Switch Theme:

Basic Feel No Pain question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Does an Apothecary's Narthecium, a Painboy's Dok's Tools, or similar wargear grant Feel No Pain to an Independent Character attached to the unit?

It seems like they should because the IC "counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes". On the other hand, "unless specified in the rule itself, the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the IC".

My guess is the IC gets FNP in cases where the wargear states it grants FNP to the unit as a whole, but I would like confirmation one way or the other if possible.

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

The restriction on the IC not getting the unit's special rule is that if for example you have a unit that has fnp as one of it's base special rules, that an IC that joins them would not have it.

However a model such as a sanguinary priest that grants it to units grants it to every model in the unit. Even attached ICs.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Yes it's granted to the whole unit, including attached characters.
FNP doesn't normally pass on to anyone but the model with it, but in this case the wargear is granting it to the entire unit.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thats what I thought.

Thank you.
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

On a side topic for this, Does a Marked Chaos Lord who joined a group Slanesh + Excess also gain the FNP rule by being in the group?

IE the lord has Mark of Slanesh, the unit has the Mark of Slanesh, the unit purchased the Icon of Excess to grant the unit FNP. ??

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Yup, the Icon grants FNP to ICs. Same reasoning - the wargear states it gives it to the unit, and the IC then counts as part of that unit.
It's not just FNP, by the way. Furious Charge for example - given by Khorne's Icon of Wrath but also held natively by Berzerkers, given by Sanguinary Priests but held natively by Death Company - works in exactly the same way.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

A general quick ruling on this one;

If its a unit special rule, it usually wont pass on to an IC joining the unit.

If its a piece of wargear thats granting an effect, it usually does pass on to everyone.

Keep in mind there are exceptions, but thats just a quick rough guide to it.

   
Made in no
Fresh-Faced New User




In the codex, it say any unit within 6 inches..! If you have one model of a different unit, within 6 inches, does his entire unit get feel no pain as well, even tho the rest of the unit is more then 6 inches away`?
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

This is covered by how the rules define the term "within", under Measuring Distances on page 4... but basically yes, it's the whole unit. Otherwise it would say models instead.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: