Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 02:15:47
Subject: Assaulting Question
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
How does does assaulting work when after you have rolled your charge distance and moved all of the models that can get to base to base and avoid difficult terrain but then you have some models left over that must move on the other side of the enemy squad to get to base to base but must move through difficult terrain?
Do I have to roll difficult terrain for them and if they can make it to base to base or within 2" the charge fails or do I redo the whole assault rolling for difficult terrain?
This seem to come up often and it starts up arguments a lot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 02:18:01
Subject: Assaulting Question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I find the easiest way to do it is to roll two dice of one color, and one dice of a third color. If the result of the two would require models to go through difficult terrain, then you would factor in the third dice.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 02:18:34
Subject: Assaulting Question
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
you charge in a straight line, the fact that it required you to loop around the terrain to avoid it says you should have rolled as though you were going through terrain even if you rolled enough to avoid it.
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 02:23:52
Subject: Assaulting Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Vineheart01 wrote:you charge in a straight line, the fact that it required you to loop around the terrain to avoid it says you should have rolled as though you were going through terrain even if you rolled enough to avoid it.
Well the first model moves by the shortest possible route, but the subsequent models are not bound by this.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 03:20:43
Subject: Assaulting Question
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
Well, nothing in the BRB says it but i guess it would make sense to declare im charging around this crater meaning i just need a better roll but throw less dice.
Think that would just be house-rule wise stuff, nothing rock solid.
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 03:53:09
Subject: Re:Assaulting Question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The stipulation that you must attempt to move into base contact with an enemy model that is not already in base contact is usually what will force a terrain roll.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
|