support unit, albeit one that doesn't take up a FoC slot. Same goes for any FoC slot. the DT transport is from whatever FoC slot its parent unit it.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 02:34:10
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Grey Templar wrote:Ub3rb3n wrote:What's the page number saying that it is being countered as the same section from the foc as the unit?
There is no page number aside from the fact they are a unit that was purchased as a HS/ FA choice.
The unit that purchased the DT is a Heavy Support unit. Ergo its DT must also be a Heavy Support unit, albeit one that doesn't take up a FoC slot. Same goes for any FoC slot. the DT transport is from whatever FoC slot its parent unit it.
Actually Page 109 covers it. Left Column, Dedicated Transports section, 2nd Sentence Bold Text.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 03:09:53
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 03:18:28
Subject: Dedicated Transports in the "Scouring/Big Guns Never Tire".
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
yeah, that can be a big deal. This is a.... (wait for it)
GAME CHANGER!
YEEEEAAAAHHHH!!
|
|
 |
 |
|