Switch Theme:

Dreadclaws - Disembarking off the DS  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Beast of Nurgle





Mod locked the pertinent thread for threadomancy when I furthered the discussion, so I'm starting a new one.

The Dreadclaw rules in IAA say that after it arrives by deep strike it behaves as a normal Hover/Flyer. In the last thread it was interpreted that the DC was a deep striking flyer and therefore the squad could not disembark. Hiwever, I read the rule as stating that the DC isn't a flyer until after it has deployed, e.g. the following turn. If this wasn't true, there would be no reason to write a special rule saying it only is a flyer after it has completed its deep strike.

So I see the Dreadclaw working like this: It comes in from reserves and deep strikes as normal. On the turn it lands, the squad inside can disembark but not assault. The squad is not forced to disembark. The DC counts as being stationary for that turn. Then in the next turn, the DC acts as a normal flying transport with the Assault Vehicle rule.
The DC can be shot at and assaulted normally on the turn it arrives. If it is destroyed, the squad inside will disembark just like they had been shot down in a hovering transport and may assault the following turn per the assailt vehicle rule.

In short, the DC isn't a flyer until after it has completed its DS, therefore it doesn't behave as a DSing Flyer. It behaves as a DSing skimmer.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dreadclaw Assault does not change its unit type. RAW it can actually arrive via deep strike starting on turn 2 (like normal deep striking reserves) in a safe area of the board then move at zooming speed to another part of the board. At the start of the next turn it can "hover" and its occupants can disembark being placed 2 inches from the hull (before they move up to another 6 inches).

I don't know what kind of base this thing has, but RAW I never see it actually "landing" even if the model is placed right on the table.

Kinda a cool mid game tactic I think, the zooming speed will keep its cargo safe but the earliest they can assault is turn 3 :(

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/25 21:29:47


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It couldnt Zoom; it has deepstruck so cannot move any further. What it CAN do is flat out, I believe, in the shooting phase.

You are also confusing 5th and 6th; 6th edition disembark is place base to hull, then make a normal move of fully within 6"
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Right, normally models that arrive via deep strike cannot make any more movement that turn (includes flat-outs) but the dreadclaw assault rule changes this. "After it has arrived, the Dreaclaw may move normally." Also "... passengers can disembark at ground level with 2 inches of the hull." meaning the model is placed within 2 inches of the hull, then 6th rules tells us that model may move up to 6 inches. That's a total of 8 inches.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/25 22:46:49


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hmm, never spotted that - still looks like they just C&P the rules from the many prior iterations of the dreadclaw.....
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

There was an FAQ stating that a unit cannot disembark from a Flyer the turn It arrives via.
But since they removed deep strike from all flyers, this FAQ was removed also (since they don't cover Forge World).
   
Made in us
Beast of Nurgle





DSing and then zooming, then hovering so they can disembark. IF that was the intent, it's one of the most asinine rules they've ever written.

Could it be that they were telling you the Dreadclaw could move off normally in following turns in order to make it clear that they weren't immobilized on the drop like loyalist drop pods?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Could be.
The rules says "after it has arrived it can move normally", but how far can you normally move after deep striking?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 grendel083 wrote:
Could be.
The rules says "after it has arrived it can move normally", but how far can you normally move after deep striking?


Kind makes the statement self nullifying then? The vehicle does not have immobile like a drop pod does so it already can move on turns after it arrives, what else could that statement have meant?


There was an FAQ stating that a unit cannot disembark from a Flyer the turn It arrives via.
But since they removed deep strike from all flyers, this FAQ was removed also (since they don't cover Forge World).


It was an FAQ question, not an errata or amendment, that cleared up the grey area of flyers and disembarking units. This means the rule is already in the book just difficult to interpret. The rules they are probably referring to are ...

Pg 36 Under Arriving by Deepstrike: "Vehicles, except for Walkers, count as having moved at Cruising Speed..."
Pg 71 Defines "Crusing Speed" as more then 6" and up to 12".
Pg 78 "A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a transport vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle was moved ... so long as the vehicle has not moved more then 6 [inches]."

So, a transport that has arrived by deep trike has moved more then 6" and models that are embarked upon it cannot disembark. This applies to more then just Flyers. Like a Blood Angels Land Raider that arrived by deeptrike or any of the deep striking forge world transport vehicles. Drop pod's are safe (well can't speak for BT drops) because they require the passengers to immediately disembark when they land.

One could make the argument that the Dreadclaw's first 18 inches of movement were eaten up by the Deepstrike event and that it only has the remaining 18 inches left it its cruising speed movement plus it may move flat out in the shooting phase. I would not make this argument because it should say "...may continue to move..." and you can't move, then move again in the movement phase.

One could make the argument the dread claw used up its movement in the movement phase by deep striking and that the unit can only move flat out in the shooting phase. Problem with this argument is a zooming fly must move forward. I guess you could make up right then and there what direction is forward or you could restrict flat out to hovering flyers but none of this requires special permission from the Dreadclaws rules so none of this makes sense for what that line means.

Other then the Blood Angels Land Raider, or any Drop Pod, can you think of any normal codex transports that can deep strike?

Warmaster Phthisis wrote:
DSing and then zooming, then hovering so they can disembark. IF that was the intent, it's one of the most asinine rules they've ever written.

Oh, when they dreamed up the Dreadclaw I would assume that was NOT the intent, but that is really the only viable way I can see to play it.

Could it be that they were telling you the Dreadclaw could move off normally in following turns in order to make it clear that they weren't immobilized on the drop like loyalist drop pods?{/quote]
No, its not immobile so it can already move in following turns.
   
Made in be
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Belgium

I did sent a mail to FW in regard of this.

i was told that the Dreadclaw can't move anymore in the movement phase because DS counted as a move, but that it could move normaly in subsequent turns.

They also told me, that Dreadclaw rules would be updated soon in a futur faq/IA book ...

Not to sure about that last line.

But yeah a DC can't move anymore in the move phase when it comes on the table, but being a Flyer, you can decide that he stays in Flyer mode when arriving on the table, and can flat out another 24" during the shooting phase i believe?

Problem with this argument is a zooming fly must move forward. I guess you could make up right then and there what direction is forward


Not really, when you DS, you decide in wich direction the unit is facing when deploying it on the table.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/26 03:09:57


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

It's not treated as a flyer the turn it arrives via deep strike.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Dozer Blades wrote:
It's not treated as a flyer the turn it arrives via deep strike.


Why?
   
Made in be
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Belgium

 Dozer Blades wrote:
It's not treated as a flyer the turn it arrives via deep strike.


Its a Flyer with the Hover rule, so why wouldn't it be considered a flyer when he DS?...

When a FLyer DS, you get to choose in wich mode he is when he arrive on he table, be it from the board edge like regulat flyers, or by Dsing, it doesn't change anything in that regard.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have already moved Cruising Speed. How far can a vehicle that has already Moved cruising speed move "normally" in that movement phase?

0"
   
Made in us
Beast of Nurgle





It's a flyer that has the special "Dreadclaw Assault" special rule. It doesn't have Deep Strike.

The Dreadclaw Assault special rule says to deploy it using the Deep Strike rules. Then it says that after it has arrived, the Dreadclaw may move normally.

Since the rules say that after it Deep Strikes it may move normally, I am assuming that the Dreadclaw Assault is an abnormal move. That would mean that it doesn't behave like you'd normally expect it to. It seems to me that it shows up on the table using the Deep Strike rules, but doesn't count as a flyer on the turn it arrives. It's a normal deep striking vehicle. Afterwards it will move normally as a flyer.

This means that the passengers have a choice to hop out and shoot the turn it arrives or stay in and assault in the next turn after it hovers.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Warmaster Phthisis wrote:
It's a flyer that has the special "Dreadclaw Assault" special rule. It doesn't have Deep Strike.

The Dreadclaw Assault special rule says to deploy it using the Deep Strike rules. Then it says that after it has arrived, the Dreadclaw may move normally.

Since the rules say that after it Deep Strikes it may move normally, I am assuming that the Dreadclaw Assault is an abnormal move. That would mean that it doesn't behave like you'd normally expect it to. It seems to me that it shows up on the table using the Deep Strike rules, but doesn't count as a flyer on the turn it arrives. It's a normal deep striking vehicle. Afterwards it will move normally as a flyer.

This means that the passengers have a choice to hop out and shoot the turn it arrives or stay in and assault in the next turn after it hovers.


Agreed its an abnormal move, so no additional movement in the movement phase. But i would still claim it was zooming for the hard to hit aspect and for the 24 inches it will be able to move going flat out in the shooting phase. It has no weapons so might as well.

As for the disembark. Not on the turn it arrives sadly. Its a non-walker vehicle so its going to have moved at cruising speed when it arrived. Thats more then 6 inches for any vehicle especially fliers and nothing can disembark if the vehicle moved more then 6 inches unless they are forced to. Dreadclaw assault does not force its passengers out the turn it arrives. Hopefully FW will errata it to allow that.

EDIT

Oh, and I looked into it. Black Templars, as its written now, cannot disembark from their drop pods the turn they arrive either. They can however climb in and out all they want after it has arrived, just not on the same turn.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/28 06:33:53


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: