Switch Theme:

help me understand this rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I see a lot of daemons have the infiltrate special rule. I looked it up but its worded kinda confusing, How exactly does it work?
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice





A lot of Daemons do not have Infiltrate.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut







Basically, you can put the models in the unit, anywhere on the table, as long as they are 18 inches away from enemy models. Or, you can put them anywhere within 12 inches of the enemy, as long as none of the enemy units can "See" them. So, hiding behind terrain or something.
   
Made in au
Lady of the Lake






In one notable example a White Scars player at a tournament left his entire army in reserve, the opposing Tau player could set his Kroot anywhere on the board. So he did, along the opponent's edge, thus blocking the White Scars from coming in at all and automatically winning the game without a single shot having to be fired.

If there's no enemy no one can see you and there's nothing you have to be at least 12" away from.

Oh and probably mixed it up with instability.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/29 16:33:14


   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 n0t_u wrote:
In one notable example a White Scars player at a tournament left his entire army in reserve, the opposing Tau player could set his Kroot anywhere on the board. So he did, along the opponent's edge, thus blocking the White Scars from coming in at all and automatically winning the game without a single shot having to be fired.

If there's no enemy no one can see you and there's nothing you have to be at least 12" away from.

Oh and probably mixed it up with instability.


DE use to do that a lot by moving their raiders flat out and blocking the entire board edge in 5th. Of course if you have anything that can outflank, can DS, is jump or skimmer it can just come on over the raiders.

In 6th things are different, you lose if you have nothing on the table.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Plus there was a game breakage in 5th if a player blocked the other players board edge, as there were no instructions on how to handle this situation in 5th ed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Hadarac wrote:
A lot of Daemons do not have Infiltrate.


Never mind a lot... *NO* Daemons in the new Codex have Infiltrate - I suggest picking up a copy of it, and the rulebook too. This stinks of fishing for rules.

In case I'm wrong on that... exactly what about Infiltrate are you finding confusing?

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DeathReaper wrote:Plus there was a game breakage in 5th if a player blocked the other players board edge, as there were no instructions on how to handle this situation in 5th ed.



They did FAQ that any model that could not come in from Reserves is destroyed, part way through 5th edition, so it no longer broke.
   
Made in us
Nihilistic Necron Lord




The best State-Texas

 Super Ready wrote:
 Hadarac wrote:
A lot of Daemons do not have Infiltrate.


Never mind a lot... *NO* Daemons in the new Codex have Infiltrate - I suggest picking up a copy of it, and the rulebook too. This stinks of fishing for rules.

In case I'm wrong on that... exactly what about Infiltrate are you finding confusing?


Nurglings do.

4000+
6000+ Order. Unity. Obedience.
Thousand Sons 4000+
:Necron: Necron Discord: https://discord.com/invite/AGtpeD4  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Sioux Falls, SD

I was just reading this and something hit me....

Do White Scars have a special rule that allows them to come on first turn? I have never seen anything like it - but I am not an SM player.

If not...then it doesn't matter where the Tau player deploys as once there is no models on the table of the enemy's - you win....(unless we missed a rule)....The reason I don't think I did is cause we were talking about it and any Daemon player who fully reserves his army now loses Turn 1 since there is no Deep Striking....

As for what the Tau player did - completely legal and is why you never reserve your entire army when you see that your opponent has about 24ish infiltraters

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/30 15:07:36


Raver Tau: Just Started; Record (WLD): 0-0-0
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Amaraxis wrote:
I was just reading this and something hit me....

Do White Scars have a special rule that allows them to come on first turn? I have never seen anything like it - but I am not an SM player.

If not...then it doesn't matter where the Tau player deploys as once there is no models on the table of the enemy's - you win....(unless we missed a rule)....The reason I don't think I did is cause we were talking about it and any Daemon player who fully reserves his army now loses Turn 1 since there is no Deep Striking....

As for what the Tau player did - completely legal and is why you never reserve your entire army when you see that your opponent has about 24ish infiltraters


In 5th edition, there was no requirement to have things deployed on the table. From what I understand, the tournament did not allow named characters, so no Khan to give Outflank.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Also at the time there was no current, accessible rule stating that that the units were destroyed. So at the time it was quite a harsh decision
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:Plus there was a game breakage in 5th if a player blocked the other players board edge, as there were no instructions on how to handle this situation in 5th ed.



They did FAQ that any model that could not come in from Reserves is destroyed, part way through 5th edition, so it no longer broke.

But that was well after the infamous tournament pic, as you have said.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: