Switch Theme:

Deathwing Terminator rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





Hi Dakka,

Just wanted to get clarification on the Deathwing assault rule. Can i start with 2 deathwing terminator squads to start on the table and have 1 deepstrike in on turn 1 and 2? Or do ALL the squads need to deepstrike?

Also, i'm pretty sure if they deepstrike they ALL need to deepstrike in on the same turn, but am i able to say, deepstrike 1 squad in on turn 1 and then deepstrike another 2 squads in turn 2?

   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







All deathwing squads using the Deathwing Assault rule have to come in on the same turn. However you could drop 1 or 2 squads using DWA and leave other deathwing squads in normal reserve. Its less reliable and will dilute the firepower of an already small unit number force, but would give you a "mobile" reserve to call on later. Personally I think its better to bring them all in together for target saturation, rather than letting your opponent deal with your squads one at a time.

On your first point, you can start deathwing squads on the table, sure. They can deep strike, they don't have to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/28 22:36:51


Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

This should probably be in YMDC, since it has to do with rules, not tactics.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





Okay, thanks for the clarification.

My tactic was going to be dropping a 10 man termie squad with belial behind enemy lines, then dropping a ven dread on the second turn to prevent scattering via belial's tele homer.

My other termie squads were going to start on the table and provide cover.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






jaygonx wrote:
Okay, thanks for the clarification.

My tactic was going to be dropping a 10 man termie squad with belial behind enemy lines, then dropping a ven dread on the second turn to prevent scattering via belial's tele homer.

My other termie squads were going to start on the table and provide cover.


Do note, Teleport Homers only work for units in Terminator Armour.

The Dreadnought will still scatter.

You need a Locator Beacon (which can only be given to a Drop Pod) to bring in Drop Pods or Jump Infantry or Land Speeders etc. without scattering.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





Drunkspleen, love your avatar.

So will the Locator Beacon allow Terminators to land without scattering?
   
Made in us
Commoragh-bound Peer




North Carolina

Could run them with Belial and he and the unit he joins that has the inner circle rule gains the tactical precison rule (do not scatter).

As long as a vehicle with the locator beacon was on the table at the start of the turn and you deep strike within 6 inches then they shouldnt scatter. (if i read this correctly)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 00:35:23


4000 Points
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Locator Beacons work with any form of DS. Teleport Homers only work with Terminators who are "teleporting" into battle.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I almost always drop a drop pod with the locator beacon on my enemy's door step on turn 1. Some times it even has guys in it. The beacon allows for any turn 2+ terminators to land in the crowded enemy deployment zone with out issue. I also usually land belial and a single unit of 5-10 terminators on turn 1 using death wing assault . Most players try and run from that and a drop pod in the way is always good. The drop pod models are huge so a 45 point AV12 chunk of metal that blocks like of sight and closes off exit routs from a DZ is always worth it.
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

I don't have my codex on hand, but I'm pretty sure that Deathwing Terminators do NO have Deep Strike as a listed rule, only DWA
And DWA does NOT gives you the option to do anything else than a 1-turn DS on T1 or T2

So I think that you are "stuck" with DWA and don't get the option for a regular DS

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

TanKoL wrote:
I don't have my codex on hand, but I'm pretty sure that Deathwing Terminators do NO have Deep Strike as a listed rule, only DWA
And DWA does NOT gives you the option to do anything else than a 1-turn DS on T1 or T2

So I think that you are "stuck" with DWA and don't get the option for a regular DS

You'd be wrong. Look up the TDA rules.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Unless I'm mistaken, dreadnoughts don't have DWA - even venerable ones. So for starters, you'd have to put him in a pod. If you want him to come on after the Termies, you'll need at least one other pod. This could have its own locator beacon to prevent scatter, but to be honest, you don't really need it thanks to the pod having its own guidance.

Note that this means you'll have to roll for the pod to arrive as per normal reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 10:41:09


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







The drop pod rules are so benficial and the model so large that is there actually much benefit from using a locator beacon to bring them down? Deep striking assault squads and terminators, yes as there is enough danger from mis-dropping to make a difference. Drop pods? Not convinced its necessary.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Terminator Armour grants DS
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Flinty wrote:
All deathwing squads using the Deathwing Assault rule have to come in on the same turn. However you could drop 1 or 2 squads using DWA and leave other deathwing squads in normal reserve. Its less reliable and will dilute the firepower of an already small unit number force, but would give you a "mobile" reserve to call on later. Personally I think its better to bring them all in together for target saturation, rather than letting your opponent deal with your squads one at a time.

On your first point, you can start deathwing squads on the table, sure. They can deep strike, they don't have to.


Pg 44 of the DA codex explains DWA. After determining warlord traits, tell your opponent which units are using DWA and secretly mark whether they are coming in on turn 1 or turn 2. And then on that turn, they automatically arrive via deepstrike without requiring a reserve roll.

So you COULD just DS your DW terminators from normal reserve... but why would you WANT to? Thats a lot of points not in use sitting in reserve...
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







The only reason I can think of is to dorp more squads directly on Belial-s teleport homer... But I agree its not a very efficient use of points

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: