Switch Theme:

SW psychic questions!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Hello,
these are my questions:

1) How does JoWW work on units on different level? do you get to choose level, is it ground level or is it everyone under the line?
2) Does Murderous Hurricane cause unit to move as per dangerous and difficult terrain rules even where there is no actual terrain like buildings or craters? Enfeeble says that unit treats all terrain even open as difficult terrain thus implying that it slows unit down regardless of being in actual terrain.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

1) Everyone under the line.
2) No terrain is required for MH to work on a unit.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Thank you for quick response, Cheers
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/505462.page

Current discussion on point #1.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 pretre wrote:
1) Everyone under the line.
2) No terrain is required for MH to work on a unit.


It is a line, not a plane. It has to pass through you to be affected, and it is specifically passed along the ground in the codex so units higher up in a ruin dont get affected
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 pretre wrote:
1) Everyone under the line.
2) No terrain is required for MH to work on a unit.


It is a line, not a plane. It has to pass through you to be affected, and it is specifically passed along the ground in the codex so units higher up in a ruin dont get affected


Just a clarification, it doesn't have to pass through you, the model has to touch the line. The line passes along the board not the ground.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in nz
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout




In ur base, killin ur d00dz

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 pretre wrote:
1) Everyone under the line.
2) No terrain is required for MH to work on a unit.


It is a line, not a plane. It has to pass through you to be affected, and it is specifically passed along the ground in the codex so units higher up in a ruin dont get affected


Where specifically does it say that? Because unless your codex is different than mine I can't find it.

I always used a ruler edge and held it above the board. If a model was under that line it was hit.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Where you are told the line extends along the board. Is above the board "along" the board? No.

Edit: to help, what you are describing is a *plane*, not a *line* - a plane is 2-D, a line is 1-D by definition.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 09:46:35


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






So, you're immune to Jaws if you're standing on any terrain that holds the model above the table?

Huh.
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




 Cheexsta wrote:
So, you're immune to Jaws if you're standing on any terrain that holds the model above the table?

Huh.


That is correct.
   
Made in nz
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout




In ur base, killin ur d00dz

That just doesn't make sense to me because the way it's described is like the ground opening up underneath. It just seems strange that a building would stop that. What if the RP is on a piece of terrain? Does everything else on his level get hit and the stuff beneath is fine?
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Cheexsta wrote:
So, you're immune to Jaws if you're standing on any terrain that holds the model above the table? Huh.
Strict RAW yes. Note that this includes any terrain, even clear terrain, that is above the table.
For example, because line is 1-D and JotWW specifies "on table", this means if you have cloth on top of the table simulating clear terrain, strict RAW JottWW cannot hit any model on top of that cloth.

RAI, I don't think it is supposed to work like that.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Luide wrote:
 Cheexsta wrote:
So, you're immune to Jaws if you're standing on any terrain that holds the model above the table? Huh.
Strict RAW yes. Note that this includes any terrain, even clear terrain, that is above the table.
For example, because line is 1-D and JotWW specifies "on table", this means if you have cloth on top of the table simulating clear terrain, strict RAW JottWW cannot hit any model on top of that cloth.

RAI, I don't think it is supposed to work like that.


The cloth example isn't true, the cloth is the board, the thing underneath it is the table.

The rules of JOTWW say draw a line along the board.

The board includes hills and the "ground" in area terrain. I can understand giving an model on the 2nd floor of a ruin a pass but if you are on a raised piece of ground or using a very sculpted board as in GW stores you don't get to say you are safe because the entire board is on a slope.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Where you are told the line extends along the board. Is above the board "along" the board? No.

Edit: to help, what you are describing is a *plane*, not a *line* - a plane is 2-D, a line is 1-D by definition.
pg 37 SW codex

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/02/07 15:42:21


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Where you are told the line extends along the board. Is above the board "along" the board? No.

Edit: to help, what you are describing is a *plane*, not a *line* - a plane is 2-D, a line is 1-D by definition.
pg 37 SW codex


Yup, you trace a straight line, IE a 1-d object, along the board, meaning it always must be on the board level, Jaw's cannot hurt anything up in a building and by RAW it can't hurt anything that's not on the board, so a guy in a crater is actually raised up, meaning he's fine.

Thanks for the page number.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Liturgies - drawing a line, a 1-D object, along the board by definition means that you cannot hurt anyone above board level. You are claiming it is a plane, which is 100% false.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Liturgies - drawing a line, a 1-D object, along the board by definition means that you cannot hurt anyone above board level. You are claiming it is a plane, which is 100% false.

I'm not claiming it's a plain, it is a line along the board, the surface. If you are touched by that line you take the test. In a crater - hit, ground lvl in a ruin - hit, on a hill - hit but 2nd floor in a ruin - safe.
It is not a nova beam nor a plain, read the rule, it is along the board. Terrain is the board so unless your model is somewhere the line isn't touching it it is hit. The board isn't flat it undulates with the terrain you include.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 juraigamer wrote:

Yup, you trace a straight line, IE a 1-d object, along the board, meaning it always must be on the board level, Jaw's cannot hurt anything up in a building and by RAW it can't hurt anything that's not on the board, so a guy in a crater is actually raised up, meaning he's fine.

A line along is't 1-D. Is a line on the road a 1-D function? It says a straight line along the board but not a beam.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/07 16:33:52


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Terrain is not the board. Rules citation? Terrain is defined as being ON the tabletop on page 90, first para, left column, and we know tabletop is synonymous with board.

A line is by definition 1-D. Dont argue otherwise, please. It is one dimensional, with the direction of that one dimension fixed as along the board.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
The board isn't flat it undulates with the terrain you include.


Really? Last I checked boards were flat and we placed terrain on the tabletop. 6x4 Flat tables (boards we play on) to be exact.

There's no rule in ANY edition that states terrain becomes the board. It's terrain that's on the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 17:44:41


Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Page 89 shows a "gaming board". It includes a picture resplendent with terrain of different types, where on this page does it say that terrain isn't the board?
As per page 90 every part of the board is terrain as even open ground is terrain.

Page 90 does say that terrain is placed on the table top but at no point is tabletop and board made the same thing. Page 120 says into the gameboard when placing terrain not onto.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Terrain is not the board. Rules citation? Terrain is defined as being ON the tabletop on page 90, first para, left column, and we know tabletop is synonymous with board.

A line is by definition 1-D. Dont argue otherwise, please. It is one dimensional, with the direction of that one dimension fixed as along the board.

Rules citation for making jotww a beam, which is a 1D line.
A line is not just a mathmatical function that gives a straight beam, it also has a non formal definition. Since this isn't a maths text book we don't need to deal with that definition.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/07 18:26:53


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




What, by turning a "line" into a plane, an entirely different construction?

Please, show ANY rules support for that, ANY at all. Otherwise you use the actual meaning of "line", which is something with only one dimension
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
What, by turning a "line" into a plane, an entirely different construction?

Please, show ANY rules support for that, ANY at all. Otherwise you use the actual meaning of "line", which is something with only one dimension

You seem obsessed with this plane. 24 inches along the surphace of a sphere is not a plane. 24 inches along the surface of a undulating board is not a plane.
A line by the faq for this rule has width, that isn't a 1D object.

Google calls a line: A long, narrow mark or band

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/07 18:35:27


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator






The Midlands

I understand your 1D plane, and am not arguing with it as that is how we play, but if you make it 1D you can surely trace any line from the top to the bottom of the model, and at any angle, so you can get the leg of someone on a crater, and the body of someone on the same level.

At nosferatu1001 btw.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 18:40:56


 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 phantommaster wrote:
I understand your 1D plane, and am not arguing with it as that is how we play, but if you make it 1D you can surely trace any line from the top to the bottom of the model, and at any angle, so you can get the leg of someone on a crater, and the body of someone on the same level.

At nosferatu1001 btw.


True. The rule says touched by the line.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yet the rule says along the board.

The rules say the terrain is placed ON the tabletop. Again, where is the rule saying that board is equivalent to board+terrain?
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yet the rule says along the board.

The rules say the terrain is placed ON the tabletop. Again, where is the rule saying that board is equivalent to board+terrain?

Where does it say that the board is equal to the table?

It is clear from the rules that the board is the surface you play on. The rest of the book equates battlefield and board, the battle field includes the terrain.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/07 18:56:25


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Real cute space woof.

The board is whatever area the battle is being played on and this area counts as open ground. If it's not open ground, it's a terrain feature of some kind, be that a ruin, crater, hill or forest.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 juraigamer wrote:
Real cute space woof.

The board is whatever area the battle is being played on and this area counts as open ground. If it's not open ground, it's a terrain feature of some kind, be that a ruin, crater, hill or forest.

Open ground is terrain. Read the heading of the page it is listed in.
Also I haven't used Jaws in months so stop assuming a motive other than thinking you are wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 19:06:55


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Well then if you say open ground is terrain that means jaws can't hit anything ever. Fun power.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 juraigamer wrote:
Well then if you say open ground is terrain that means jaws can't hit anything ever. Fun power.

How so?
I haven't broken any of the rules in my reading of the rules.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: