Switch Theme:

Fortress Of Shields +1 Toughness Not Just For Deathwing Knights???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

If I have a squad of 5 Deathwing Knights all touching bases they become Toughness 5, perhaps like this...
Ignore the gaps O= Deathwing Knight X=Deathwing Terminator

-OO-
OOO

And then a get my 5 man Deathwing Terminator Squad to be in base to base with the Deathwing Knights like so...
--OO-
XOOOX
--XXX-

Would they also become Toughness 5?

Fortress Of Shields states that,

'Any model with the Inner Circle special rule in base contact with a model with this special rule gains +1 Toughness.'

Would this also be the case for to separate Dark Angels armies?

IXLoiero95XL

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/02/05 12:20:34


For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



California

Yes. Personally I think it's stupid, but unless FAQ'd the rule is pretty clear from a RAW standpoint.

I don't know what kind of weird situation would cause a 2nd DA army to be nearby, but keep in mind that you can't ally with the same army. Unless you're playing some crazy house-rule, in which case, you can make anything do whatever you want.
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

But you can verse another Dark Angels army

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/05 12:28:52


For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




No for normal Deathwing Terminators, as when they are referring to "this special rule" they mean Fortress of Shields (which normal Deathwing lack.)

I suppose in the odd case where two opposing Deathwing Knight units are all bunch up, sure, it would apply.
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





Massachusetts

RAW Yes. But...2 words that make this strategy not so good.

Devastator Cannon.

Or maybe these 4 words.

Large Strength Ten Template.

2500 pts

Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.



 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

If I played against that, I would instantly know where all my obliterators are dropping their plasma cannon blasts...and T5 won't help.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Zoned wrote:
No for normal Deathwing Terminators, as when they are referring to "this special rule" they mean Fortress of Shields (which normal Deathwing lack.)

I suppose in the odd case where two opposing Deathwing Knight units are all bunch up, sure, it would apply.

Not so sure on this one. It says "Any model with Inner Circle in contact with two or more models with this special rule [Fortress of Shields] has..." The RIA is for it to cover attached ICs but could cover any models with Inner Circle in the same detachment type. It would get fiddly with having to get a DW Terminator in B2B with two of the DW Knights and they would be vulnerable to templates/blasts as mentioned.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in gb
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran






I think the OP is asking if Enemy Inner Circle units get the +1 toughness bonus.

The answer, atm, bizarrely is yes, but you can always house-rule it to make sense.

Mechanicus
Ravenwing
Deathwing

Check out my Mechanicus Project here... http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/570849.page 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





I thought in general that unless specified, your special rules did not transfer to enemy units.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice






 Homer S wrote:
I thought in general that unless specified, your special rules did not transfer to enemy units.

Homer


No, the rule if written properly generally states friendly models etc etc... But with this new DA book we have a lot of loopy scenarios...

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 Homer S wrote:
I thought in general that unless specified, your special rules did not transfer to enemy units.

This is the way GW has been ruling things for 25 years, so it's a good assumption.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Oh and it in base to base with 2 models with this rule.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 DarknessEternal wrote:
 Homer S wrote:
I thought in general that unless specified, your special rules did not transfer to enemy units.

This is the way GW has been ruling things for 25 years, so it's a good assumption.

It used to be a rulebook FAQ, but for some reason they didn't just shove it straight back in when they updated to 6th.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




The models in contact need the inner circle special rule. So Belial can get it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: