| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 17:15:48
Subject: Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Ok so I played in an event and he had a chosen unit with favor of the gods so he can as or subtract 1. He was forcing re rolls until he got the ward save. Now is that legal? I was always under the impression you can't re roll a re roll. I let him cause it kinda made why he was but still didn't seem right.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 17:51:42
Subject: Re:Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
If he had the Wailing Banner and the Favor of the Gods, yes.
With those 2 items, it is very likely he would get to roll again.
Only a roll of a 4 or 5 would result in no reroll. Every other result can be increased or decreased to roll again.
This is because the wording on the EotG chart is not "Reroll", its roll again.
You can roll again as many times as you want.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/21 17:52:49
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 18:05:11
Subject: Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Oh ok so it's not a re roll it's basically do it over. Got it thanks
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 15:48:29
Subject: Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Similar to the roll to start the game, if you tie it is a "roll again" not a reroll
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 11:58:35
Subject: Re:Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
Skillful Swordsman
|
You don't need to go to such length to twist words that were never meant to be used as scientifically defined fixed terms. Re-roll, roll again, same difference. Instead, I would argue that you can re-roll a re-roll in this case because the WoC FAQ explicitly allows it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/23 12:02:31
 I am White/Green |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 15:18:53
Subject: Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"Scientifically"? No, they are explicitly different terms, due to the way this and most rulesets are constructed, through the use of key words
Re-roll is a defined term in the rulebook, and has restrictions imposed on it. Roll again is not a defined term, and does not have restrictions imposed on it.
It is that simple.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 20:14:40
Subject: Chaos chosen an eye of the gods re-rolls
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Or just wait a few weeks and the problem goes away.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|