Switch Theme:

Zone of control question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So last night I played my first game of the Hobbit SBG escape from goblin town with my girlfriend. It went pretty well, but I had one scenario come up that I want to clarify. The rules on zone of control are quite clear, you cannot move within an inch of an enemy model, unless you are charging said model.
At first I interpreted that that you could still charge a model, and if there was another enemy model slightly behind the model you are charging, but still within an inch, it was ok. But my girlfriend pointed out that's not how it read. That created some difficulty in charging close groups, I could only charge the outside, because charging the inside meant there was one or more models that I would be within an inch of and not be able to come into base contact with. Is that how it's supposed to be written? That no matter what, you cannot intentionally bring yourself into an inch of an enemy, even if you are charging a model 1/4" away from them?

Also we had one combat of four models that was split into two 1 vs 1 duels, one duel the dwarf won, pushing the goblin away, the other duel the goblin won, pushing the dwarf away, the end result of these two duels was there was still a dwarf and a goblin in base contact. What does that mean for the next move phase? Could the dwarf move and try to escape or is he locked in combat yet?

Overall, had a lot of fun though, and she's willing to play it with me again!
   
Made in bs
2nd Lieutenant





To my knowledge, so long as you are charging the closest opposing model you can go into another models control zone. However, while I've played LotR from it's start I haven't sprung for the new Hobbit book so it could have changed, but this would mean if you took a dozed or so models and put them in a circle no one could ever charge you, which would be stupid. On a related note, remember that as soon as a model is in a fight it no longer generates the control zone (or didn't at least).
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





 Dawnbringer wrote:
To my knowledge, so long as you are charging the closest opposing model you can go into another models control zone. However, while I've played LotR from it's start I haven't sprung for the new Hobbit book so it could have changed, but this would mean if you took a dozed or so models and put them in a circle no one could ever charge you, which would be stupid. On a related note, remember that as soon as a model is in a fight it no longer generates the control zone (or didn't at least).


Nailed it. I have the new rulebook. I have only glanced at it, but from what I've read this rule has remained the same.
   
Made in gb
Enemy of the DĂșnedain






Chatteris, UK

you can enter a controll zone without charging on this occasion:

if you get pushed back, but this will put you in a controll zone but not in base to base. However you MUST move out of it in your next move or charge the model giving the controll zone in question

Mainly found in the LOTR section..... 
   
Made in gb
Furtive Haradrim Scout





England

If you get pushed back and end up in a enemies control zone who is not in combat or has just fought a combat then you count as being trapped but if the enemy is in combat and the combat has not been fought then you can move back. Another thing is if you want to pass between two enemies, that being the gap is big enough the enemies models must be engaged in combat or in some cases knocked down before your chosen model can pass through.
Also if you win priority make sure you chose the combats that can benefit you if you are in risk of being trapped in other combats.
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: