| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 22:59:30
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Was using the baleflamer on my Hellturkey in my last game and a rules discussion came up about whether the baleflamer had a firing arc. According to the rules the template is placed anywhere within 12 inches of the weapon as long as the thick end is no closer to the weapon than the narrow end - does that mean it does not have a firing arc or does it still follow the 45 degree rule [with the narrow end of the template placed on the 45 degree line]?
Thanks in advance for replies.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 23:04:55
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
It operates exactly like a hellhound? As it uses the exact same rules as it does.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 23:16:07
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
You place the thin end within the 45 degree arc and the thick anywhere so as long as it is no closer to the model. Remember blasts and templates have specific allowances to wound models out of LOS.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/03 23:28:22
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Godless-Mimicry wrote:You place the thin end within the 45 degree arc and the thick anywhere so as long as it is no closer to the model. Remember blasts and templates have specific allowances to wound models out of LOS.
I have a follow up question on that. I know blast weapons can wound models out of LOS but can wounds be allocated to those models?. (Does this by pass the general rule of killing only what you see)
ps: sorry for hijacking thread.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 00:32:17
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
I believe the wounding/killing models out of LOS has come up in a few other threads but the general consensus seemed to be that RAW you can't kill what you can't see. This is because you could cause wounds to models that are out of the weapons LOS but you weren't given permission to allocate to them so as soon as the models that you can see are dead the rest of the wounds left in the pool are wasted.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 03:12:52
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Tracer Bullet wrote:I believe the wounding/killing models out of LOS has come up in a few other threads but the general consensus seemed to be that RAW you can't kill what you can't see. This is because you could cause wounds to models that are out of the weapons LOS but you weren't given permission to allocate to them so as soon as the models that you can see are dead the rest of the wounds left in the pool are wasted.
Don't start this gak again.
The total arc of any weapon is 45 degrees unless it can move otherwise or it is specified otherwise. (A predator's turret can rotate 360 degrees, for example. Certain Sponsons can go varying amounts, etc.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/04 03:24:12
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 05:00:19
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Crazyterran wrote: Tracer Bullet wrote:I believe the wounding/killing models out of LOS has come up in a few other threads but the general consensus seemed to be that RAW you can't kill what you can't see. This is because you could cause wounds to models that are out of the weapons LOS but you weren't given permission to allocate to them so as soon as the models that you can see are dead the rest of the wounds left in the pool are wasted.
Don't start this gak again.
The total arc of any weapon is 45 degrees unless it can move otherwise or it is specified otherwise. (A predator's turret can rotate 360 degrees, for example. Certain Sponsons can go varying amounts, etc.
He's not starting the gak again. The previous poster asked about allocating wounds to a unit completely out of sight which has legally been wounded (i.e. Wound pool populated) by a blast weapon. As it is he is correct that it has come up a number of times with no real answer and no FAQ from GW. Personally I believe RAW the Wounds cannot be allocated, however, that is not HIWPI.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 09:42:47
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Templates have no aboiltiy to allocate wounds out of LOS, unless they gain n additional special rule.
The flamer is fixed in place, so has a hull mount of 45 degrees total
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/04 13:09:41
Subject: Firing arc of baleflamer?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Right, the flamer can allocate wounds to models in cover, no cover save, but it can't wound models completely concealed behind a wall, out of line of sight.
Now the rules for firing arcs work just like models behind walls. If they are outside the firing arc of the weapon they are out of your line of sight and can not be allocated to.
Makes the bale flamer a bit trickier to use, but it is still a nice weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|