Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity and Vengeful Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Every time you use GoI does it trigger vengeful strike on DA terminators? They are, after all, deep striking every time you do it.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Vengeful Strike - "When a model with this special rule arrives by Deep Strike..."

Gate of Infinity - "...Remove the target unit from the board. It then immediately arrives using the rules for Deep Strike."

(Emphasis mine)

Looks like it works to me.
   
Made in sa
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

I'm going to say no to this one.
Look at the precedent from Necron Deathmarks in the new FAQ.
They have a similar ability, and people were trying this sort of trick using a Veil of Darkness.
The recent batch of FAQ ruled it illegal.
I would expect the ruling on this to be the same.

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Vancouver WA

So it works until it is FAQ'd then. Nice.

So if Belial is in the squad also they wouldnt scatter. so you could have like a squad of ten termies porting around blasting the heck out of stuff and hoping that their next leap will be the leap home.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/25 16:13:29


   
Made in us
Gor with Big Horns






Question, ( and please understand that this is me just asking ) Is there a FAQ about only being able to use GoI with C:SM?

Boom

When your opponent starts to complain that your army is overpowered and you look down at your Beastmen army book and smile to yourself, your doing something right 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Puddle_Pirate wrote:
Question, ( and please understand that this is me just asking ) Is there a FAQ about only being able to use GoI with C:SM?


No. Gate is also in one of the Psychic disciplines. It is not limited to only C:SM.
   
Made in gb
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster






Until it is FAQed, it looks like a very sneaky exploitation of RAW. But it certainly looks legal. Cheeky, but legal! I may try it just for a laugh.

I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Vancouver WA

Oh wait, If you were using an Allied SM libby with gate i dont think he would beable to Deathwing assault with the unit so he would have to join after they hit the table or the unti would have to not DW assault. But thats not too bad i guess. would still be fun and silly.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

It's good but you still need a way to get the power reliably.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Baldsmug wrote:
Oh wait, If you were using an Allied SM libby with gate i dont think he would beable to Deathwing assault with the unit so he would have to join after they hit the table or the unti would have to not DW assault. But thats not too bad i guess. would still be fun and silly.


You are getting two rules confused.

Vengeful Strike is different from DW Assault.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Yeah, its just if youwanted Belial's non-scattering rule would you need to stick with dark angel librarians.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/25 17:24:26


Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Vancouver WA

40k-noob wrote:
 Baldsmug wrote:
Oh wait, If you were using an Allied SM libby with gate i dont think he would beable to Deathwing assault with the unit so he would have to join after they hit the table or the unti would have to not DW assault. But thats not too bad i guess. would still be fun and silly.


You are getting two rules confused.

Vengeful Strike is different from DW Assault.


I mean if you used a Vanilla librarian he could not deepstrike in one the first turn with the DW squad because he is not deathwing but then could join the group the group after the initial dw assault and then port them around so the can abuse vengeful strike. Unless they were all deployed on the table together to begin then the Vanilla librarian could start porting then. Unless i am getting it wrong and that just by wearing terminator armor the librarian would be able to come in with the deathwing during their initial DW Assault.

As far as reliability goes for getting gate Vanilla libbys can just coose it from their psyker powers section with having to roll for anything. They would not be able to use any of the new powers though but this is just a goofy trick for fun so it doesnt really matter. Could pull it off with a Terminator Libby and 2 units of 5 scouts added to a DW army.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/25 20:10:31


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Ima gonna say no

1 is arives via deepstrike.

the other just uses the rule for deepstrike which is 2 d 6 scatter potential.
See they aren't deepstriking per say they are just borrowing the rules to see where you land after using a spell.

Also the librarian wont have inner circle.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Lungpickle wrote:
Ima gonna say no

1 is arives via deepstrike.

the other just uses the rule for deepstrike which is 2 d 6 scatter potential.
See they aren't deepstriking per say they are just borrowing the rules to see where you land after using a spell.

Also the librarian wont have inner circle.


The continuity of the Gate of Infinity power wording includes "...if the Deep Strike attempt scatters..." though. Unless its faq'd I think its a perfectly valid tactic and its hardly a game breaker

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: