Switch Theme:

Multi-wound models and cannon fire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Dallas, TX

This situation came up and I wasn't sure how to handle it.

Lets say I have 4 Mournfang cavalry lined up like this:

A B C D

Also lets say they are all Rank and File (no command).

Previously in the shooting phase my opponents hand gunners put 2 wounds into the fang unit and the wounds were applied to D (leaving 1 wound).

Next my opponent fires his cannon at B and causes 3 wounds.

My question is, "Where are the wounds applied B or D?"

Thank you.
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

The wounds are applied to the unit, not to a model, so one would be removed.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Dallas, TX

So you're saying the wounds would be applied towards D since its applied to the unit, and D has wounds on it already.

I know it's a big request but can you tell me where it says that in the BRB? I tried looking but, couldn't find it.

Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/01 11:22:03


 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

I'm saying that D doesn't have wounds already if he is RnF; the unit has 2 wounds. So one model (potentially D) would be removed when the unit went to 5 wounds.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Cannons and MI/MC interact a little strangely. After determining bounce, you would roll to wound the first model hit, make any ward saves available, and if failed roll to see how many wounds that model suffered. If it is enough to kill that model, you roll to wound the second model, make their ward saves and roll number of wounds if failed. Continue this until one of the following occurs:

1. The cannonball has completed its bounce.
2. A model does not die to the canon. This stops the cannonball's bounce, preventing any further models from being wounded.

As to your specific question, page 113 makes it clear that the model THAT IS HIT is where you start. So if the cannonball starts before the unit bouncing into the unit as a whole, you start with D. If the cannonball lands on model B, you start there. This is also the case if the cannonball is a dud that lands on only a single model.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yeah, but if the unit already has 1 wound, and your cannon deals only 2 wounds, you have "dealt enough to kill it." So the interaction is only strange in that you have to make sure you kill one to go one - the wound interaction doesn't change much.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Except thats not how it works. That model that you hit didn't have any wounds on it, the unit had wounds on it. Rank and File models don't own their own wounds, so whenever a RnF model is hit it is always treated as having full wounds.

The wounds a unit of multi-wound models has taken are effectivly just floating around till they are enough to completely remove a whole model(s)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Nothing in the FAQ and 3 rules that come into play.

Page 113 says that monstrous infantry/beast/cav or monster that is it isn't slain, the ball stops.

Page 45
Models with More than One Wound.
Any Leftover wounds that were not enough to remove a model are carried over and will be added to the wounds inflicted by subsequent attacks.

Page45
Multi-wound models and Multi-wound weapons say Add up all the wounds cuased on the unit and then remove the appropriate number of models, noting any spare wounds on the unit (remembering that each model cannot suffer more wounds than it has on its profile).

Multi-wound models vs Multiwound weapon would tell us to roll all the wounds first, but that conflicts with the ball stopping.
Models with more than one wound tells us to add the previous carry over wounds to the new roll.

Against a unit of Monstrous Infantry with 3 wounds, any multiple wounds great than 3 is treated as 3. Anything less stops the ball. If the unit of Previously wounded, the previous wounds are added to the First die roll (as I see no option to save them for later).

Firing into the flank of a wounded monstrous unit (lets say they previously took 2 wounds), the first hit rolls 6 wounds, I add the 2 for a total of 8. This is then reduced to 3.
The model is killed and the ball continues.
The next model hit is wounded and takes 4 wounds, this is reduced to 3, the model is killed and the ball continues.
The next model hit is wounded, and takes 2 wounds. The unit is marked for having taking 2 wounds, and the ball stops.

It looks like to me, the first hit always uses up all the wound markers.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Dallas, TX

Ok so I'm a little confused about this in regards to my situation.

Does this mean that the answer is not clearly defined?
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

mrfantastical wrote:
Ok so I'm a little confused about this in regards to my situation.

Does this mean that the answer is not clearly defined?


Your question is flawed because your premise is wrong.
Previously, the unit was wounded twice. The unit has two wounds.
The next time the unit is wounded, it will always take those previous 2 wounds into account.

Unless the model is a unit champ or character, effectively the cannon always finished off the wounded.


-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

I slightly disagree with your interprtation. If the cannon caused 1 or 2 wounds, it would stop the ball because a model had not been killed. The previous wounds then come in to play and a model would be removed.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Niteware wrote:
I slightly disagree with your interprtation. If the cannon caused 1 or 2 wounds, it would stop the ball because a model had not been killed. The previous wounds then come in to play and a model would be removed.


Huh? The model is killed, you just said so yourself.
The rules say to add previous wounds to current ones, and that's enough to kill the model. The model has been killed, so the ball should stop.

The rule for the cannon doesn't say that the ball stops if you don't roll equal to or over the models wound stat, it says the ball stops if the model isn't Slain.
Is the model slain?
Yes. I picked him up and put him in my dead pile.
The ball continues.

-Matt

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 14:09:18


 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Agreed. The rule doesn't say "only if the cannon does wounds equal to the wounds on the model's profile." It says if it kills it. If the unit has two wounds and then the unit or a model in that unit takes another wound, you've killed the model. Cannon continues.

Look at it another way. Let's say there was a character on the end who had taken two wounds already. If the cannon hit him first on the way through, and did only 1 or 2 wounds, certainly it would kill him. And the cannon would continue. It is the same with the unit's floating wounds.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





What does the trick for me is the language on p. 45 that the floating wounds are "added to the next attack". This seems to me to instruct you to add them to the cannon shot too. So yeah, wherever you hit the unit, that's the wounded guy.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

On the flip side, you don't have the choice to not add those attacks.
If I have 2 floating wounds and get hit by a cannon doing 5, you'd add the 2 floaters to it for 7, then remove a single model and discard the overkill. The next in line is fresh when he gets hit.

If it were a sword of D6 wounding, it would be different, as all those attacks happen at the same time. But the cannon forces each to be resolved one at a time.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I disagree with that Matt - I think pg. 45 only limits the amount of wounds the cannon do to 3 and the rest still slide over.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Killjoy00 wrote:
I disagree with that Matt - I think pg. 45 only limits the amount of wounds the cannon do to 3 and the rest still slide over.

But the rules also tell you that you add the previous wounds to the new total.
If you roll a 6, and add 2, and are limited to 3, you do 3 wounds.
I don't see how you have the option to not add the wounds to the first roll.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

I suppose it depends at what point you add the wounds. The rule says "Add up all the wounds caused on the unit AND THEN remove the appropriate number of models".

The multi-wounds rule says that they are added, but not at what point in the process.

I would read it as cannon hits fresh model - calculate what happens - is ball stopped? - if yes, unit takes wounds (add any previous wounds to see if a model is removed).

Adding them before this would mean that a D6 wounds cannonball was capped at (Models wound value - wounds on unit) rather than (Models wound value), which might make a difference if the second target hit was a character with charmed shield (for example).

Nite 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Matt - because the limitation on wounds suffered = wounds on profile only applies to the wounds caused by the cannon, not wounds existing or created from other places. Bottom right of pg. 45.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Killjoy00 wrote:
Matt - because the limitation on wounds suffered = wounds on profile only applies to the wounds caused by the cannon, not wounds existing or created from other places. Bottom right of pg. 45.


Bottom left page 45.
Any leftover wounds that where not enough to remove a model are carried over and will be added to the wounds inflicted by any subsequent attacks.

Middle of page 45:
A model cannot suffer more wounds that it has. Should the model do so, it dies instantly and any excess wounds are wasted.
Again, once wounded, you must carry over previous wounds to any subsequent attack, you're limited to 3 (on an ogre) and excess wounds above 3 (on an ogre) are wasted.

It's the cannon's sequence of forcing you to resolve the hit to see if it hits the next that causes the loss.
When you resolve the hit, you've used the carry over.

I just don't see permission to not use the carry over on the first model hit.

-Matt



 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




When you look at multi-wound models and multi-wound weapons, you see the limitation is really applied to the weapon inflicting the hit. The extra wounds are still carried over - per "any leftover wounds that were not enough to remove a model are carried over and will be added to the wounds inflicted by" subsequent hits.
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

HawaiiMatt wrote:

I just don't see permission to not use the carry over on the first model hit.

-Matt



Whereas I don't see permission to arbitrarily decide that the first model hit had those wounds.

You roll to see how many wounds the cannonball does. If it kills a model outright, you go on to the next model (The unit takes 3 wounds in the ogres example, so a model would be removed either way). If it does not kill a model outright, you work out how many wounds the unit took and add them to the units current wounds. If this is enough to remove a model, you remove it.

Your method of calculating, the cannonball could roll 6 for it's wounds, only 1 of which would apply (because the unit already had 2 wounds), then 1 on the second model, leaving the unit with 1 wound.

Alternatively, when the cannon rolls a 6 it does 3 wounds (model profile) then rolls a 1 and stops. The units 2 wounds are then added and another model is removed.

The unit carries the wounds, not any specific RnF model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 21:19:59


Nite 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, however you arte told to carry on when the model is slain. The model was slain, so the cannon ball MUST carry on

You rol a D6, see if the model was slain. Was the model slain? Yes (D6+2 that you are told to apply to the next attack >= 3W)
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

Depends on whether a) the ndxt attack does wounds and then these are added or b) these are added to the calculation of wounds for the nsxt attack. The text is ambiguous (how unusual...).
The fact that units own the wounds and the method for calculating cannon balls suggest to me that you should always be working it out on a fresh model.

The wounds are still added to the next attack, but after the calculations are finished.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

I'm convinced this is a very poorly worded rule.
The cannon vs ogre rule that creates this whole mess really should have an example, rather than just the after thought of, "hey, wouldn't it be cool if a cannon ball got stuck in a fat guy".


 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Agreed. I emailed GW with the following question, for what it is worth:

"If a cannon hits and wounds the first model of a unit of multi-wound models (with 3 wounds each) that has 2 wounds carried over from an earlier attack, and the cannon rolls a 2 for its d6 wound roll, does the cannon ball continue? If so, does the unit still have 1 wound carried over? (pg. 45 and pg. 113)"
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

You might as well have asked your mother. GW's hotline is not a place to get rules questions answered. Ask them the same question 3 times and you will get 4 different answers.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 Grey Templar wrote:
You might as well have asked your mother. GW's hotline is not a place to get rules questions answered. Ask them the same question 3 times and you will get 4 different answers.

My mother said to always add to the first hit.
Should we start a poll on what mothers say?

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I'm not asking them for their hotline. I sent it to the FAQ email so it can get added to the FAQ. Presumably, the FAQ means a lot more than your mom.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Only when its actually published.

Any reply you get isn't valid, it could easily be faked.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: