Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 21:09:34
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
This bit of wargear let's the model or his unit reroll one D6 roll each phase. Does this mean any time you roll a d6 or more (including morale, scatter, etc) you can grab up one of those dice and reroll it? Or is it restricted to actions where only a single die is rolled (like attacking, saves, etc)? I've been running it as any single die, but that may be wrong.
Any examples where precedence has been well established for either interpretation would be helpful, as I really don't want to see this devolve into a big wording arguement, like they always seem to
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 21:16:45
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
As long as the Chronometron is in the unit, you can reroll any one roll per phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 21:26:05
Subject: Re:Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Any one dice can be rerolled as it pertains to that unit/model. It can be part of a 2D6 roll.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 22:01:26
Subject: Re:Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Grey Templar wrote:Any one dice can be rerolled as it pertains to that unit/model. It can be part of a 2D6 roll.
Incorrect. The wargear specifies any d6 roll. A d6 roll is not part of a 2d6 roll.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 22:04:20
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
You can re-roll any d6 roll that it or the unit it's attached to makes while the cryptek is alive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 08:58:13
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
d6 roll (as rules say) is a roll that includes only single d6.
And even if it weren't, as page 5 states on re-roll, "If you re-roll a single 2D6 or 3D6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice and not just some of them, unless the rule granting the reroll specifies otherwise." and as Chronometron does not say anything about 2D6 or 3D6 rolls, you're not allowed to re-roll any part of them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 10:15:03
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
As said before - you can reroll -ANY- 1d6 - but only 1 per phase. This works for Imhotek's ability, etc. Doesn't work for any rolls above 1d6 or Scatter Die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 17:29:48
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Budikah wrote:As said before - you can reroll -ANY- 1d6 - but only 1 per phase. This works for Imhotek's ability, etc. Doesn't work for any rolls above 1d6 or Scatter Die.
That's a single d6 per phase per model with Chronometron. Had a re-roll generator in a game which was impossible to kill.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 19:36:22
Subject: Re:Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
You aren't allowed to combine them. For example having two chronometrons in a unit would not allow you to re-roll the same roll twice nor a 2d6 roll for that matter. Nothing stopping you from re-rolling 2 different 1d6 rolls in that scenario though, it's quite the lovely bit of wargear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/09 02:02:49
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Luide wrote:d6 roll (as rules say) is a roll that includes only single d6.
And even if it weren't, as page 5 states on re-roll, "If you re-roll a single 2D6 or 3D6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice and not just some of them, unless the rule granting the reroll specifies otherwise." and as Chronometron does not say anything about 2D6 or 3D6 rolls, you're not allowed to re-roll any part of them.
This.
1. The Chronometron specifically says a d6 roll. Not a 2d6 roll, a 3d6 roll, or a scatter die. A d6.
2. The rules for re-rolls on page 5 make pretty clear that d6 rolls are distinct from 2d6 rolls or 3d6 rolls.
3. The rules for re-rolls, as Luide said, state specifically that you can't re-roll one die of a multi-die roll unless the rule granting the re-roll specifically says so. Fleet is an example of a rule like this. The Chrono doesn't.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 17:15:46
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Is Night-fighting considered one of the model's rolls?
Ie. Can this ability be used to re-roll the roll for Nightfight, when Nightfight might continue under Imohtek's (sp?) special rule?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 17:27:06
Subject: Re:Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Yes, the roll to continue nightfighting is A) a d6 roll and B) One 'caused' by Imotekh, so it's a valid target for the chronometron re-roll.
(from the FAQ)
Q: If an army contains Imotekh the Stormlord can a Cryptek with a chronometron use it to re- roll the roll to see if the Night Fighting special rule stays in effect? (p85)
A: Only if Imotekh is in the same unit as the Cryptek with the chronometron.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/03/01 17:28:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/02 00:08:02
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Night Fighting is not generally a roll belonging to any models. That said, GW has specifically ruled that a Chrono can be used to re-roll the roll to continue Night Fighting when Imotekh's Lord of the Storm is in play, if it's in the same unit as he is.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/02 16:21:50
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
Does the Chronometron work in your opponent's turn as well? Or is "phase" defined as your phases during your turn?
|
Renegade Guardsmen |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 04:01:07
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
It works every turn, yours and your opponent's, up to three times a turn (once in movement, once in shooting, and once in assault)... though, you're probably unlikely to use it during your opponent's movement phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/03 04:02:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 09:56:45
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bladevanes / vector strike / slashin attack / big bomm / etc....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 18:01:30
Subject: Chronometron: what can it reroll?
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
LESS likely, then.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|