Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:04:08
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Greetings;
I had a conflict with a fellow gamer earlier today about the hammerhead's main gun.
Situation
A unit of striking scorpions clumped up behind a wall when a hammerhead comes up around the corner a bit and shoots.
Hammerhads main gun shoots it's large blast at my striking scorpions seeing only 2 of them yet clipping many scorpions with it's hit.
One burst cannon sees all of the scorpions and shoots normally. The other burst cannon sees nothing and doesn't shoot.
At this point i debated that the main gun can only kill 2 of my guys when my friend debated the opposite opinion. I know that the rulebook says look from each weapon for cover saves as they are different units, but that doesn't cover LoS issues like this.
What is the correct answer here? And if you could reference a page that would swell.
Thanks in advance
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:13:39
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
If a model is in Line of Sight from any of the weapons on the vehicle, then those guys can die.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:33:56
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
DeathReaper wrote:If a model is in Line of Sight from any of the weapons on the vehicle, then those guys can die.
Blast weapons fire at a squad of ten, which the weapon can only see 2, blast scatters and hits 5 and wounds 5, so your saying it can only wound 2 out of those 5 models?
|
= 1000pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:39:06
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Diezel wrote: DeathReaper wrote:If a model is in Line of Sight from any of the weapons on the vehicle, then those guys can die.
Blast weapons fire at a squad of ten, which the weapon can only see 2, blast scatters and hits 5 and wounds 5, so your saying it can only wound 2 out of those 5 models?
Blasts are kind of flawed in the BGB. They don't seem to be allowed to work as they intended them to.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:41:22
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
LOS is determined from each of the weapon mounts. If there is no LOS to a model from that mount, then the weapon cannot wound that model. In this scenario, 2 models would die to the blast.
""When firing a vehicle's weapons point them at the target and then trace line of sight from each weapons' rnounting and along its barrel to see if the shot is blocked by terrain or model" pg 72
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/07 20:42:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:42:29
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Diezel wrote: DeathReaper wrote:If a model is in Line of Sight from any of the weapons on the vehicle, then those guys can die. Blast weapons fire at a squad of ten, which the weapon can only see 2, blast scatters and hits 5 and wounds 5, so your saying it can only wound 2 out of those 5 models?
It depends. The Blast Marker rules are really flawed. Fragile wrote:LOS is determined from each of the weapon mounts. If there is no LOS to a model from that mount, then the weapon cannot wound that model. In this scenario, 2 models would die to the blast. ""When firing a vehicle's weapons point them at the target and then trace line of sight from each weapons' mounting and along its barrel to see if the shot is blocked by terrain or model" pg 72
Not true, all models that are in Line of Sight of any model in the unit that is firing can die. (The vehicle rules determine per gun instead of per model). However in the OP's situation the "main gun shoots it's large blast at my striking scorpions seeing only 2 of them yet clipping many scorpions with it's hit." Also "One burst cannon sees all of the scorpions and shoots normally" So since all of the scorpions are in line of sight to at least one weapon in the unit, then all of the scorpions can die.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/07 20:45:23
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:45:39
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
To be clear, the blast did not scatter. The center of the blast was on a model the hammerheads weapon saw. The striking scorpions were clumped up so it clipped a lot of guys (yet seeing only 2)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 20:53:35
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
The burst cannon can only kill what it can see, but as for blast weapons... it's up in the air honestly.
Going with blast can kill regardless of sight though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 21:00:14
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
There seems to be some confusion.
First regarding the blast, although only two models are in LOS from the weapon, it still hits (and can generate wounds) regardless of models outside of LOS.
Second, since one weapon can draw LOS on every model, the vehicle can draw LOS on every model and every model can be wounded.
If the burst cannon that could draw LOS on all of the models could not have drawn LOS (having been destroyed earlier for example) only the two models in LOS would have been able to have Wounds allocated to them.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 21:24:36
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
DeathReaper wrote:
Fragile wrote:LOS is determined from each of the weapon mounts. If there is no LOS to a model from that mount, then the weapon cannot wound that model. In this scenario, 2 models would die to the blast.
""When firing a vehicle's weapons point them at the target and then trace line of sight from each weapons' mounting and along its barrel to see if the shot is blocked by terrain or model" pg 72
Not true, all models that are in Line of Sight of any model in the unit that is firing can die. (The vehicle rules determine per gun instead of per model).
However in the OP's situation the "main gun shoots it's large blast at my striking scorpions seeing only 2 of them yet clipping many scorpions with it's hit."
Also "One burst cannon sees all of the scorpions and shoots normally"
So since all of the scorpions are in line of sight to at least one weapon in the unit, then all of the scorpions can die.
Happyjew wrote:There seems to be some confusion.
First regarding the blast, although only two models are in LOS from the weapon, it still hits (and can generate wounds) regardless of models outside of LOS.
Second, since one weapon can draw LOS on every model, the vehicle can draw LOS on every model and every model can be wounded.
If the burst cannon that could draw LOS on all of the models could not have drawn LOS (having been destroyed earlier for example) only the two models in LOS would have been able to have Wounds allocated to them.
This: "If the target unit is in cover from only some of the vehicle's weapons, then work out the target's cover saves exactly as if each firing weapon on the vehicle was a separate firing unit." Pg 72, Vehicle Weapons & Line of Sight.
Seems to contradict what you're saying. You do treat the guns as different units. Though I don't know if cover saves would be incorporated into which models can and can't die. I would personally say that it does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 21:28:47
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That only works for cover saves - not for determining if the models are in LOS of the unit at all, which is a different rule on page 16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 21:31:50
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Weapons are treated as different units only for the purposes of determining cover. Per Out of Sight (BRB, pg 16) "If no models in the firing unit can see a particular model, then Wounds cannot be allocated to it...". Can a model in the firing unit see the model(s)?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 22:06:38
Subject: Re:Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
This is pretty cut and dry. If it helps you understand invision the hammerhead as a squad of guys. As long as all the models can be seen by any model in the unit and they can all see the unit then they can kill every model in the enemy unit.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 22:14:21
Subject: Re:Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Tomb King wrote:This is pretty cut and dry. If it helps you understand invision the hammerhead as a squad of guys. As long as all the models can be seen by any model in the unit and they can all see the unit then they can kill every model in the enemy unit.
This is not pretty cut and dry. The confusion comes from p. 72 second paragraph where it says specifically in some situations to treat the weapons as different units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 22:18:51
Subject: Re:Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
pizzaguardian wrote: Tomb King wrote:This is pretty cut and dry. If it helps you understand invision the hammerhead as a squad of guys. As long as all the models can be seen by any model in the unit and they can all see the unit then they can kill every model in the enemy unit.
This is not pretty cut and dry. The confusion comes from p. 72 second paragraph where it says specifically in some situations to treat the weapons as different units.
p. 72 is for Cover saves, not for Wounds.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 22:42:13
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
So the fact it's called the "Vehicles and Line of Sight" section doesn't mean anything. Got it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 23:08:23
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
Thats an interesting question.
RAW - the weapons are treated as separate firing units when los issues come up.
I am inclined to agree that the main gun could only kill those it could draw los to. In this case I would, as the owner of the Hammerhead, state that the wounds from the maingun be resolved before the other weapon to avoid loss of wounds.
|
It is easier to extinguish the light within, than to dispell the darkness that surrounds without
DR:70S+++G+++M++B+++I+Pw40k88/f#-D+++A++++/fWD120R++++T(Pic)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 23:42:56
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Not seeing where the problem is. The main gun has LOS on 2 members of the enemy unit. According to blast rules on pg 33 of the BRB blast weapons can hit and wound units out of LOS. There is no issue. The striking scorpions could all be killed.
|
Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 23:53:03
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
@ Backlash, I do not think wounding is the issue, its the wound allocation and casualty remove rules in question. specifically the out of sight rule on pg 16.
|
It is easier to extinguish the light within, than to dispell the darkness that surrounds without
DR:70S+++G+++M++B+++I+Pw40k88/f#-D+++A++++/fWD120R++++T(Pic)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 23:55:03
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Prophet40k wrote:@ Backlash, I do not think wounding is the issue, its the wound allocation and casualty remove rules in question. specifically the out of sight rule on pg 16.
that's exactly the issue, if memory serves from a previous thread.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/08 03:14:56
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Kevin949 wrote:So the fact it's called the "Vehicles and Line of Sight" section doesn't mean anything. Got it.
The vehicle is only "a separate firing unit" when working out cover saves. The section Talks about how to trace Line of Sight, then the next sentence deals with how to treat models in cover from only some of the vehicles weapons. That section has nothing to do with the out of sight rules. and we are only given permission to treat each firing weapon on the vehicle as a separate firing unit, when working out cover saves. "If the target unit is in cover from only some of the vehicle's weapons, then work out the target's cover saves exactly as if each firing weapon on the vehicle was a separate firing unit." P. 72
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/08 03:15:52
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/08 03:52:18
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote: Kevin949 wrote:So the fact it's called the "Vehicles and Line of Sight" section doesn't mean anything. Got it.
The vehicle is only "a separate firing unit" when working out cover saves.
The section Talks about how to trace Line of Sight, then the next sentence deals with how to treat models in cover from only some of the vehicles weapons.
That section has nothing to do with the out of sight rules. and we are only given permission to treat each firing weapon on the vehicle as a separate firing unit, when working out cover saves.
"If the target unit is in cover from only some of the vehicle's weapons, then work out the target's cover saves exactly as if each firing weapon on the vehicle was a separate firing unit." P. 72
If you break the sentences apart, then you are correct. If you read the paragraph as a whole then you are incorrect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/08 03:57:27
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Fragile wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Kevin949 wrote:So the fact it's called the "Vehicles and Line of Sight" section doesn't mean anything. Got it.
The vehicle is only "a separate firing unit" when working out cover saves.
The section Talks about how to trace Line of Sight, then the next sentence deals with how to treat models in cover from only some of the vehicles weapons.
That section has nothing to do with the out of sight rules. and we are only given permission to treat each firing weapon on the vehicle as a separate firing unit, when working out cover saves.
"If the target unit is in cover from only some of the vehicle's weapons, then work out the target's cover saves exactly as if each firing weapon on the vehicle was a separate firing unit." P. 72
If you break the sentences apart, then you are correct. If you read the paragraph as a whole then you are incorrect.
In close combat I am allowed to hit models that I am in b2b with. However, if I apply that to shooting who knows maybe my powerfist would get more kills.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/08 04:01:16
Subject: Hammerhead weapons - LoS question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Both sentences pertain to vehicle weapons and Line of Sight.
The Period at the end of the first sentence means that the next sentence is a different thought, albeit still pertaining to the overall Line of Sight concept laid out in the title of the section.
The period breaks two different sentences apart for us.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|