TheSecretSquig wrote:No. PD is only activated IF you are attacked. By moving your ship into range of the flight does not trigger your PD. This being said, as soon as the flight is activated, you will get to PD it.
Sorry but you're wrong. See p30 of the rulebook.
"The Point Defence systems on a model can be used to Attack
an enemy Flight during a Squadron Activation as follows.
• Anytime during its Movement Segment that a Flight
is within 4” of any enemy model.
• Anytime during its Movement Segment that a model
is within 4” of any enemy Flight.
After resolving any Point Defence Attack during the
Movement Segment of a Squadron Activation a model
or Flight MAY complete their remaining movement and
perform any remaining combat related actions, as required."
A PD attack can be declared once per activation. So in your own model's activation you can declare a PD attack mid-move as you get within 4" of the flight and continue your turn after the attack is resolved, then in theory if you end your move within 4" of the flight and the flight activates after you, you can declare another PD attack against it as you're now in a different activation.
I didn't play v1, but I'm guessing this is one of the reasons veteran players bemoan flight wing rules now, as you can get plastered with PD attacks multiple times in one game turn by the same unit