Switch Theme:

Belial and gate of infinity  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

If I have a squad of Dark Angels with Belial and a librarian in it(assuming the rest of the squad has inner circle), if the librarian uses gate of infinity do you roll to scatter? or would he just arrive on target without needing to roll?


Edit(clarification): because there has been some confusion, I am referring to using Belial's Tactical Precision rule not his teleport homer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 05:21:59


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator





Charlotte, NC

no he can not use the homer on himself

6000
3000 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

He doesn't need the homer, he has a rule called tactical precision that says he and a unit(if they all have inner circle) he is attached to do not scatter when they arrive by deep strike.

Gate of infinity says they arrive using the rules for deep strike.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Fort Wayne, IN

Belial's entry says that they don't scatter when arriving by Deep Strike. Gate of Infinity removes a model if the Deep Strike scatters (and rolls doubles). I would say that Belial allows you to use Gate of Infinity without needing to roll for scatter. That being said, it's not something you should be relying on for your army since you have to roll up Gate of Infinity.

DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Not planning to rely on it, I was planning to run a squad that has both models in the squad(the librarian is mostly to help be a psychic defense), I was looking through my options of psychic disciplines and I like the telekinesis discipline, when I was discussing the idea with a friend the question came up and he didn't think it seemed correct.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in de
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

I think the roll for scatter needs to still be made since it is part of the psychic power, his precision ability would not cancel out the liability of the librarians's power. However, after the roll is made (and if necessary casualty removed) place the models on the table as you please without scattering them. I think that is the most fair way to play it. Just my two cents...
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




To be uber mega silly picky you could say "using the rules for deepstrike" is not deepstriking so it wouldn't work, in the same vein as some people say resolve as a snap shot is not taking a snap shot.

However I would allow it.

 
   
Made in gb
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster






I can completely understand why people would allow it, but I personally dont think I would. The power says 'uses the rules for deep-strike', but its not actually a deep strike. It is a psychic power that Belial should have no influence in, its all on the Librarian. But I wouldnt have a problem if people decided to rule it that he can use Tactical Precision

I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang 
   
Made in se
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Sweden

strengthofthedragon2 wrote:
I think the roll for scatter needs to still be made since it is part of the psychic power, his precision ability would not cancel out the liability of the librarians's power. However, after the roll is made (and if necessary casualty removed) place the models on the table as you please without scattering them. I think that is the most fair way to play it. Just my two cents...


I second this interpretation
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 TheAvengingKnee wrote:
If I have a squad of Dark Angels with Belial and a librarian in it(assuming the rest of the squad has inner circle), if the librarian uses gate of infinity do you roll to scatter? or would he just arrive on target without needing to roll?


Edit(clarification): because there has been some confusion, I am referring to using Belial's Tactical Precision rule not his teleport homer.

Based on the ruling for Hunters from Hyperspace and Veil of Darkness (a similar situation) this doesn't work.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine



hereford

Ask at your loacal gw it depends on how your oponet precives it as every thing is up to them but a telleport homer states the same thing IIRC

sallies all the way

"Into the fires of battle unto the anvil of war."
War-cry of the salamanders
"Vulkans fire beats in my breast with it I shall smite the foes of the Emperor."
war-cry of the firedrakes and chapter command  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
 TheAvengingKnee wrote:
If I have a squad of Dark Angels with Belial and a librarian in it(assuming the rest of the squad has inner circle), if the librarian uses gate of infinity do you roll to scatter? or would he just arrive on target without needing to roll?


Edit(clarification): because there has been some confusion, I am referring to using Belial's Tactical Precision rule not his teleport homer.

Based on the ruling for Hunters from Hyperspace and Veil of Darkness (a similar situation) this doesn't work.


The ruling that they do not get another hunter counter for using Veil of Darkness?. Would locater beacons work on gate?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in it
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





Well. If you simply read what is written, well... It works! But you can't simply rely on it, since getting GoI is not that simple. It is so situational that allowing it absolutely doesn't seem game-breaking so go for it, if you have the chance to...

Also remember that tactical precision works only if the unit is entirely made of models with Inner circle, so no allied vanilla librarians

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 17:41:57


 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





So if you GOI belial squad and they are shooty dose that mean you get to reuse veneful strike?
   
Made in it
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





Well... yes?
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

I was not even trying to claim that part(that I would figure does not work like deathmarks), I just wanted to know if you could use Belial's ability if he was in a squad with a libby who had GOI.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 HerbaciousT wrote:
I can completely understand why people would allow it, but I personally dont think I would. The power says 'uses the rules for deep-strike', but its not actually a deep strike. It is a psychic power that Belial should have no influence in, its all on the Librarian. But I wouldnt have a problem if people decided to rule it that he can use Tactical Precision


The wording in the power then goes on to say "... if the Deep Strike attempt scatters and a double is rolled..."

To me this not only indicates that it is indeed a proper Deep Strike move but that Belial's special rule will also prevent the loss of anyone as the scatter dice would never be rolled. Unless it's FAQd to me this is a legal move, but again, hardly game breaking.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Flinty wrote:
To me this not only indicates that it is indeed a proper Deep Strike move but that Belial's special rule will also prevent the loss of anyone as the scatter dice would never be rolled.

Or are the dice actually rolled and any roll that results in the unit scattering ignored?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

This is very similar to the GOI and locator beacon arguement... Honestly, for the (possible) loss of one guy to be able to perform this maneuver it doesn't seem that bad.
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Just use divination, it's better and you can avoid the subject.

Though I would say it does scatter and you don't get any bonus of vengeful strike since i think that is only from DWA anyway.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Dallas, TX

If this tactic holds up to be allowable, you could always ally yourself with a vanilla libby, no roll needed. BUT, Id still rather have access to divination.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 Texanity wrote:
If this tactic holds up to be allowable, you could always ally yourself with a vanilla libby, no roll needed. BUT, Id still rather have access to divination.


The whole unit has to have the "inner circle" rule for Belial to be able to do this, so no allies allowed and you're back to not being able to rely on it as a tactic.

@jegsar. its any type of deep strike deployment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/23 13:21:23


Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: