Switch Theme:

Dark Eldar Idea/Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation




So, I am experimenting with a DE list and thinking about incorporating a Harlequin Troupe on a Raider. My question is, if I take Nightshields and a Shadowseer, does the Shadowseer's ability to mess with range apply before or after you apply the -6" to range granted by Nightshields?

Also, as I was typing my question I had another thought. Does a fortification count as part of a unit while that unit is inside it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/09 06:43:18


 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Not sure on the Shadowseer. I've not run Harlies much.

A fortification is not part of the unit that is inside it.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






rathkoron wrote:
does the Shadowseer's ability to mess with range apply before or after you apply the -6" to range granted by Nightshields?


Why would Veil of Tears have any effect while the Harlequins are embarked on a vehicle?
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation




My understanding is that it does because Veil of Tears affects the entire unit the Shadowseer is part of. While embarked, the vehicle counts as part of the Shadowseer's unit. Otherwise, the vehicle and the unit inside the vehicle could shoot at 2 separate targets.

That's too bad about the fortification thing. for a few minutes I thought I had found a way to completely utterly break a Fortress of Redemption. Put a minimalist Harley unit inside with a Shadowseer then put Either Lady Malys or Lelith Hesperax on the Krakstorm missile launcher.

With Veil of Tears in Operation on the FoR that would be HILARIOUS...because they couldn't shoot it until they got close enough for obscene attacks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/09 07:49:20


There's no kill like overkill.  
   
Made in ca
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





An Igloo Deep North in Canada, eh?

There is an FAQ that says Veil of Tears does not affect the transport.

No idea about the other one.

azazel the cat wrote:The best way to play Warhammer 40k is with a pretty girl.
Both players should be using the least durable units possible, with the house rule that all players remove an article of clothing every time you lose a unit, and take a drink every time you kill one of your opponent's units.
I have no idea which army will be triumphant, but I can assure you that everyone wins.
Kain wrote:The best counter to an Eldar Farseer with malefic is smashing them upside the head with their codex opened to any page detailing the Eldar's relationship with Chaos.
 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation




 xlEternitylx wrote:
There is an FAQ that says Veil of Tears does not affect the transport.



Where is this FAQ? I just read through the latest one and there is nothing stating that it doesn't count as part of the same unit.

There's no kill like overkill.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




rathkoron wrote:
My understanding is that it does because Veil of Tears affects the entire unit the Shadowseer is part of. While embarked, the vehicle counts as part of the Shadowseer's unit. Otherwise, the vehicle and the unit inside the vehicle could shoot at 2 separate targets.

A Transport and the unit inside are 2 separate units and CAN shoot at 2 different targets. It's pretty clearly spelled out in the rule book under Transport Vehicles (and it's been like that since at least 5th ed.)
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






rathkoron wrote:
While embarked, the vehicle counts as part of the Shadowseer's unit.
There are no rules to support that.

Otherwise, the vehicle and the unit inside the vehicle could shoot at 2 separate targets.
They can "Note that the passengers can shoot at a different target to the vehicle itself." (pg. 78 - Warhammer 40k Rulebook)

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in kr
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




Page 4 of the DE FAQ

2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation




Oh, ok. my friends have been lying to me...though probably not on purpose.

There's no kill like overkill.  
   
Made in gb
Water-Caste Negotiator





Incidentally, in that same FAQ it makes it clear that the "spotting distance" rule has been changed to mesh better with the current rules for night fighting, and just offer Stealth and Shrouded instead. Not sure if the original poster knew, as I couldn't see it mentioned in this thread

Tau, Dark Eldar and Inquisition 40K player, occasional Lizardman Fantasy player, proud Lord of the Rings player and Rebel X-Wing player

> 4000 pts 1500 pts 1500 pts 1500pts

Ascalam wrote:Only the Eldar could party hard enough to rip a hole in the material universe, and then stage an after-party in the webway like nothing happened
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Right.

1. A squad and their transport are never treated as being one unit, except for Reserve rolls if they're in Reserve together.
2. The Shadowseer doesn't make people roll spotting distance anymore. He just improves his squad's cover saves. See the errata in both the DE and Eldar FAQs. The link is in my sig.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: